Page 1 of 1
Sian resource unable to produce
Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2021 4:20 pm
by juntoalmar
Hi,
No matter how many times I have tried, the resource in Sian can't be sent to production. I have tried with Shanghai, Osaka or Canton (which work ok with other resources) but I can't simply use Sian as japanese.
Am I missing something?
Thanks in advance.

RE: Sian resource unable to produce
Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2021 4:23 pm
by Orm
Yes. You are missing the Chinese ZOC into the railway hex east of Sian. That ZOC blocks the resource from being used.
You can transport a resource out of ZOC, and into ZOC. But you are not allowed to transport a resource through ZOC.
RE: Sian resource unable to produce
Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2021 5:43 pm
by Joseignacio
True, bro.
RE: Sian resource unable to produce
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2021 3:10 am
by juntoalmar
But, isn't the chinese ZOC blocked by my japanese infantry? I have a land unit on that hex.
[Self-correct]
I've found this on 13.6.1 on page 101 of RAC. I leave it here for other's reference.
I thought that because you can supply through a unit in an enemy's ZOC (given that you have a land unit in the hex), you could rail resources too, but apparently it ain't the case.
Thanks a lot! One more thing learnt.

RE: Sian resource unable to produce
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2021 6:52 am
by Joseignacio
I always thought the JA infantry should allow thw pass, bus as you saw, rules say otherwise. I guess it is a rule for game balance because in real life it wouldn't make much sense (only if you consider that possible sabotage detachments from nearby enemy corps could disrupt your railways in spite of your own units guarding it).
RE: Sian resource unable to produce
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2021 6:40 pm
by draconis
Does rail movement of land and aircraft units work the same way as resource movement relative to ZOCs?
RE: Sian resource unable to produce
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2021 8:39 pm
by Courtenay
ORIGINAL: Draconis
Does rail movement of land and aircraft units work the same way as resource movement relative to ZOCs?
Yes.
RE: Sian resource unable to produce
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2021 10:10 pm
by draconis
You can transport a resource out of ZOC, and into ZOC. But you are not allowed to transport a resource through ZOC.
Isn’t a logical “or” condition true if either or both of the conditions are true? A resource can enter an enemy ZOC with a friendly unit, or leave the same hex, or both enter and leave-implying it can pass through said hex.
RE: Sian resource unable to produce
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 3:55 am
by Orm
ORIGINAL: Draconis
You can transport a resource out of ZOC, and into ZOC. But you are not allowed to transport a resource through ZOC.
Isn’t a logical “or” condition true if either or both of the conditions are true? A resource can enter an enemy ZOC with a friendly unit, or leave the same hex, or both enter and leave-implying it can pass through said hex.
It is just the problem that the rule say that you must stop when you enter ZOC.
RE: Sian resource unable to produce
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 12:24 pm
by draconis
ORIGINAL: Orm
ORIGINAL: Draconis
You can transport a resource out of ZOC, and into ZOC. But you are not allowed to transport a resource through ZOC.
Isn’t a logical “or” condition true if either or both of the conditions are true? A resource can enter an enemy ZOC with a friendly unit, or leave the same hex, or both enter and leave-implying it can pass through said hex.
It is just the problem that the rule say that you must stop when you enter ZOC.
1. The resource’s move can only enter or leave a hex in an enemy ZOC if there is a friendly land unit in the hex.
2. Its move must stop when it enters an enemy ZOC.
3. If the resource is in the same hex as the destination factory, it can be used there regardless of enemy ZOCs.
ok. I understand now. The resource gets stranded one hex east of Sian and is unable to be used for production because of sentence #2. The enemy destroys it or prevents its further movement. Thank you for the assistance and explanation.
RE: Sian resource unable to produce
Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:43 am
by juntoalmar
Exactly. Because the resource is already in a ZOC, it can exit the ZOC and be railed somewhere else. But the problem is that the next hex is in a ZOC as well, so it stops there. If I had a red factory on the hex east of Sian, it could be produced as it would stop in the factory, but it can't go further as it must stop in that hex.