This forum is for feedback on any Public Beta updates. Feedback and issues related to official releases should go in the Support forum. All Beta version feedback and issues should go here.
The problem is that the ownership change flag is cleared at the start of the turn so that events can be triggered.
Again, not sure if we are talking about the same thing, but this is actually why I posted initially. The movement cost thing wasn't such a big deal but easier to explain. But I noticed that occupation events weren't triggered by ZOC only, only by physical occupation, or by waiting a turn. That sometimes makes things a little screwy.
Let's be clear that this is just reverting to the correct ACOW behavior (those of you with ACOW can see for yourself). Previous versions of TOAW III were busted in this regard (probably by 3.1.0.9 item 33).
Think about it:
Player turn x: advance through enemy territory with a unit. Those hexes are converted to friendly control, but retain the conversion cost for following units (this prevents "leapfrogging").
Player turn x+1: Those hexes advanced through the previous turn no longer require conversion costs. At the start of the turn, patrols convert adjacent hexes, if not countered by enemy units. But, since they were converted this turn, they still require hex conversion costs. If this wasn't the case, the unit advancing through enemy territory would never have to pay conversion costs for the advance through adjacent hexes each turn. So, suppose you advance through enemy territory 15 turns each turn. Every 15th hex wouldn't require hex conversion costs.
Player turn x+2: Those hexes converted by patrols last turn no longer require conversion costs.
From Post #3:
We might argue that the old rules contain a bug and the new rules address it. Or have I been overexposed to TOAW ??
Let's be clear that this is just reverting to the correct ACOW behavior ...
Thanks for clarifying that, it appears that I have been overexposed to TOAW as I did not remember that ACOW had the correct behavior. I just checked ACOW and this is the case (it acts like the new turn order rule does). So maybe Ralph can leave it as is, and perhaps a note in the What's New explaining that the new turn order is good, the old turn order is not so good. [&o]