Page 60 of 80
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2022 6:53 pm
by rkr1958
Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:
(1) Game #?
(2) Next Entry #?
FYI. Game # is almost 190 million & next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2022 1:27 pm
by Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: rkr1958
Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:
(1) Game #?
(2) Next Entry #?
FYI. Game # is almost 190 million &
next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.
One less digit. About 14,7 million [:'(]
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 5:15 pm
by rkr1958
ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: rkr1958
Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:
(1) Game #?
(2) Next Entry #?
FYI. Game # is almost 190 million &
next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.
One less digit. About 14,7 million [:'(]
Older eyes I'm afraid ... [8D]
Nice catch by the way. Shows you're paying attention. [&o]
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2022 8:16 pm
by Shannon V. OKeets
ORIGINAL: rkr1958
Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:
(1) Game #?
(2) Next Entry #?
FYI. Game # is almost 190 million & next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.
The program generates a random number at the start of every game. Hopefully with all the digits, it is a uniquely random number.
Every time the program does something that changes the "game state", it increments the Next Entry Number. Sometimes it is something that it is doing in the background, like moving units into the Force Pool, Future Force Pool, etc.
The background tasks are not sent to the other player in a NetPlay game. But all other changes generate a Game Record Log (GRL) which includes the Next Entry Number - before it is incremented. Those GRLs are sent over the internet by the program using the Private NetPlay Server.
When restoring a NetPlay game the program checks that both players are restoring the same game (the game numbers match) at the same place in the game (the Next Entry Numbers match).
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat Jan 29, 2022 4:11 pm
by rkr1958
I need some help from you rules expert on understanding the ability to oil (i.e., reorg) the flipped Soviet CP in Sevastopol. In general, really, the ability to oil any Soviet unit in the Crimea including Kerch for example.
The situation:
(1) Use oil (reorg) phase.
(2) No saved (Soviet) oil in Sevastopol.
(3) Limited Oversea Supply optional rule in effect.
(4) No Soviet CP, TRS or Amph in the Black Sea.
(5) Unable to reorg Soviet CP in Sevastopol.
(6) Also, looked at an "alternate" situation when the flipped CP was in Kerch and still wasn't able to reorg it there either.
(7) So, I infer that oil for the purposes of reorganization cannot cross a "crossing arrow" regardless of the presence of a rail line that crosses the same straight.
(8) Though, I could ship an oil across and save it in Krech; but that oil wouldn't be available until next turn for reorg.
So, is MWiF coded correctly in that oil cannot cross a straight with a crossing arrow, even one with a rail line, for purposes of reorganization during the use oil phase?

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat Jan 29, 2022 4:42 pm
by Centuur
RAW:
(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.
If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat Jan 29, 2022 5:38 pm
by rkr1958
ORIGINAL: Centuur
RAW:
(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.
If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
Thanks. Yes, that optional rule is also enable. So as I understand it tracing oil for reorg is equivalent to tracing supply but with an unlimited range?
Also, the reason that the Garr in Krech is in supply is because he can trace supply (not oil) to Sevastopol? What about the presence of the adjacent HQ on the other side of the crossing arrow. Does he affect supply?
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat Jan 29, 2022 7:00 pm
by Courtenay
ORIGINAL: rkr1958
ORIGINAL: Centuur
RAW:
(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.
If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
Thanks. Yes, that optional rule is also enable. So as I understand it tracing oil for reorg is equivalent to tracing supply but with an unlimited range?
Also, the reason that the Garr in Krech is in supply is because he can trace supply (not oil) to Sevastopol? What about the presence of the adjacent HQ on the other side of the crossing arrow. Does he affect supply?
Yes, yes, and no. (The last no is for units in Crimea. Obviously an HQ might affect supply for units on its side of straights.)
P.S. How did a German stack get behind the Russian lines? Just curious.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:51 pm
by rkr1958
ORIGINAL: Courtenay
P.S. How did a German stack get behind the Russian lines? Just curious.
I'm about to report on this in gorey detail in our 6-player AAR. The short story is a breakthrough, exploration and overrun by the Germany player of the Soviets. Then a successful counterattack by the Soviets destroying the bridgehead and "trapping" the exploiting units. And then the turn ended.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2022 5:02 pm
by Shannon V. OKeets
ORIGINAL: Centuur
RAW:
(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.
If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2022 7:12 am
by Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
ORIGINAL: Centuur
RAW:
(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.
If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.
It would count for those purpose then, but would it count for transporting the Sardinian resource? I dont think so but if it did, there would be interesting consequences.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2022 12:41 pm
by Centuur
ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
ORIGINAL: Centuur
RAW:
(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.
If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.
It would count for those purpose then, but would it count for transporting the Sardinian resource? I dont think so but if it did, there would be interesting consequences.
Yes. Any Axis controlled convoy can transport any Axis resource.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2022 8:10 pm
by Joseignacio
Thanks
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2022 4:51 am
by Orm
ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
ORIGINAL: Centuur
RAW:
(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.
If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.
A Vichy CP only helps if Vichy France has become active.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2022 4:53 am
by Orm
ORIGINAL: Centuur
ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.
It would count for those purpose then, but would it count for transporting the Sardinian resource? I dont think so but if it did, there would be interesting consequences.
Yes. Any Axis controlled convoy can transport any Axis resource.
Indeed. As long as the MP is not neutral. And Vichy France is often neutral, and thus unavailable to transport Italian resources.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2022 7:57 am
by Joseignacio
Thanks too
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2022 6:38 pm
by rkr1958
Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2022 7:19 pm
by Orm
ORIGINAL: rkr1958
Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?
The answer is in the FAQ that I cut in below.
Q17.2-1
"Not currently in a Metropolitan French
port" does not include force pools, scrap
pile, repair pool, construction pool, and
production spiral correct?
A: Only original French home country ports
count. This does not include force pools,
scrap pile, repair pool, construction pool,
and production spiral, nor does it include
the port in the territory of Corsica. Date
19/01/2009
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2022 8:09 pm
by Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: rkr1958
Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?
If I am not wrong, in MWIF, which goes after WIF CE, Corsica is part of Metropolitan Vichy, so you dont get a minus 2
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Wed Feb 09, 2022 10:14 am
by Centuur
ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: rkr1958
Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?
If I am not wrong, in MWIF, which goes after WIF CE, Corsica is part of Metropolitan Vichy, so you dont get a minus 2
You are wrong. See the post just above yours. This has been answered in the FAQ of the board game.