Page 61 of 80
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Wed Feb 09, 2022 10:22 am
by Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: Centuur
ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: rkr1958
Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?
If I am not wrong, in MWIF, which goes after WIF CE, Corsica is part of Metropolitan Vichy, so you dont get a minus 2
You are wrong. See the post just above yours. This has been answered in the FAQ of the board game.
Precisely I thought we agreed. The answer tells us where you get a -2
A: Only original French home country ports
count. This does not include force pools,
scrap pile, repair pool, construction pool,
and production spiral, nor does it include
the port in the territory of Corsica.
So Corsica doesnt count for that penalty.
Maybe you are referring to Corsica not being part of Metropolitan Vichy, but again I am right:
17. Vichy France
(...)
17.1 Creation
(...)
If you install a Vichy government, Metropolitan France itself is divided into 2 countries - Metropolitan Vichy France (including Corsica if still French controlled) and Occupied France.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Wed Feb 09, 2022 5:11 pm
by paulderynck
This is one of a very few FAQ replies from Harry that actually does not align with what the WiF-RaW-7-aug-04 rules say.
IMO he changed this rule rather than clarified it. At least that ruling was carried forward into the Collectors Edition, by clearly defining Corsica as a territory and dispensing with the term "Metropolitan France".
Unfortunately there are a number of other FAQ rulings that did align with WiF-RaW-7-aug-04, but got reversed in CE anyway.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2022 11:04 pm
by rkr1958
Are airborne units that are dropped at night flipped after combat even if the result doesn't call for it?
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2022 12:33 am
by Orm
rkr1958 wrote: Mon Apr 18, 2022 11:04 pm
Are airborne units that are dropped at night flipped after combat even if the result doesn't call for it?
Yes.
Cut from RAC 14.2.3 Night missions:
....
After it lands, any land unit you air transported, or paradropped, at night becomes disorganized.
Paradropping units must still fight any required combat normally (see - 11.15).
Re: RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2022 9:12 am
by Joseignacio
paulderynck wrote: Wed Feb 09, 2022 5:11 pm
This is one of a very few FAQ replies from Harry that actually does not align with what the WiF-RaW-7-aug-04 rules say.
IMO he changed this rule rather than clarified it. At least that ruling was carried forward into the Collectors Edition, by clearly defining Corsica as a territory and dispensing with the term "Metropolitan France".
Unfortunately there are a number of other FAQ rulings that did align with WiF-RaW-7-aug-04, but got reversed in CE anyway.
That is sadly true for many "clarifications " on that document.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2022 6:38 pm
by rkr1958
Orm wrote: Tue Apr 19, 2022 12:33 am
rkr1958 wrote: Mon Apr 18, 2022 11:04 pm
Are airborne units that are dropped at night flipped after combat even if the result doesn't call for it?
Yes.
Cut from RAC 14.2.3 Night missions:
....
After it lands, any land unit you air transported, or paradropped, at night becomes disorganized.
Paradropping units must still fight any required combat normally (see - 11.15).
Thanks! Makes sense.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2022 8:32 pm
by rkr1958
Here's the situation. Japan finds in the Coral Sea on rolls of 1/8. They decide to fight a sub combat against the USA in the 0-box, which gives them 10 surprise points. They use 4 SPs to reduce their risk from D, A to none.
The initial risk for the USA is 2D, A. Japan's goal is to sink both USA CPs so using any of the remaining SPs to shift USA risk to the right from 8 sub factors vs 2 CPs (1 SCS)=2D,A to X (1 col w/4 SPs left), X,D(2 cols w/2 SPs left) or X,D,2A(3 cols w/0 SPs left) doesn't improve Japan's situation; that is sinking both CPs and having enough SPs left to put risk on the lone CL.
So Japan keeps their 6 remaining SPs at USN risk of 2D, A. They allow the 2D to sink the CPs. Now, here's my question. We thought after that that Japan could use 3 of the 6 remaining SPs to put the remaining A on the USN CL. However, they weren't allowed by MWiF to do this. Is this correct?
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2022 7:36 am
by Orm
rkr1958 wrote: Fri Apr 29, 2022 8:32 pm
We thought after that that Japan could use 3 of the 6 remaining SPs to put the remaining A on the USN CL. However, they weren't allowed by MWiF to do this. Is this correct?
I think the rule is to allow the use of SPs to put the final A on the CL. And I think this should be posted as a bug.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2022 12:30 pm
by Centuur
It's a bug...
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2022 7:20 pm
by rkr1958
Orm wrote: Sat Apr 30, 2022 7:36 am
rkr1958 wrote: Fri Apr 29, 2022 8:32 pm
We thought after that that Japan could use 3 of the 6 remaining SPs to put the remaining A on the USN CL. However, they weren't allowed by MWiF to do this. Is this correct?
I think the rule is to allow the use of SPs to put the final A on the CL. And I think this should be posted as a bug.
Centuur wrote: Sat Apr 30, 2022 12:30 pm
It's a bug...
Thanks guys. I'll post it in the tech section along with another bug I think I've encountered. But first I need to run both through the latest version to see if they haven't been corrected. We playing with version 3.2.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Fri May 27, 2022 5:59 pm
by rkr1958
I (we) need some rules expertise here ...
Playing with limited oversea supply, which requires CP/TRS/AMPH (chain) to flow supplies through sea area(s). Also, Germany installed Vichy.
Under what conditions could a(an):
(1) Italian CP be used to supply Vichy units?
(2) Italian CP be used to transport a Vichy RP to a Vichy factory?
(3) Vichy CP be used to supply Germany units?
(4) Vichy CP be used to supply Italian units?
(5) Vichy CP be used to transport a German RP to a German factory?
(6) Vichy CP be used to transport an Italian RP to an Italian factory?
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Fri May 27, 2022 6:53 pm
by Dabrion
The answer to all these is never/none. Supply depends on cooperation, resource transport depends on being on the same side.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Fri May 27, 2022 7:25 pm
by craigbear
Also, though, is Vichy hostile or at war with any ally, that may matter.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Fri May 27, 2022 9:26 pm
by Centuur
craigbear wrote: Fri May 27, 2022 7:25 pm
Also, though, is Vichy hostile or at war with any ally, that may matter.
That's it. The FAQ of the game answer the question about supply:
Playing with Limited Overseas Supply, can
a neutral CP / TRS / AMPH provide supply
to friendly units of other major powers?
No.
A neutral Vichy cannot provide supply for Axis units. However, when Vichy is active (hostile or at war), they can provide supply to all Axis units and vice versa.
The same applies for transporting resources. A neutral Vichy can only transport it's own resources. If Vichy is active, it can transport all Axis resources.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Fri May 27, 2022 11:13 pm
by Dabrion
In RAW7 that is possible, since LOS only requires friendly (e.g. same side) CP.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat May 28, 2022 10:09 am
by Joseignacio
Dabrion wrote: Fri May 27, 2022 6:53 pm
The answer to all these is never/none. Supply depends on cooperation, resource transport depends on being on the same side.
Same side yes, cooperation not sure, regarding convs. It is true that friendly (like you said in the following post) conv can carry supply to a secondary even if it does not cooperate.
However, can a not at war Vichy be "friendly"? Dunno.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat May 28, 2022 12:46 pm
by Centuur
Joseignacio wrote: Sat May 28, 2022 10:09 am
Dabrion wrote: Fri May 27, 2022 6:53 pm
The answer to all these is never/none. Supply depends on cooperation, resource transport depends on being on the same side.
Same side yes, cooperation not sure, regarding convs. It is true that friendly (like you said in the following post) conv can carry supply to a secondary even if it does not cooperate.
However, can a not at war Vichy be "friendly"? Dunno.
Yes, they are friendly, because they are at the same side (in this case Axis). The same is true for the Italians if they are neutral. But only if a major power is active (at war), than it can transport resources and be part of a supply chain for units controlled by other major powers on it's side.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat May 28, 2022 1:33 pm
by Joseignacio
You are right about resources. I was just addressing the supply matter.
And I guess you are right in the interpretation of Friendly.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat May 28, 2022 5:50 pm
by rkr1958
Centuur wrote: Fri May 27, 2022 9:26 pm
craigbear wrote: Fri May 27, 2022 7:25 pm
Also, though, is Vichy hostile or at war with any ally, that may matter.
That's it. The FAQ of the game answer the question about supply:
Playing with Limited Overseas Supply, can
a neutral CP / TRS / AMPH provide supply
to friendly units of other major powers?
No.
A neutral Vichy cannot provide supply for Axis units. However, when Vichy is active (hostile or at war), they can provide supply to all Axis units and vice versa.
The same applies for transporting resources. A neutral Vichy can only transport it's own resources. If Vichy is active, it can transport all Axis resources.
Thanks guys! If you please I'd like to ask some follow-up with specifics in one of my current games. Specifically, let me tell you what MWIF is doing and I'll like your expert opinion(s) if you agree with it or not. Thanks in advance!
General situation: (1) Germany declared Vichy. (2) Vichy is inactive. (3) All colonies and territories went Vichy (ouch!). (4) Both Germany & Italy are at war with the CW. (5) USSR is at war with Japan (not relevant I assumed). (6) Playing with limited oversea supply. (7) NOT playing with limited supply across straights. (8) Vichy has 1 saved oil whom that got from Germany LAST turn.
Specific follow up questions:
(1) The axis player was able to get supply to the Vichy BB Strasbourg in Ajaccio, Corsica through the Italian CP in the West Med this turn. Prior to this turn and with no CP in the West Med the Vichy BB was out of supply.
(2) The axis player was able to oil the BB Strasbourg, assuming by use of the Italian CP in the West Med.
(3) However; the axis player was NOT able to use the Italian CP to transport the Bechar, Algerian RP to a Vichy factory.
Re: New to the game - Basic Questions
Posted: Sat May 28, 2022 9:41 pm
by Centuur
Playing with Limited Overseas Supply, can
a neutral CP / TRS / AMPH provide supply
to friendly units of other major powers?
No.
If Italy is active, it can provide supply to friendly units. And Vichy is friendly to Italy. No bug. If there is no Italian convoy point in the Western Med, the BB is correctly stated to be out of supply, since an inactive major power cannot trace supply through friendly hexes it doesn't control.
RAW:
Active major powers may contribute to the convoy chain of any other
major power on the same side.
So if Italy is active, it can transport the Vichy resource according to the rules. This therefore is a bug, if the Italian convoy isn't transporting another Axis controlled resource.