Page 11 of 11
RE: Closing the Med
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:13 pm
by Centuur
ORIGINAL: Dr Deo
ORIGINAL: Red Prince
I intended to relocate HQ-I Yamamoto and the 5-5 MOT either to the southern front for the winter, or to Siam (there are transports waiting for them in Haichow). However, the Communists got frisky and sent the MTN unit to take the city of Tsinan. That was the 3rd time this game that they risked losing a unit in order to force the Japanese to respond. Each time the Communist unit has eventually been destroyed, but it cost time for the Japanese, and it also forced them to retake a city -- which is part of the reason why US Entry is as high as it is. In this case, I got lucky with a 2-Factor LND and managed to succeed in a Ground Strike against the MTN unit, which means Japan can dispatch it without losing any units.
According to note 5 for the US entry actions, the roll is only made once for each city, so retaking a city shouldn't affect US entry (unless it's a city which was held at the beginning of the scenario, so that a capture roll hasn't been done).
A Chinese city which is controlled by the Japanese at the beginning of the scenario should historically be considered already rolled for in the past. IMHO there shouldn't be a US entry die roll for cities under Japanese control at start of the scenario if they are liberated by the Chinese and than recaptured by the Japanese.
RE: Closing the Med
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:47 pm
by Dr Deo
ORIGINAL: Centuur
A Chinese city which is controlled by the Japanese at the beginning of the scenario should historically be considered already rolled for in the past. IMHO there shouldn't be a US entry die roll for cities under Japanese control at start of the scenario if they are liberated by the Chinese and than recaptured by the Japanese.
I agree with that from a "make sense" point of view, but it's not the RAW. From Harry's clarifications:
Q Does Japan take a USE hit for reoccupying a Chinese city
that it controlled at the start of the game?
Ans Yes. Date: 12/9/97
In any case, if MWiF currently rolls for recaptures of cities not controlled at the beginning of the scenario, it would need to be changed.
RE: Closing the Med
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:21 am
by Extraneous
ORIGINAL: Centuur
ORIGINAL: Dr Deo
ORIGINAL: Red Prince
I intended to relocate HQ-I Yamamoto and the 5-5 MOT either to the southern front for the winter, or to Siam (there are transports waiting for them in Haichow). However, the Communists got frisky and sent the MTN unit to take the city of Tsinan. That was the 3rd time this game that they risked losing a unit in order to force the Japanese to respond. Each time the Communist unit has eventually been destroyed, but it cost time for the Japanese, and it also forced them to retake a city -- which is part of the reason why US Entry is as high as it is. In this case, I got lucky with a 2-Factor LND and managed to succeed in a Ground Strike against the MTN unit, which means Japan can dispatch it without losing any units.
According to note 5 for the US entry actions, the roll is only made once for each city, so retaking a city shouldn't affect US entry (unless it's a city which was held at the beginning of the scenario, so that a capture roll hasn't been done).
A Chinese city which is controlled by the Japanese at the beginning of the scenario should historically be considered already rolled for in the past. IMHO there shouldn't be a US entry die roll for cities under Japanese control at start of the scenario if they are liberated by the Chinese and than recaptured by the Japanese.
ORIGINAL: Dr Deo
ORIGINAL: Centuur
A Chinese city which is controlled by the Japanese at the beginning of the scenario should historically be considered already rolled for in the past. IMHO there shouldn't be a US entry die roll for cities under Japanese control at start of the scenario if they are liberated by the Chinese and than recaptured by the Japanese.
I agree with that from a "make sense" point of view, but it's not the RAW. From Harry's clarifications:
Q Does Japan take a USE hit for reoccupying a Chinese city that it controlled at the start of the game? Answer Yes. Date: 12/9/97
In any case, if MWiF currently rolls for recaptures of cities not controlled at the beginning of the scenario, it would need to be changed.
Is this seriously being considered? Or is this just two peoples opinions?
RE: Closing the Med
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:46 am
by paulderynck
There's no US Entry hit unless China takes back a city controlled by Japan at the beginning of a scenario and then Japan re-occupies it.
RE: Closing the Med
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:59 pm
by Shannon V. OKeets
ORIGINAL: paulderynck
There's no US Entry hit unless China takes back a city controlled by Japan at the beginning of a scenario and then Japan re-occupies it.
I'm still confused.
C holds city X. J takes X and USE occurs. Then C takes X. Does USE occur a second time if J retakes X?
RE: Closing the Med
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:02 pm
by Red Prince
ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
ORIGINAL: paulderynck
There's no US Entry hit unless China takes back a city controlled by Japan at the beginning of a scenario and then Japan re-occupies it.
I'm still confused.
C holds city X. J takes X and USE occurs. Then C takes X. Does USE occur a second time if J retakes X?
Yes. As I understand it from Harry's FAQ . . . where is that darn thing? Hold on . . .
Q13.3-21 13.3.3 Action 10
Chart
What does the note for US Action 10
mean? Do the Japanese roll after the
recapture a lost city? What if they
recapture a city that has already been
rolled for?
It means every time the Japanese take or
retake a city they roll. Date 23/12/2007
13.3.3 Action 10: each time a Japanese controlled
land unit occupies (or reoccupies) a Chinese controlled
city in China, there is the possibility of an outrage
It should also be noted that the FAQ says:
Q13.3-20 13.3.3 Action 10
Chart
For US Action 10, is it rolled for if China is
conquered?
Yes (not for cities surrendered though).
Date 07/03/2008
13.3.3 Action 10: You do not roll for cities controlled
by the Japanese as a result of a Chinese surrender.
RE: Closing the Med
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:09 pm
by Shannon V. OKeets
ORIGINAL: Red Prince
ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
ORIGINAL: paulderynck
There's no US Entry hit unless China takes back a city controlled by Japan at the beginning of a scenario and then Japan re-occupies it.
I'm still confused.
C holds city X. J takes X and USE occurs. Then C takes X. Does USE occur a second time if J retakes X?
Yes. As I understand it from Harry's FAQ . . . where is that darn thing? Hold on . . .
Q13.3-21 13.3.3 Action 10
Chart
What does the note for US Action 10
mean? Do the Japanese roll after the
recapture a lost city? What if they
recapture a city that has already been
rolled for?
It means every time the Japanese take or
retake a city they roll. Date 23/12/2007
13.3.3 Action 10: each time a Japanese controlled
land unit occupies (or reoccupies) a Chinese controlled
city in China, there is the possibility of an outrage
It should also be noted that the FAQ says:
Q13.3-20 13.3.3 Action 10
Chart
For US Action 10, is it rolled for if China is
conquered?
Yes (not for cities surrendered though).
Date 07/03/2008
13.3.3 Action 10: You do not roll for cities controlled
by the Japanese as a result of a Chinese surrender.
Thanks.
RE: Closing the Med
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:22 pm
by Dr Deo
Well, then the wording on the US entry chart really should be changed, since note 5 for entry action "10. Japan occupies Chinese city" says:
Rolled once per city, major power, neutral minor country or search.
This is contrary to the FAQ quoted by Red Prince, which implies there can be multiple rolls for each city.
RE: Closing the Med
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:28 pm
by Red Prince
ORIGINAL: Dr Deo
Well, then the wording on the US entry chart really should be changed, since note 5 for entry action "10. Japan occupies Chinese city" says:
Rolled once per city, major power, neutral minor country or search.
This is contrary to the FAQ quoted by Red Prince, which implies there can be multiple rolls for each city.
The FAQ was in response to this and dated . . . . um, . . . July 7, 2009 (the latest version of the FAQ)
-----
Edit: I'm sorry, but I don't know where to download it other than the Matrix FTP server where we get updates and patches for the beta-version of MWiF.
RE: Closing the Med
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:23 pm
by Orm
RE: Closing the Med
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:42 pm
by Extraneous
US entry chart states Footnote 1: Each action is only rolled once per game unless otherwise specified.
From the RAW
US Entry Action:
10. Japan occupies Chinese city: - each time a Japanese controlled land unit occupies (or reoccupies) a Chinese controlled city in China, there is the possibility of an outrage like the rape of Nanking occurring, an atrocity that the USA public finds out about. You do not roll for cities controlled by the Japanese as a result of a Chinese surrender.
This specifies that "US Entry Action 10" is exempt from Footnote 1.