Italy sets up and moves before the CW.
Italy could use the Light cruiser Taranto (1,8,0,0,5/3). This is the only Italian SCS with a range of 3 at start up.
Note: that Steve is not moving a Land unit with the Transport or Light cruiser Taranto because of rule 11.11.4 Neutral major powers.
But this puts Italy's Transport or Light cruiser Taranto in Suez because you use one point or range for
Into and out of port.
This is not suggested due to stacking:
Prewar naval move (or Sep/Oct turn ~ 1st Axis Impulse):
Transport or Light cruiser Taranto sails from the major port of Tranto, Italy
> Italian Coast sea zone (1 Range and 1 Movement)
> Eastern Mediterranean Sea zone (1 Range and 1 Movement)
> To the minor port of Suez (1 Range and 1 Movement).
Total 3 Range points and 3 Movement points.
Italy cannot end the impulse in Suez if any type of CW ship is in Suez because of rule 18.2 Not co-operating.
After Italy sets up and they leave a Transport or Light cruiser Taranto in Suez.
If the CW sets up any ship in Suez the Transport or Light cruiser Taranto is destroyed due to stacking (see below 18.2 Not co-operating) after set up is complete.
Or if you read the rule as having to exceeding stacking just put more CW ships in Suez.
If there are not any CW ships in Suez:
Sep/Oct turn ~ 1st Axis Impulse (or Sep/Oct turn ~ 2nd Axis Impulse):
Transport or Light cruiser Taranto sails from the minor port of Suez
> Red Sea zone (1 Range and 1 Movement)
> To the minor port of Asmara Ethiopia (1 Range and 1 Movement).
Total 2 Range points and 2 Movement points.
Or you could play it safe and not have to worry about stacking:
Prewar naval move (or Sep/Oct turn ~ 1st Axis Impulse):
Transport or Light cruiser Taranto sails from the major port of Tranto, Italy
> Italian Coast sea zone (1 Range and 1 Movement)
> Eastern Mediterranean Sea zone (1 Range and 1 Movement)
Total 2 Range points and 2 Movement points.
Sep/Oct turn ~ 1st Axis Impulse (or Sep/Oct turn ~ 2nd Axis Impulse):
Transport or Light cruiser Taranto sails from the Eastern Mediterranean Sea zone
> To the minor port of Suez (1 Range and 1 Movement).
> Red Sea zone (1 Range and 1 Movement)
> To the minor port of Asmara Ethiopia (1 Range and 1 Movement).
Total 3 Range points and 3 Movement points.
An attempt by the Italians to invade Suez telegraphs their intentions.
If Italy chooses to invade on the Sep/Oct turn during the:
3rd Axis Impulse they have to do it with free set up or a prewar move or this is countered by sending more CW Land units.
4th Axis Impulse they have to have a Transport or the Light cruiser Taranto in the minor port of Asmara Ethiopia on the 3rd Axis Impulse and can be countered by the CW DoWing Italy on that impulse.
While this could be used as a feint to lure the CW commit Land units to me it really has little strategic importance.
11.4 Naval movement
How far can units move?
A unit must stop moving when you have spent its entire movement allowance or it has reached the limit of its range, whichever happens first.
You spend 1 point of a unit’s range:
* For each sea area and port it moves into.
You spend 1 point of a unit’s movement allowance:
* For each sea area and port it moves into;
* If it starts the movement out of supply;
* If it starts the impulse in a port with naval units controlled by another major power; and
* For each point of the (unmodified) search number of the section you put the unit into.
Into and out of port
When you move a unit out of a port, you must spend its first point to move it into a surrounding sea area (e.g. naval units in Amsterdam must move directly into the North Sea).
There are three special cases:
* Although Kiel is a coastal hex on the Baltic Sea, you can move naval units directly to Kiel from the North Sea and vice versa.
* Although Suez is a coastal hex on the Red Sea, you can move naval units directly to Suez from the Eastern Mediterranean and vice versa.
* Although Panama City is a coastal hex on the Gulf of Mexico, you can move naval units directly to Panama from the Caribbean, and vice versa provided the Panama Canal is not closed to you.
Similarly, a naval unit can only move into a port from the surrounding sea area. It could continue moving but, if it ends the naval move in port, turn it face-down (for convoy points, use a “CP used” marker instead).
11.11.4 Neutral major powers
You can only move a land unit of a neutral major power into:
* A hex it controls; or
* A hex controlled by one of its aligned minor countries; or
* A hex in a minor country it is at war with.
The only exception is the US (see 13.3.2 US entry options, option 7 Occupy Greenland & Iceland & option 44 US occupies Northern Ireland).
18.2 Not co-operating
Units that don’t co-operate cannot:
1. Stack in the same hex, at any time that stacking limits apply; or
2. Transport each other’s units; or
3. Draw supply from a source controlled by the other; or
4. Reorganise each other; or
5. Be committed to any combat or mission that the other unit is, or will be, involved in this step. This doesn’t apply to naval air or naval air interception missions.
Foreign troop commitments
A major power or minor country unit that ends any step in the home country of a friendly major power it doesn’t co-operate with is destroyed unless:
* It started the step there; or
* It started the step elsewhere and the unit satisfies the foreign troop commitment limit.