Page 3 of 3
RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland
Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 7:03 pm
by paulderynck
Face it. There's nothing in RAW7 that is definitive.
RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland
Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 5:59 am
by Centuur
ORIGINAL: paulderynck
Face it. There's nothing in RAW7 that is definitive.
Or in RAW8, I believe... [:-]
RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland
Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 2:44 pm
by paulderynck
ORIGINAL: Centuur
ORIGINAL: paulderynck
Face it. There's nothing in RAW7 that is definitive.
Or in RAW8, I believe... [:-]
Au Contraire.
Whenever a hex changing control leaves a unit illegally stacked (see 9.2, 13.3.2 US entry options 7, 18 & 44; 3.7.1, 13.7.3, 13.7.5, 17.4.5, 19.5.1 & 20), it (PiF option 46: and its pilot, if any) is removed from the
map and placed on the production circle (see turn record chart) to arrive as a reinforcement (see 4) in 2 turns.
RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:59 pm
by Shannon V. OKeets
My take on this thread is that there is a bug as reported in the first post in this thread.
===
Unless I am mistaken, the MWIF code handles naval units in hexes that become neutral as having to rebase. The only difference in processing the same units in hexes that become enemy controlled, is that in the former case they do not roll for captured/destroyed/escape, while in the latter case they do.
Whether that is the 'correct' interpretation of the WIFFE rules is open to debate. But I see no compelling reason to rewrite the code.
RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 6:39 pm
by paulderynck
If located there when conquest happens, MWiF's rebase and disorganize (since it happens after the re-org phase) amounts to almost exactly the same as the rule in RAW8.
RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 6:44 pm
by paulderynck
About the bug - the US can still declare and occupy them unless the axis still has a unit there, so the axis conquest is ineffectual unless they maintain a garrison.