ORIGINAL: Mayhemizer
Germany does not intercept, they are waiting for better target.
Is this correct? Range 1 CA was destroyed. Maybe because we have optional rule "in the presence of the enemy" and it takes 2 movement points to enter sea area? Allies has Polish CA and Spitfire in 0 box.
This is not correct! The range is doubled when a ship is overrun and the presence of the enemy option does not affect the range. It only affects movement points and those are ignored when rebasing after a ship has been overrun.
RAC: 11.11.6 Overruns
....
Overrunning naval units
If a land unit from the other side moves into a port containing any of your naval units, they must rebase.
Before they do, roll for each disorganized or surprised naval unit there.
If you roll a ‘5’ or higher, you keep control of the unit. If you roll a ‘1’, the enemy major power takes control
of it until destroyed (option 46: partisans destroy naval units instead of taking control). Place it in the Repair pool.
On a roll of ‘2’ ~ ‘4’, it is destroyed. (Options 9 & 28: Any carrier plane (and its pilot) suffer the same fate as a CV it
is on). [Clarifications. Since convoys can not be damaged, when they are captured, they remain in the hex under the
control of the new owner (though they become disorganized) - Nov.24, 1998. If a non-aligned minor country’s units
capture naval units, then the captured units belong to the minor country, not its controlling major power. However,
if the minor country is aligned, then captured naval units belong to the major power to which the minor country is
aligned - July 19, 2007. Ownership of captured convoy points is determined the same as other naval units if playing
with Convoys in Flames. However, if that optional rule is not being used, any captured convoy points are given to
the major power controlling the minor country that captured them - Mar. 8, 2008.]
With the units from the overrun hex that you keep control of, you must immediately make a return to base
move (see 13.4.1) where they become disorganized. They may not embark units during this move. They can be
intercepted as they rebase and must attempt to fight through from the ‘0’ box if intercepted.
If they can’t reach such a
base within double their range (ignoring their movement allowance), destroy them instead.
RAC: 11.4.2 Moving naval units
....
Option 19: (In the presence of the enemy)
It costs a surface naval unit 2 points of its movement allowance
(not range) to enter a sea area that contains a CV (with a carrier plane), SCS, or aircraft unit, which is controlled by
an unsurprised (see 15.) major power it is at war with. Note, it usually cost 1 MP, so this is an increase of 1MP.
This doesn’t apply if, at the start of the impulse, the sea area contained a friendly:
• CV with a carrier plane; or
• SCS; or
• aircraft unit.
It also doesn’t apply to a naval unit returning to base nor if the only enemy units attempting to slow you
down are aircraft during storm or blizzard.