Curtis Lemay is
violating both SPI's
War in the Pacific and VG
Pacific War war game rules!
From SPI's WitP:
COMBAT MISSIONS
[10.1] AMPHIBIOUS ASSAULT
(AMPH: Engagement Value: 1)
APB (or MS) units assigned to load (embark) Friendly cargo and transport and unload (disembark) it in a hex not controlled by the Friendly Player are performing an Amphibious Assault.
Procedure
Because amphibious operations
require an extraordinary amount of advance planning, AMPH Missions may be Plotted
only under certain circumstances.
Both an APB unit and the cargo that are to participate in an amphibious assault must spend a certain amount of time in preparation.
Before an APB unit may be assigned to an AMPH Mission the unit must spend an amount of time in preparation, based on the number of Load Points to be disembarked in the hex in a single Game-Turn. The amount of time required varies as follows (Cycle in which planning began):
ALLIES
Cycle 13/41 to 13/43 | 1 Game-Turn per Load Point
Cycle l/44+ | 1 Game-Turn per three Load Points (round fractions up)
JAPANESE
(All Cycles)
1 or 2 Load Points to be disembarked in a given Game-Turn | 1 Game-Turn per Load Point
More than 2 Load Points to be Load disembarked in a given Game-Turn | 2 Game-Turns per Point
Plotting
On a separate index card (one each for each AMPH Mission), the Player should record:
A. The
specific cargo that will be
disembarked (i.e., its current hex location);
B. the
specific APB units involved;
C. the hex the cargo will be disembarked in (i.e. the hex that will be amphibiously assaulted);
D. the
Game-Turn in which the units will become available for the AMPH Mission.
Example of an Allied AMPH Mission Plot against the island of Kwajalein:
"APB l, carrying a U.S. 11-3 and 12 Supply Points (now at Pearl Harbor) will assault Kwajalein (E:3301). The units will have completed their required preparation-time beginning with Game-Turn 1/12/43."
[10.11] The hex the Friendly units are to be debarked in must be within the Normal or Extended Range of land-based Friendly Air Points (any type both on the Game-Turn that the Mission is originally Plotted and the Game-turn that the Mission is actually carried out.
[10.12] Ground units preparing or available for an AMPH Mission
may not engage in ground combat or land movement until the Game-Turn they perform the Amphibious Assault Mission: APB units preparing or available for AMPH Missions
may not embark or debark units of any kind but may perform all other missions normally.
[10.13] Units preparing or available for an AMPH Mission may be withdrawn from the procedure at any time. Once withdrawn, they may again function as normal units of their type. However, if these units are again assigned to an AMPH Mission they must begin to perform the entire preparation procedure
from the beginning.
[10.14] Units may be embarked or debarked onto an APB unit up to the limit of its Load Capacity. Units may be embarked or debarked at a cost (to the naval unit) of 5 Movement Points per Load Point. Four Supply Points are considered to be the equivalent of one Load Point for this purpose. The APB unit must spend the required Movement Points in the same hex as the embarking (or debarking) unit(s). Units being carried by amphibious units are placed under that unit on the Task Force Display.
[10.15] Amphibious Assaults are resolved in the same manner as Air Assaults. That is, Cases 6.93 through 6.98 also apply to Amphibious Assaults, with the exception that the assaulting units have their Attack Strength affected as follows during the Joint Assault Segment:
Unit | Attack Strength
Marine | Normal
Mechanized | Quartered (retain fractions)
All Other Ground Units | Halved (retain fractions)
From PW:
When a combat unit disembarks into a hex occupied by an enemy ground unit, the disembarking player must initiate combat (amphibious assaults) weather he is the Operation player or not. If the Advantage player conducts the assault, he
must initial combat in the ensuing Ground Combat Phase of the next Battle Cycle (
he can not Deactivate his assault units until the assault is resolved).
During this combat, the unit conducting the assault has its Troop Quality halved (round up) for the combat ratio determination only, unless a friendly ground unit already occupies the assault hex, or the assault hex is being simultaneously attacked by friendly ground units from another hex. If a unit performing amphibious assault sufferers a mandatory retreat result, and does retreat, it takes
double the losses specified on the Combat Results Table, embarks, and immediately Deactivates. If the assaulted hex is not occupied by enemy ground units, the assaulting unit still can move no further. Any unit performing amphibious assault cannot purse.
All the Bold above are the clear violations of the rules by Bob Cross (aka Curtis Lemay, may the real Curtis RIP).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curtis_LeMay