Page 1 of 1

Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:09 am
by coralsaw
Hello all,

I seem to recall that an attacker suffers amphibious penalties of -1 attack dice for each region over 2 of the amphibious chain. I can't find this in the rules though. Can anyone help tell me where in the rules this is mentioned, or at least verify that it's true.

Many thx

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:17 am
by GKar
I can't find anything about it in the manual either. Not sure if this is true or not.

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:46 am
by coralsaw
Thx for the reply. One thing I can tell you for sure, I've seen -5 dice for amphibious attacks, so there must be a dice modifier somewhere.

Also, something that came up today, is there a special rule that forbids invading Japan? I have infantry at Bonin islands, and 3x transports (amphib 15) both in front of Japan and in Bonin island area, but I can't invade. What gives?

TiA

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:04 pm
by christian brown
Is it winter? Is the invading unit really starting from an island (you did not move it onto a TF fort for example, if you did, you need to put it back onto the island)? Do the invading ground units have supply?

Check these......good luck!

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:23 pm
by Tom Grosv
ORIGINAL: coralsaw

Hello all,

I seem to recall that an attacker suffers amphibious penalties of -2 attack dice for each region over 2 of the amphibious chain. I can't find this in the rules though. Can anyone help tell me where in the rules this is mentioned, or at least verify that it's true.

Many thx

Wasn't this a rule from WAW? I imagine AWD doesn't have it because of all the new difficulties involved in amphibious invasions.

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:51 pm
by coralsaw
@christian: yes, it's winter. duh. Image

@tom: not sure about WAW, but the penalties sure stand now and I haven't seen anything in the rules.

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:24 pm
by Forwarn45
I couldn't find it in the rules either, but the penalty is still there. From a quick test, it seems to be -1 attack die for each region more than 2. There is no additional evasion penalty, however, based on distance. It's important to be aware of this if you are using units from far away for an invasion, such as in the Pacific - as your units can still do it, but they may not hit anything. Anyway, a good rule to have - but maybe the manual needs a correction?

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:40 pm
by Forwarn45
Rule 8.5.4 from the original WAW =

"Penalty during amphibious invasion: Whenever a land unit conducts an amphibious invasion, for every region
moved over 2, the unit subtracts one die from the total attack dice it rolls (i.e. 1 or 2 regions moved no penalty, 3
regions -1 attack die, 4 regions -2 attack dice, etc.)."

I don't see this rule in the AWD manual, however?

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:42 pm
by coralsaw
Nope, it's not in there. Can we have it amended to the manual/README please guys?

TiA

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:00 pm
by Joel Billings
Added to the rule Clarifications/changes/omissions thread.

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 1:11 am
by Bubble
Does the region count include the region from which the unit starts, and/or in which it finishes? E.g., invading from W Germany into Scotland involves two North Sea zones, but is the count 2, 3 or 4?

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:53 am
by Joel Billings
ORIGINAL: Bubble

Does the region count include the region from which the unit starts, and/or in which it finishes? E.g., invading from W Germany into Scotland involves two North Sea zones, but is the count 2, 3 or 4?

In this case it would be 3.