Page 1 of 1

ATTACKS NOT ALLOWED

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:00 am
by Mark Breed
I started a hot-seat game in which as the Americans I moved forces outside of Boston so that there were only two forces adjacent to the British. One force consisted of an army with 4970 men and 12 cannon in the hex to the southwest; and, a second force of two armies, one with 3896 men and 30 cannon and a second with 3814 men and 18 cannon (7710 men and 48 cannon total in the hex) to the south.

During the British turn, my opponent (with his force of 5050 men and 54 cannon) tried to launch an attack against the smaller American army in the hex to the southwest of Boston; however, the game would not allow the attack. Yet, it would allow him to launch one against the larger army in the hex to the south.

Is there a rule that prevents an army from attacking the smaller enemy army when there are two enemy armies are adjacent to it? Or, is this a bug? Do you need a saved game file?

We are playing the game without using the tactical battles options.

Regards,
Mark

RE: ATTACKS NOT ALLOWED

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:40 pm
by James Ward
Perhaps the attacking force didn't have enough movement point to attack the hex. Did they change stance prior to trying to attack?

RE: ATTACKS NOT ALLOWED

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:42 pm
by Mark Breed
James,
 
Thanks, you appear to have solved the issue. The force to the south is in open terrain; while the force to the southwest is in hilly. The British did change to attack stance.
 
Do you know of where there is a movement cost table for the strategic map? I see one for the tactical one.
 
Thanks again,
Mark

RE: ATTACKS NOT ALLOWED

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 9:13 pm
by James Ward
I'm not sure if there is a chart for stance costs.

RE: ATTACKS NOT ALLOWED

Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:12 am
by FM WarB
The presence of hevy guns can also impede an assault, I believe.