Help with Amphibious Landings
Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:38 am
Help with Amphibious Landings
Having difficulty with Amphib. Invasions in the Guadalcanal scenario. (using Amphib. optional rule). I have loaded Japanese Marines on transport unit, but cannot figure out how to land(debark) unit in enemy territory. (either Port Moresby or Guadalcanal or adjacent hex). Please advise. Thanks
Steve
Steve
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
Hi SteveORIGINAL: steverichmond
Having difficulty with Amphib. Invasions in the Guadalcanal scenario. (using Amphib. optional rule). I have loaded Japanese Marines on transport unit, but cannot figure out how to land(debark) unit in enemy territory. (either Port Moresby or Guadalcanal or adjacent hex). Please advise. Thanks
Steve
I am your Guadalcanal go to guy or something like that [:(]
It looks like you started a new game and if you got that far then you either read very well or you are a board game player and understand new game set ups.
I will walk you through it but I would like to know is this solo or net play? Also where are your units coming from Rabaul, Truk or Japan? On second thought I will run through my invasion in the scenes below
Bo
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
Japanese set up in Rabaul, I am going to invade Guadalcanal [Japans first move] with 2 SNLF Japanese units [Special Naval Landing Forces] same qualities as US Marines. Forgot to mention I used a combine first move so I could move my naval forces and invade in the same impulse.
Bo

Bo

- Attachments
-
- 1G.jpg (225.57 KiB) Viewed 1380 times
-
- Posts: 22165
- Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:51 pm
- Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
- Contact:
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
Check the sequence of play to see when Invasions occur - there is a separate phase for them.ORIGINAL: steverichmond
Having difficulty with Amphib. Invasions in the Guadalcanal scenario. (using Amphib. optional rule). I have loaded Japanese Marines on transport unit, but cannot figure out how to land(debark) unit in enemy territory. (either Port Moresby or Guadalcanal or adjacent hex). Please advise. Thanks
Steve
Put the cursor over the hex you would like to invade (at any time). The Main form's dark blue panel will show the adjacent sea areas, and add the words "no invasion" if the hex cannot be invaded from the given sea area. If those words do not appear, then the hex can be invaded from the sea area.
If your invasion units are in a low number section box, then their attack strength is reduced, maybe to zero.
To invade, the major power has to have a land move available (activity limits) for each invading unit, and also a land combat available.
See the RAC manual page 71 for more on invasions.
EDIT: Clarifying the attack strength from low section boxes.
Steve
Perfection is an elusive goal.
Perfection is an elusive goal.
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
Thank you Steve
In the Naval move impulse I sent my fleet and invasion units into the Coral sea into sea box 2 I could also have gone into sea box 1 but I prefer the highest box I can legally go in. I am showing the read out of the invasion force in the Coral sea. Two Japanese Marine units for invading, four battleships for shore bombardment, and carrier air wings for ground support if need be.
Bo

In the Naval move impulse I sent my fleet and invasion units into the Coral sea into sea box 2 I could also have gone into sea box 1 but I prefer the highest box I can legally go in. I am showing the read out of the invasion force in the Coral sea. Two Japanese Marine units for invading, four battleships for shore bombardment, and carrier air wings for ground support if need be.
Bo

- Attachments
-
- 2move.jpg (203.74 KiB) Viewed 1379 times
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
After you move your fleet into the Coral sea Steve [ the poster asking the question] during the naval move, I want you to proceed through the impulses past land movements railing etc until you come to debarking and you will see whatever units that can debark into friendly hexes, I am just showing you that do not debark, the next impulse will be invasion.
Several rules here 1- you cannot invade in a storm or a blizzard [no blizzards in the Coral sea [;)]]
2- you must have enough land unit moves available to you to invade, in this depiction I have 3 land moves available to me so I can invade with the 2 Japanese SNLF units. Marine units, Japanese and US attack with their full weight [attack strength] other units attack with half of their attack factors showing that the Marines were trained for amphibious landings.
Bo

Several rules here 1- you cannot invade in a storm or a blizzard [no blizzards in the Coral sea [;)]]
2- you must have enough land unit moves available to you to invade, in this depiction I have 3 land moves available to me so I can invade with the 2 Japanese SNLF units. Marine units, Japanese and US attack with their full weight [attack strength] other units attack with half of their attack factors showing that the Marines were trained for amphibious landings.
Bo

- Attachments
-
- 3invasion.jpg (221 KiB) Viewed 1379 times
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
Steve I have now landed the 2 Japanese invasion units onto Guadalcanal, I am not going to show this at this time but the invasion will be challanged by a notational unit on the island. Notational Unit Hmmm[:(][:(] A notational is not a military unit of the CW but maybe some natives, a small contingent of CW soldiers Cw seabees, whatever but they are there. You can avoid them or you can fight them.
The reason I invaded the Western side of Guadalcanal is because there is a port there which allows me to bring in an extra air unit to protect the hex I just conquered, Henderson field means nothing game wise its just there.

The reason I invaded the Western side of Guadalcanal is because there is a port there which allows me to bring in an extra air unit to protect the hex I just conquered, Henderson field means nothing game wise its just there.

- Attachments
-
- 4invasion.jpg (175.66 KiB) Viewed 1381 times
Nice Example
bo,
Nice examples with screenshots that show how amphibious landings work. Thanks! I'm just getting ready to start Guadalcanal now.
Omnius
Nice examples with screenshots that show how amphibious landings work. Thanks! I'm just getting ready to start Guadalcanal now.
Omnius
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:38 am
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
Thanks for the help gentlemen. I will try it out.
Steve
Steve
RE: Nice Example
ORIGINAL: Omnius
bo,
Nice examples with screenshots that show how amphibious landings work. Thanks! I'm just getting ready to start Guadalcanal now.
Omnius
Thank you Omnius appreciate that, I enjoy doing this.
Bo
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
ORIGINAL: steverichmond
Thanks for the help gentlemen. I will try it out.
Steve
Steve if this does not work for you we will go over it again. Remember storms and no land moves left when you are ready to invade is a nono. Please let me know how it is working for you.
Bo
- Joseignacio
- Posts: 3028
- Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
- Location: Madrid, Spain
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
Check the sequence of play to see when Invasions occur - there is a separate phase for them.ORIGINAL: steverichmond
Having difficulty with Amphib. Invasions in the Guadalcanal scenario. (using Amphib. optional rule). I have loaded Japanese Marines on transport unit, but cannot figure out how to land(debark) unit in enemy territory. (either Port Moresby or Guadalcanal or adjacent hex). Please advise. Thanks
Steve
Put the cursor over the hex you would like to invade (at any time). The Main form's dark blue panel will show the adjacent sea areas, and add the words "no invasion" if the hex cannot be invaded from the given sea area. If those words do not appear, then the hex can be invaded from the sea area.
If your invasion units are in a low number section box, then their attack strength is reduced, maybe to zero.
To invade, the major power has to have a land move available (activity limits) for each invading unit, and also a land combat available.
See the RAC manual page 71 for more on invasions.
EDIT: Clarifying the attack strength from low section boxes.
This happened to me today, I was about to report it as a bug, but then I remembered the activity limits...
Good work, bo... [:)]
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
Moderators... can we move this up to the AAR forum... there is no Guadalcanal AAR there with this useful information
/Greyshaft
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
ORIGINAL: Greyshaft
Moderators... can we move this up to the AAR forum... there is no Guadalcanal AAR there with this useful information
On page 8 my battle of the Coral sea might help if it was moved to the AAR section.
Bo
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:38 am
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
Thanks Bo for your detailed response. I was able to land Japanese Marines on Guadalcanal with your help.
Steve
Steve
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
See that Steve it was easy but it might be hard to keep them there if you were playing centuur. [;)]ORIGINAL: steverichmond
Thanks Bo for your detailed response. I was able to land Japanese Marines on Guadalcanal with your help.
Steve
Bo
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
Can I ask a dumb question here? Could you choose a Naval move on the first impulse, to maximize the number of invading transports/amphibs at sea; and then choose a Land impulse on the second impulse, to maximize the number of units that can invade and fight? Or is it best practice to choose a Combined and do it all in one impulse, as Bo did here?

- paulderynck
- Posts: 8486
- Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
- Location: Canada
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
Of course you can do either one. It depends on whether you need to strike quickly before the other side can react or you need to deal with the possibility the weather this impulse is good but it may be lousy in your next impulse.
Of course the best of all worlds is to have an Offensive Chit in hand so you can take a "Super Combined" and do everything in one impulse.
Of course the best of all worlds is to have an Offensive Chit in hand so you can take a "Super Combined" and do everything in one impulse.
Paul
RE: Help with Amphibious Landings
Thanks for your reply. I suppose one downside of spreading it over two turns is that your transports sit out there in the ocean longer that way, giving the enemy more time to hunt them down. Anyway, I'll experiment. Thanks again.
