Clarification of Wynter's post
Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 7:44 pm
Wynter,
See my previous post. Corps are either IN or OUT of a city as a player desires during movement. However:
Corps Do NOT have to ENTER a city to detach/absorb factors in/out of UNBESEIGED garrisons or depots. 7.3.3 Nowhere does it say a corps counter must move into/out of a city BUT a corps counter MUST HAVE MOVEMENT POTENTIAL EVEN IF ZERO! 7.3.3 says the act of absorbing/detaching factors does not have a MOVEMENT POINT COST.
Corps entering an area with an enemy corps in the area OR beseiging can not detach/absorb factors because the corps must cease movement and declare an attack! AND even though it costs zero movement points, detaching/absorbing is STILL movement! (Rule 7.3.3. "...there is no movement point cost for this." Again, as above, the rule says movement POINT cost NOT movement cost!
Why? Because an enemy corps beseiging an area IS IN THE AREA, NOT THE CITY and 7.3.7.1 applies.
ALSO, NO corps counter may enter a city that is TOO big for the city to hold the corps counter total factors but the corps counter may still transfer factors in or out of a city, again, assuming movement is available (even zero movement!)
Corps counters are ALWAYS CLEARLY IN an area (placed in the area) or IN the city (placed on top of the city symbol) OR ON top of enemy units on a city symbol (In the city) as a result of seige.
NOTE: Corps ON TOP OF enemy units In a city (Beseiging the city) ARE IN THE AREA, NOT THE CITY! and so one must stop and declare combat 7.3.7.1 (a relieving force battle situation ensues)
NOTE: That in the case of Soapyfrog's "screening" a player may win a field combat against any corps counters/depot garrisons not retreated into the city and, if successful, then beseige the city (that may have already contained a seperate garrison/corps counter and/or had factors/corps/depot garrisons retreated into the city before combat {7.5})! Either way, screening may be too costly!!
Factors are ALWAYS in a city, a corps counter or (up to ten) on a depot in an area (Or city in special case 7.2.2 where the TOTAL value of the city garrison is not exceeded by the COMBINED total of depot garrison, city garrison and corps counter factors IN THE CITY).
So to answer your point, NO, corps do not have to MOVE into/ out of a city to detach/absorb factors (7.3.3) BUT the act costs movement points (of zero) that must be available to the corps counter (i.e. no enemy corps in the area. Enemy could be IN the city but then you could only detach/absorb factors from your friendly depot IN the AREA)
And YES, corps counters MUST be in cities OR areas as allowed/desired by the players controlling the counters BUT THE DETERMINATION IS MADE BY EACH PLAYER IN HIS MOVEMENT PHASE! A PLAYER CAN NOT REDESIGNATE THE POSITION OF HIS CORPS COUNTERS (AREA OR CITY) AT ANY OTHER TIME UNLESS AS A RESULT OF COMBAT!!!
I hope this helps!
Snake
See my previous post. Corps are either IN or OUT of a city as a player desires during movement. However:
Corps Do NOT have to ENTER a city to detach/absorb factors in/out of UNBESEIGED garrisons or depots. 7.3.3 Nowhere does it say a corps counter must move into/out of a city BUT a corps counter MUST HAVE MOVEMENT POTENTIAL EVEN IF ZERO! 7.3.3 says the act of absorbing/detaching factors does not have a MOVEMENT POINT COST.
Corps entering an area with an enemy corps in the area OR beseiging can not detach/absorb factors because the corps must cease movement and declare an attack! AND even though it costs zero movement points, detaching/absorbing is STILL movement! (Rule 7.3.3. "...there is no movement point cost for this." Again, as above, the rule says movement POINT cost NOT movement cost!
Why? Because an enemy corps beseiging an area IS IN THE AREA, NOT THE CITY and 7.3.7.1 applies.
ALSO, NO corps counter may enter a city that is TOO big for the city to hold the corps counter total factors but the corps counter may still transfer factors in or out of a city, again, assuming movement is available (even zero movement!)
Corps counters are ALWAYS CLEARLY IN an area (placed in the area) or IN the city (placed on top of the city symbol) OR ON top of enemy units on a city symbol (In the city) as a result of seige.
NOTE: Corps ON TOP OF enemy units In a city (Beseiging the city) ARE IN THE AREA, NOT THE CITY! and so one must stop and declare combat 7.3.7.1 (a relieving force battle situation ensues)
NOTE: That in the case of Soapyfrog's "screening" a player may win a field combat against any corps counters/depot garrisons not retreated into the city and, if successful, then beseige the city (that may have already contained a seperate garrison/corps counter and/or had factors/corps/depot garrisons retreated into the city before combat {7.5})! Either way, screening may be too costly!!
Factors are ALWAYS in a city, a corps counter or (up to ten) on a depot in an area (Or city in special case 7.2.2 where the TOTAL value of the city garrison is not exceeded by the COMBINED total of depot garrison, city garrison and corps counter factors IN THE CITY).
So to answer your point, NO, corps do not have to MOVE into/ out of a city to detach/absorb factors (7.3.3) BUT the act costs movement points (of zero) that must be available to the corps counter (i.e. no enemy corps in the area. Enemy could be IN the city but then you could only detach/absorb factors from your friendly depot IN the AREA)
And YES, corps counters MUST be in cities OR areas as allowed/desired by the players controlling the counters BUT THE DETERMINATION IS MADE BY EACH PLAYER IN HIS MOVEMENT PHASE! A PLAYER CAN NOT REDESIGNATE THE POSITION OF HIS CORPS COUNTERS (AREA OR CITY) AT ANY OTHER TIME UNLESS AS A RESULT OF COMBAT!!!
I hope this helps!
Snake