Does installing game on new computer change PBEM database?
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2022 1:34 am
Hey all,
Got a question. I am currently playing a PBEM as Allies, and after loading up the latest game save file, I got a message that stated "Database was updated this or at last turn." Looking at the preferences in game confirmed that the database was changed on December 25 2022. Obviously this is quite disturbing because we are not playing any mods nor are any changes to the database authorized. My opponent stated that he just installed the game on a brand new laptop and is playing the campaign on that now.
Question is, how does the database file set change with a fresh install on a new computer? Is this possible? Both of us are playing on version 1.811.26b - Sep 17 2016, scenario 1 with no mods whatsoever to game files other than artwork which does not affect the database. Our campaign is currently in March of 1942. Would a fresh install of the game onto a new system cause a database change such that the game would tell me it changed if the same version of the game was installed onto the new system?
Got a question. I am currently playing a PBEM as Allies, and after loading up the latest game save file, I got a message that stated "Database was updated this or at last turn." Looking at the preferences in game confirmed that the database was changed on December 25 2022. Obviously this is quite disturbing because we are not playing any mods nor are any changes to the database authorized. My opponent stated that he just installed the game on a brand new laptop and is playing the campaign on that now.
Question is, how does the database file set change with a fresh install on a new computer? Is this possible? Both of us are playing on version 1.811.26b - Sep 17 2016, scenario 1 with no mods whatsoever to game files other than artwork which does not affect the database. Our campaign is currently in March of 1942. Would a fresh install of the game onto a new system cause a database change such that the game would tell me it changed if the same version of the game was installed onto the new system?