Page 1 of 1

Is this a bug?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2025 9:44 pm
by Joseignacio
A formerly Netherlands TRS loads a Tanzanian unit (ยก! Shouldn't this be impossible?), and when it RTBs to S. Africa at the end of the turn, it is not allowed because of FTC.

The capital of NE in exile is UK (CW). I am pending confirmation of the nationality because it seems to me it is in truth from a conquered Italian Somaliland instead of Tanzania. Does this change anything? Don't think so.

Since CW majors cooperate with their minors (Tanzania) this should not be a problem. Since they cooperate with NE, that shouldn't be a problem either. The only reason I can think of, is that the game checks both units stacking when they reach SA port.

I am thinking that it may be because the game considers the Major power UK, so it calls for an FTC, but it should have offered not UK but CW, as the rules permit, and then there would be no problem with SA

I would like to be 100 % sure before sending it as a bug

Re: Is this a bug?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2025 9:49 pm
by Joseignacio
I reply myself:

I am beginning to believe it is not, unless there is some problem to deploy the TERR of the minor.

However, I just checked and the RAW strictly says:
Conquered minor countries can pick either any home country of their controlling major power or any home country that the minor country itself controls.
So, UK would be their home country, but SA no and to them FTC would apply. :shock:

But I still think that they should not need FTC, because if we consider CW as a whole, then UK units belong to the CW MP, and if we consider that they only belong to UK, then of course they chould be able to enter anyway because CA cooperates with UK units.

So I still thik it is a bug.

Re: Is this a bug?

Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2025 7:27 pm
by paulderynck
If the Netherlands is incompletely conquered its naval units must adhere to FTC regardless of where its home country is chosen to be. The TRS should be able to base in any CW home country, including South Africa, because the Netherlands is aligned to the CW. It can also base in any CW territory (FREX Gibraltar). It does not cooperate with and cannot base in any minor country aligned to the the CW (FREX Egypt).

So for example it should not be able to enter a port in Nigeria nor transport a Nigerian unit. Also it cannot stack with any other naval units that are not either Netherlands or CW, for example US or FF. It can base in a minor country that has been conquered by the CW but still should not be able to transport or stack with Territorials from such a country as they do not cooperate with each other.

If it can do any of the things in the game that I've listed as it can't, then that is a bug.

As you can see, the Netherlands TRS is quite a PITA but still better than not having the extra sea lift. It could base in India and transport Indian units to Egypt by stopping in the Red Sea and having the Indian unit debark from the sea zone. It could base in South Africa and leave with a South African Territorial on board (because that Territorial would be a CW home country unit) and then return to base to Gibraltar. So it can be put to good use.

Re: Is this a bug?

Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2025 12:52 pm
by Orm
I agree with paulderynck.

Re: Is this a bug?

Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2025 1:53 pm
by Joseignacio
Thanks both.

Then it is a bug.

First because it can transport another minor's unit. Second because it cannot be sent to SA, be it because the game checks then this fact (the incompatibility of this transportation) or because it doesnt let an NE unit enter SA.