Page 1 of 1

Withdraw post melee - clarification pls

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:48 pm
by Simonluca
First of all, ciao from Italy, the game is quite well distributed and we started to play [:D]

LnL BOH is of course excellent and a big community of ex-ASL players is ready to go again [8D](Vietnam for Italians, not for me, was less interesting; I don't know why maybe something about politics, bla bla bleah...[:@])

Anyway I have a question about melee withdraw (maybe it is just my problem with tranlation so.... in this case sorry [;)]

1) German Impulse
Germans move to melee. Big crush, americans survive and things are grim for germans...
Is it at this point that german player declares that is better to withdraw ? It seems yes.
If it is yes....this is what it could happen:

2) American Impulse
American actives another hex doing something else, waiting for german witdraw. No combat melee in this impulse. ...but american can send other MMC SMC exc in the melee hex without a combat as a normal impulse move

3) German Impulse
Germans must withdraw now. They test with one unit, but one will stay in the melee to cover withdraw. The test is OK.
So one unit will move out one hex. The other one will fight to cover, in the melee hex and to avoid opportunity american fire. This unit in the melee hex is crushed. Melee is over but.....

4)American Impulse
The melee is over but the marker is still on !! So all squads in the melee hex must wait for a new turn to do something else.
And another question: are these american units eligible for fire now in german impulse ?
It seems no, because tecnically the turn is not over and this one is still a melee hex, also if german units are off.

All these things have sense ?

tks a lot

Simon, Italy


RE: Withdraw post melee - clarification pls

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 2:32 am
by stanguay
Simon

You can only withdraw your units if you started a turn with said units still locked in melee. You also must withdraw BEFORE the melee round is fought in this hex or you will have to wait next turn. Remember that, as soon as a melee round is fought, all units involved in the melee are considered activated, no matter what their previous activation state was. The hex keep it's melee marker until the end of the turn where it is removed, provided no enemy units are left in the melee hex.

RE: Withdraw post melee - clarification pls

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 1:12 pm
by Simonluca
Tks Stanguay, but I was a little confused ...[&:]but maybe I understand the point of my confusion....[;)]
and the point is: Just one melee round per turn...and not a melee round every impulse !! I have missed that !!
If It is so, everything is clear, also the withdraw rule!!![:D]
Simon

RE: Withdraw post melee - clarification pls

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:14 pm
by stanguay
Yep Simon, only one melee round per turn per hex (except if you were fighting in a multi-storied building, where that would be one melee round/turn/level)