Page 1 of 1

Spotting - Clarifications

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 9:26 am
by Simonluca
Hello,

rules 10.0 states:

"Spotting attempts do not require an impulse, but only one attempt may be made per friendly impulse, ...."

Ok one attempt per impulse, this is clear but what does it means the first part of the sentence really?

For me, if "spotting an hex does not require an impulse", that means that, at the begin of my impulse, an isolate squad can spot successfully an enemy hex (and is marked with operation complete), and then I can choose if to fire with that squad (my impulse activation) OR to activate another hex (in state of that one) with better troops and with that troops fire on the spotted hex as my impulse.

Is it correct ?

tks in advance

Simon

RE: Spotting - Clarifications

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 1:10 pm
by stevel40831
Yes, your interpretation is correct!

Steve

RE: Spotting - Clarifications

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 2:59 pm
by Adam Parker
The key is to always think of this game as in a state of constant flowing action.

The spotting process is highly fluid. You've still got to get the right dice roll, you've still got to get your units into firing range and cover will largely determine success. So in fact, the spotting unit may not be as "isolated" as first thought given that other units can bring fire on the hex once seen.

You'll also usually want a leader to do the spotting for the DRM. In many scenarios depending on side, they can be scarce. Other than that, I find that enemy movement usually results in a large amount of auto-spotting itself.