New to the game - Basic Questions

A sub-forum for players new to WIF, containing information on how to get started and become an experienced player.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

User avatar
Courtenay
Posts: 4396
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:34 pm

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Courtenay »

rkr1958 wrote: Mon Feb 19, 2024 3:53 am Thanks. I had it backwards then. So if you only have 1 it can go either in your home or aligned country then?
Yes.
I thought I knew how to play this game....
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3061
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

rkr1958 wrote: Mon Feb 19, 2024 3:53 am
Courtenay wrote: Mon Feb 19, 2024 12:03 am
rkr1958 wrote: Sun Feb 18, 2024 8:59 pm I agree. Because, otherwise Free France would never be able to deploy a CP to anywhere other than their home country. I went back and made the first CP=2 and deleted the second. MWIF then allowed me to place both CPs (1 required in Morocco, Free France's home country) and 1 in CP Djibouti, French Somaliland.
The first CP you build each turn can go into your home country or any aligned minor country. Building a second CP does not affect this.
However, you can place 1 convoy point a turn in either a Commonwealth home country other than the United Kingdom or an aligned (not conquered) minor country.
Thanks. I had it backwards then. So if you only have 1 it can go either in your home or aligned country then?
Yes, because it seems MWIF automatically has incorporated Optional 76. But only one, hence what I wrote earlier.
User avatar
Courtenay
Posts: 4396
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:34 pm

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Courtenay »

No optional rule required. The quote I gave above is taken over directly from RAW7.
I thought I knew how to play this game....
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3061
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Mine too, where is yours? Not challenging, just wanting to know it, these rules are messy most of the time:
13.6.5 Building units

You can spend your build points on buying new units or repairing damaged naval units.

Minor countries do not spend build points. Their controlling major power uses their resources and factories instead.
Your major power can build new units (and repair damaged naval units) whose total cost is less than or equal to its build points. What each unit costs and how long it takes to build is usually shown on the back of the counter.

The costs and turns for all units is listed on the unit costs chart (see 28.).

MiF: (Garrison armies) Russian garrison armies cost 2.

SiF option 9: SUBs from World in Flames (a first cycle cost of ‘2’) cost 1 less build point for each cycle. If playing with Patton in Flames or America in Flames, use Ships in Flames units wherever possible.

For additional PatiF and AiF naval units, reduce their first time cost to that of the SiF first time costs. Reduce the second time costs of subs by 1 and surface naval units (except TRSs) by 2.

PiF option 28: The cost on the back of Planes in Flames units is both the cost and turns needed to build each aircraft. If you are not playing with pilots (see 14.6), each Planes in Flames aircraft (option 23: not V-weapons or A-bombs) costs 2 build points more. If you are, the turns shown on the back of the World in Flames aircraft is also their cost.

CVPiF/SiF option 56: Carrier planes cost 3 build points each and take 4 turns to produce. If you are also playing with pilots (PiF option 28), use the cost on the back of the counter (they still take 4 turns). If you don’t have enough build points, you can’t build anything.

Naval units

The production cost of convoys is not shown on the counter. They take only one cycle to produce and cost 1 build point per convoy point. They take 4 turns to build. If you aren’t playing with Ships in Flames you have to build them in multiples of 5.

All other naval units have two costs shown on their back. The first number is the build points it costs to put the unit on its first production cycle. It is also the cost to repair the unit. The second number is the cost to put the unit on its second production cycle.

All naval units take 2 turns to repair. Repairing each 5 convoy point unit costs 2 build points (SiF option 9: convoy points don’t get damaged, so you won’t ever repair them).

When you build a naval unit on its first cycle, put it on the production circle face-down. When it arrives as a reinforcement, put it into the construction pool. The ship has been launched but not yet fitted out.

You can only build a unit on its second cycle if it is in the construction pool. You put these units face-up on the production circle. You also put naval units face-up if you are repairing them from the repair pool. These units go onto the map when they arrive as reinforcements (see 4.2).

Limitations
You may only build some Chinese and US units after you have chosen US entry options that let you build those units (see 13.3.2, entry options 1 and 28).

Which units

CoiF option 76: Each turn you may build up to one convoy point for each minor country aligned to your major power. All other convoy points being built this turn must belong to the major power itself.

You must select all other units you build from the force pool randomly.

You can nominate the type of unit you want to build, and sometimes even the cost you want to pay (e.g. you can choose a 2 point SCS rather than a 3 because they are in separate force pools ~ see 13.6.9). But within those parameters, the choice is random.

When you build a unit from the repair pool or from the construction pool, you can select the exact unit you want (exception: CoiF Option 79~ Auxiliary Cruisers are chosen randomly when repaired).

Building ahead

If a particular type of unit (e.g., INF, NAV, CV etc.) is not available in any of your force pools, you can build one or more randomly of that type from the following year's additions (see 4.1.1). Each unit built in this fashion costs its usual amount plus 50% of the unit's cost (minimum of 2), and takes 1 extra turn to build.

If none of that type is available in the next year’s additions, you can build one from the additions for the year after that for double its normal cost (minimum of 3), the next year again for triple cost (minimum of 4) and so on. Each additional year that you build the unit ahead increases by 1 turn the time to build the unit.
When advance building naval units that take two rounds to build, only the first round costs more and takes longer than usual. However, the additional first round cost is based on the total cost of the unit (i.e., first and second round combined).

Example: the USA advance builds an AMPH from next year's force pool. The unit costs 3 for the first round and 4 for the second, and takes 4 turns. The build ahead increases the first round cost to 7 (3 + (7 total build points cost of the unit divided by 2 = 3.5 rounds to 4)), and it takes 5 turns instead of 4. When the AMPH reaches the construction pool, it
may be completed for the usual 4 build points and 4 turns, even if the year of arrival of the unit has not yet occurred.

You can’t build ahead just because the cost of unit you want is not available. All pools of the type must be empty. For example, if you want to build a 4 cost FTR and none are available, you can’t build ahead if there is a 5 cost FTR vailable.

When you build ahead, pick a unit randomly of the type and cost that you want (e.g. when you have run out of all FTRs in your force pools, you can choose whether to randomly pick a 4 or a 5 cost FTR from next year’s units).

SiF Option 9: You may not pick a replacement naval unit (see 4.1.4) from future years’ units.

If you find you have insufficient points to pay for the unit, you may not build ahead this turn. If there are no units of that type and cost available to build ahead, you may not build ahead a unit of that type (there is a strict counter mix-limit for units).

Neutral major powers may not build ahead (exception: US Entry Option 46 ~ see 13.3.2).

Builds charts
You should record what you produce on the builds chart as a reference for next turn’s gearing limit.

13.6.6 Gearing limits
User avatar
Courtenay
Posts: 4396
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:34 pm

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Courtenay »

Mine comes from section 4.2 Reinforcement, subsection "Where do Reinforcements go", 4th sentence of second paragraph.

The rule is the same in RAC and RAW-7.
I thought I knew how to play this game....
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3061
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Correct.

Although IMO this only applies to CW, which is the usual power being interested in it, although not in the case by rkr:
Put your on-map naval reinforcements into a port you control in the unit’s home country. However, you can place 1 convoy point a turn in either a Commonwealth home country other than the United Kingdom or an aligned (not conquered) minor country [Note: this is only possible if you are playing with Ships in Flames].
User avatar
Courtenay
Posts: 4396
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:34 pm

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Courtenay »

My reading of that sentence sees no restriction to only the CW.
I thought I knew how to play this game....
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31338
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

Question: I thought that the -1 modifier for each extra attacking MP after the first always applied in 2d10. Regardless of the option. I am wrong in this?
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Courtenay
Posts: 4396
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:34 pm

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Courtenay »

Aarrgh. I have always turned the optional rule on, so never noticed this, but in the 2d10 explanation, the -1 for allied combat friction is not optional. However, MWiF makes it optional. I am not convinced MWiF is wrong. If one wants to use the rule in 2d10, one can turn the optional on, and if not, not. Just regard it as MWiF allowing you to implement a house rule if you want to.
I thought I knew how to play this game....
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9079
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

MWIF is correct where the application of the 2D10 table in RAW is concerned. I've cut a part out of the table published in RAW 7 from august 2004. Notice the arrow and the explication of the meaning of the arrow at the end of the table.

However, there is a cosmetic bug on the published 2D10 table in MWIF. The mentioning of the optionals has not been included.

⇒ -1 ~ Each (co-operating) major power attacking (after the
first).
⇒ +1 ~ per Japanese, Australian, or US Marine attacking a jungle
hex, provided the unit attacking is white print.
-4 ~ Jungle
⇒ -1~ City
⇒ +1 ~ for HQ or ENG attacking a city (maximum +1).
⇒ ~ +2 Non territorials attacking territorials.
⇒ ~ -2 Territorials attacking non territorials
⇒ Blitz attack mod (clear weather only)
+1 ~ per attacking ARM and MECH in a (non city) clear or
desert hex provided the unit is not attacking across a fort hexside.
⇒ Optional
Peter
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31338
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

I do not understand. Every modifier with an arrow is optional?!

Edit: Now I think I understand. However, what was the text that was missing?
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Courtenay
Posts: 4396
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:34 pm

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Courtenay »

First, there is a clear mistake on the list:
+1 ~ for HQ or ENG attacking a city (maximum +1).
This is wrong. It should be +1 for HQ attacking a city (max one)
and +1 per ENG factor acting city [no limit].

Also, I don't understand.

Unless I am misreading the arrows, it seems to be saying that the -1 per city, the Japanese/US/Australian jungle bonus, and the blitz bonus are optional rules What? To the best of my knowledge, these are not optional rules.
I thought I knew how to play this game....
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3061
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Courtenay wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 3:52 am My reading of that sentence sees no restriction to only the CW.
OK, may be understood that way, yes.

Like an aligned minor country of (the aforementioned) CW (which is how I understood it) or
Like any aligned minor country of any MP
Last edited by Joseignacio on Tue Feb 20, 2024 7:33 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3061
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Courtenay wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 7:16 pm First, there is a clear mistake on the list:
+1 ~ for HQ or ENG attacking a city (maximum +1).
This is wrong. It should be +1 for HQ attacking a city (max one)
and +1 per ENG factor acting city [no limit].

Also, I don't understand.

Unless I am misreading the arrows, it seems to be saying that the -1 per city, the Japanese/US/Australian jungle bonus, and the blitz bonus are optional rules What? To the best of my knowledge, these are not optional rules.
I think that he means that the arrow means they are optional, and the cosmetic bug consists on regular rules being shown (tagged) like optionals at the table. Does this make sense?
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31338
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

The first arrow points out the different non-optional modifiers. Then the final arrow points out that there might be additional optional modifiers. Or so I initially have read it.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Mayhemizer_slith
Posts: 9379
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:44 am
Location: Finland

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Mayhemizer_slith »

Question:

Italy have a fleet in Athens. It is OOS. If it leaves port for the Eastern Mediterranean where there are Allied air, and SCS. Presence of the enemy option is in play and Axis has no unit in the sea area. The fleet contains a ship with 3 in movement points and 3 in range.

After interception, should the (entire) fleet be able continue to another sea area?

And what box should the (entire) fleet be able to reach in the Eastern Mediterranean?

Is the movement cost to enter the East Med 3 MP (1 for sea area + 1 for OOS + 1 for Presence)? MWIF claims it is only 2 MP. Thus the fleet has one MP over after entering the East Med.

Is there a bug or no?
If your attack is going really well, it's an ambush.

-Murphy's war law
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9079
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

RAW:

If you move a naval unit that is out of supply, subtract 1 from its
movement allowance (not range) and turn it face-down (or put a CP
used marker on it if it is a convoy point) when you finish its move
(even at sea).


And:

(In the presence of the enemy) It costs a surface naval
unit 2 points of its movement allowance (not range) to enter a sea
area that contains a CV (with a carrier plane), SCS or aircraft unit
controlled by an unsurprised (see 15.) major power it is at war with.
This does not apply (i.e. you pay normal costs) if, at the start of the
impulse, the sea area contained a friendly:
• CV with a carrier plane; or
• SCS; or
• aircraft unit.
It also doesn’t apply to a naval unit returning to base nor if the only
enemy units attempting to slow you down are aircraft during storm
or blizzard.


A 3 movement allowance therefore allows the OOS naval unit to move out of the Eastern Med, even when using the optional rule "In The Presence of the Enemy".

The range of the units are not reduced due to being OOS or using the optional rule.

No bug.
Peter
User avatar
Mayhemizer_slith
Posts: 9379
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:44 am
Location: Finland

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Mayhemizer_slith »

Thank you very much!
If your attack is going really well, it's an ambush.

-Murphy's war law
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31338
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

Centuur wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 1:56 pm RAW:

If you move a naval unit that is out of supply, subtract 1 from its
movement allowance (not range) and turn it face-down (or put a CP
used marker on it if it is a convoy point) when you finish its move
(even at sea).


And:

(In the presence of the enemy) It costs a surface naval
unit 2 points of its movement allowance (not range) to enter a sea
area that contains a CV (with a carrier plane), SCS or aircraft unit
controlled by an unsurprised (see 15.) major power it is at war with.
This does not apply (i.e. you pay normal costs) if, at the start of the
impulse, the sea area contained a friendly:
• CV with a carrier plane; or
• SCS; or
• aircraft unit.
It also doesn’t apply to a naval unit returning to base nor if the only
enemy units attempting to slow you down are aircraft during storm
or blizzard.


A 3 movement allowance therefore allows the OOS naval unit to move out of the Eastern Med, even when using the optional rule "In The Presence of the Enemy".

The range of the units are not reduced due to being OOS or using the optional rule.

No bug.
So, the TRS has 3 MP. -1 for OOS leaves 2 MP. The cost for entering he Eastern Mediterranean is 2 MP due to the enemy presence. 2 MP -2 MP leaves 0 MP. How can the TRS continue moving with no MP left?

xxxx

3 MP -1 (for OOS=) -2 (for presence) -> 0 MP for further movement.

xxxx

What am I missing?
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Mayhemizer_slith
Posts: 9379
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:44 am
Location: Finland

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Mayhemizer_slith »

I understood it so that speed is reduced, not range.

So that 4 range 5 speed CA would lose 3 from speed
If your attack is going really well, it's an ambush.

-Murphy's war law
Post Reply

Return to “WIF School”