Rules interpretations

Empires in Arms is the computer version of Australian Design Group classic board game. Empires in Arms is a seven player game of grand strategy set during the Napoleonic period of 1805-1815. The unit scale is corps level with full diplomatic options

Moderator: MOD_EIA

soapyfrog
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 3:28 am

Post by soapyfrog »

Originally posted by Ragnar
For the purpose of keeping the faith, double dutyists consider this a typo. They maintain that corps cannot enter a city of their own volation. Off course they do, for the've explaned the rule that allows that as something else...
I don't consider it a typo... the rule in no way permits a move INTO the city during the movement phase (that is an additonal inference you would have to make,; it is not explicitly stated), it merely makes a comment on it's cost, presumeably so that for other situations where corps are explicitly permitted to move into cities (retirement before combat and post combat/assault) the movement allowance status of the corps is not an issue.

If you DO want to read that rule assuming it permits you to move into cities, be aware that if you are using "double-duty" such a move is wholly unneccessary... probably why it is not EXPLICITLY stated that you can do so in the rule :D
Ragnar
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 5:54 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Right, can we get down to business again?

Post by Ragnar »

Originally posted by soapyfrog
As for the rest... if you feel I've made enough "assumptions" that I am using a houserule, then fine. The more complex way, IMHO, requires a number of equivalent assumptions... so it's all one to me. I prefer the more elegant solution.


Actually, all that "the more complex way" assumes is that the exact same rules apply for all counters that are garrisoning. This, IMO is not even an assumption, but a continuance of a known fact. At least, we know that for instance an inf garrison counter needs to be placed on the city to show it's not on the depot.

Now, let's consider some of the benefits and elegance of your interpretation:

1) Any corps can garrison any city.
-This is simply not true. 7.3.3.3.2 and 7.3.3.3.1 are as much limited by 7.3.3.4 as 7.3.3.3 is. Hence a full-sized Feudal corps cannot garrison Benghazi, not even by using DD.

2) It's always clear who is in control without the need for the additional details of actually detaching.
- Yes, this is true, but only if the city is empty AND there is only one corps outside AND if that corps size does not exceed the cities capacity. In all other cases, you'd have to note on each corps on the map (sideboard doesn't work as the corps all look alike) to state if it is pulling DD or not.

3) Cossack gambits.
-Indeed, if a corps can control a city thus, a cossack cannot bypass it to enter/garrison the city. However, a cossack could also prevent a corps from garrisoning a city if it is in the area pulling DD. when the corps comes by. Worse, a guerilla does this too. So as long as I have a guerilla in the countryside pulling DD, detaching into the city is illegal by the general terms of 7.3.3.

Anyway, IMO what you see as an elegant solution to some problems isn't elegant, it's not a solution and the problems weren't problems in the first place. Well, no more than the French 4.0 morale or 4mp infantry corps is..
Capitaine
Posts: 1028
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 10:00 am

Post by Capitaine »

Well, the thing is that those who have argued for all this amorphous "corps presence" known primarily as "double duty", they have just completely eviscerated the concept of "movement" as specified in the rules. Essentially, by taking the "zero movement cost" of movement into/from cities, they've turned it into an omnipresent position in a given area. This just doesn't comport with any provisions in the rules other than the one about "zero cost".

The rules deal with things like cities that are vacant while the area is not, garrisons where the actual factors in the garrison determine control for "combat purposes", and many other things "double duty" would render moot. Why even have such rules if double duty were intended?

I believe (and I know I've said it before too), some people are using rules to argue for a particular "house rule" they've espoused in the sanctity of their own home b/c they like it. But it's not the game as written.

At least my arguments are all trying to interpret the chapter and verse of the rulebook, which IMO must be the basic "game". Only where there is a hard contradiction between what is written (i.e., an actual, not merely asserted, ambiguity in the rules) in different rules provisions do I believe we should discuss a resolution of the anomoly. We should not try to recreate the game.

My original argument that upset many WAS based on the literal language of the rules. However, I also found a patent contradiction that precluded applying the basic rule as written (as to when a counter's move "ceased" for LMS purposes). I would not ever think we should advocate a "better game" (to a given individual) than what is presented in the rulebook as long as the computer coding aspect isn't an issue.
soapyfrog
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 3:28 am

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Right, can we get down to business again?

Post by soapyfrog »

Originally posted by Ragnar
1) Any corps can garrison any city.
-This is simply not true. 7.3.3.3.2 and 7.3.3.3.1 are as much limited by 7.3.3.4 as 7.3.3.3 is. Hence a full-sized Feudal corps cannot garrison Benghazi, not even by using DD.

Not if you draw from 7.3.3.3.2 that PART of a corps can form a garrison WITHOUT detaching. Which has been my contention all along.
2) It's always clear who is in control without the need for the additional details of actually detaching.
- Yes, this is true, but only if the city is empty AND there is only one corps outside AND if that corps size does not exceed the cities capacity. In all other cases, you'd have to note on each corps on the map (sideboard doesn't work as the corps all look alike) to state if it is pulling DD or not.

There could multiple corps outside from multiple nationalities, it doesn't matter, it would be the same as if you had detached factors form multiple nationalities in the same city. If the nationalities are at war it becomes immediately apparent who controls the city becuase by neccessaity one must be besiged and the other sieging. So again no notation is neccessary, beyond what would normally be required in the event of a multi-national garrison.
3) Cossack gambits.
-Indeed, if a corps can control a city thus, a cossack cannot bypass it to enter/garrison the city. However, a cossack could also prevent a corps from garrisoning a city if it is in the area pulling DD. when the corps comes by. Worse, a guerilla does this too. So as long as I have a guerilla in the countryside pulling DD, detaching into the city is illegal by the general terms of 7.3.3.

Incorrect. This has been covered before so I am repeating myself. If a corps and an enemy cossack/guerilla are in the same area, the only way for the cossack/guerilla to control the city would be if they were besieged in it; this is determined when the corps moves into the area. If the cossack/guerilla moved into the area and the corps was already present, they could not also control the city because the corps is already controlling it. Again it is obvious who controls the city: always the corps, unless the cossack/guerilla is besieged.

Again, NO notation required, and NO rules conflict.
Anyway, IMO what you see as an elegant solution to some problems isn't elegant, it's not a solution and the problems weren't problems in the first place. Well, no more than the French 4.0 morale or 4mp infantry corps is..
Once more, I do NOT DISPUTE that it can easily be played "your" way (and undoubtedly is, by many... maybe even most), however:

A)"your" way requires that constant note be kept of whether corps/cossacks/guerillas are "in" or "out" of cities (and you say you do this by the tenuous method of placing the counter on top of the city... you must have a wonderfully disturbance free playing area!!). Not an insurmountable problem, just annoying (IMHO)

B)"your" way allows for things like corps not being able to "fit" inside cities and therefore unable to control/capture said cities, and for irregular forces to "sneak" into "vacant" cities despite the presence of enemy field forces, and so on. Again you COULD play that way but it is nonsensical (IMHO) and many agree on that point :D

These are the "problems" that "my" way fixes. No special counter placement (beyond representing sieges) and no wierd nonsensical restrictions or allowances.
gdpsnake
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Kempner, TX

DENMARK!

Post by gdpsnake »

SOAPY said:

"I don't consider it a typo... the rule in no way permits a move INTO the city during the movement phase (that is an additonal inference you would have to make,; it is not explicitly stated), it merely makes a comment on it's cost, presumeably so that for other situations where corps are explicitly permitted to move into cities (retirement before combat and post combat/assault) the movement allowance status of the corps is not an issue.

If you DO want to read that rule assuming it permits you to move into cities, be aware that if you are using "double-duty" such a move is wholly unneccessary... probably why it is not EXPLICITLY stated that you can do so in the rule

VICE VERSA does not explicitly state one can move into a city!? Check your dictionary. The rule EXPLICITLY DOES SAY units can move into cities. Period.

Is the ''inference" any different than the inference that a unit can continue to move with "zero movement points" after consuming the last of it's movement allowance?

AND using "vice versa" makes the idea of double duty wholly unnecessary, especially the 7.3.3.3.1 and 7.3.3.3.2 statements. They become what they were meant to be, sub rules of 7.3.3.3 describing garrison factors IN A CITY.

ANYWAY, ON TO DENMARK!!!!!

The rules EXPLICITLY STATE:

CONTROLLED (FRIENDLY) CITY/PORT - A controlled city/port is any vacant city/port in that major power's territory, or any city/port in which that major power HAS FACTORS, whether beseiged or not.

CONTROLLED MINOR COUNTRY - A minor country which is either a minor free state or conquered minor country, CONTROLLED by a major power.

NEUTRAL MINOR COUNTRY - All minor countries NOT under the CONTROL of any of the major powers.

I see no English factors in Copenhagen THEREFORE Copenhagen is not controlled.
Copenhagen, the Capitol of DENMARK, is NOT controlled so DENMARK is not CONTROLLED.
No major power CONTROLS Denmark THEREFORE by definition Denmark is Neutral.

Just because you put a control marker (7.7 control markers are changed to show the conquest of minor countries AND their change of control) in Denmark when England Did control does not mean that in the next 7.7 phase, the control can't revert to neutral (the removal of a counter implies a change of control as well)

SO YES, If you don't garrison CONQUERED minor country capitols, you lose them.

Isn't it logical that a major power should have to make "some expenditure of resources" to MAINTAIN control of a conquered country and it's people? That expenditure is at least one factor to garrison the capitol.
Consider the Poles, they stubbornly fight to the bitter end no matter. Why wouldn't the Danes revolt without the English presence after time. Why wouldn't Austria stay neutral if the capitol was EVER occupied?
DUH, "When the cat's away......"

But I'm open to being convinced otherwise with EXPLICT RULES.
LOL!

SNAKE
gdpsnake
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Kempner, TX

Post by gdpsnake »

SORRY SOAPY,
You say:

A)"your" way requires that constant note be kept of whether corps/cossacks/guerillas are "in" or "out" of cities (and you say you do this by the tenuous method of placing the counter on top of the city... you must have a wonderfully disturbance free playing area!!). Not an insurmountable problem, just annoying (IMHO)

The rules EXPLICITLY SAY put the counters ON THE CITY! 7.3.3.3 GARRISON FACTORS ".....represented by the PLACEMENT OF GARRISON/STRENGTH COUNTERs of the appropriate strength and type ON the city OR depot concerned.

SO there never is a problem in games without a double duty rule. ALL COUNTERS ARE ALWAYS ON THE CITY SYMBOL (in the city-a garrison) ON THE MAP AREA (in the area) OR ON THE DEPOT (in the depot-a garrison).

YES, LOL! IT can be a problem for guys with fat fingers like Proctologists!!!! But that's true either way!!!!
Where do you put yours? NOT your fingers MAN!!! THE COUNTERS!!!! LOL!!!!!


ANOTHER REASON AGAINST DOUBLE DUTY. 7.3.3.3.2 a corps may form all or part..... What part is physically put ON the city to represent the garrison?! NO, clearly the rule was written with the idea the corps is already IN the city so it need not (it could!) detach factors to "PUT COUNTERS on the city" They are already there IN the corps IN the city!

SNAKE
soapyfrog
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 3:28 am

Re: DENMARK!

Post by soapyfrog »

Originally posted by gdpsnake
VICE VERSA does not explicitly state one can move into a city!? Check your dictionary. The rule EXPLICITLY DOES SAY units can move into cities. Period.

Yes it says they can... just not then, and not there. There it says that moving in or out expends no movement points, the rest of the rule explictly refers only to moving out of the city.
Is the ''inference" any different than the inference that a unit can continue to move with "zero movement points" after consuming the last of it's movement allowance?

Thats not an inference, it's a mathematical truism that a unit with zero movement points may execute any move or action that requires zero (or "no") movement point or movement point expenditure.

It's not even UP FOR DEBATE.
ANYWAY, ON TO DENMARK!!!!!

Ah yes the good stuff :D
CONTROLLED (FRIENDLY) CITY/PORT - A controlled city/port is any vacant city/port in that major power's territory, or any city/port in which that major power HAS FACTORS, whether beseiged or not.

Yes good this important... a vacant city in a Major Power's territory is controlled by that Major Power.
CONTROLLED MINOR COUNTRY - A minor country which is either a minor free state or conquered minor country, CONTROLLED by a major power.

Also an important definition.
NEUTRAL MINOR COUNTRY - All minor countries NOT under the CONTROL of any of the major powers.

Yep
I see no English factors in Copenhagen THEREFORE Copenhagen is not controlled.

However you missed one imortant definition, and that is what a Major Power's territory consists of:

MAJOR POWER - Home nation plus controlled minor countries plus provinces ceded to that home nation.

This means that a previously conquered minor country is part of a Major Power's territory and therefore it's capital is controlled despite being vacant (see the definition for CONTROLLED (FRIENDLY) CITY/PORT)

I hope this presents a convincing argument for you...
Zen Mechanic
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 10:01 pm

Post by Zen Mechanic »

ZEN,
You never answered me at least as I read your previous postings.

Can units move into cities during the movement phase?

SNAKE
I don't think it's necessary to answer this question for the purposes of how we play, and in fact, I think it's counter-productive. But, if you want, here's an interpretation which is consistent and states that the only way for a corps to enter a city is to be attacked and to retreat into the city. It's a bit long, and really, I think this will likely be my last word on the subject.

Don't forget, I'm not necessarily advocating this, I'm just going to make the strongest case for it that I can.
7.3.1 GENERAL LAND MOVEMENT RULES: Each land counter has a "movement allowance" consisting of a number of "movement points" that can be expended to enter new areas on the map.
First - it doesn't say "or cities" does it. It says "areas". So the first thing you read by the exclusio alterius rule of interpretation is that if they meant for you to enter cities, they would have said so. But let's read on.
7.3.1.1 MOVEMENT ALLOWANCES: With corps bearing a cavalry symbol (including Austrian light infantry), Austrian and Prussian freikorps and Russian cossacks the movement allowance is "5". For French corps (including French artillery) and French controlled minor free state corps having an infantry symbol and having their "3" movement allowance number in parenthesis the allowance is "4". All other corps have an allowance of "3". Spanish guerrillas have a movement allowance of one area (regardless of terrain).

7.3.1.2 FORCE MARCHING: Corps may increase their movement allowance by one movement point by "force marching". Cossacks, freikorps, guerillas, cavalry corps and disembarking corps may not be force marched.

7.3.1.3 LAND MOVEMENT COSTS: Each map area generally expends one movement point from a counter's movement allowance to enter, although this varies in some areas, as follows:

7.3.1.3.1 Marsh or Mountain: Areas containing a marsh or a mountain cost 2 movement points to enter.

7.3.1.3.2 Crossing Rivers: It costs an extra movement point to enter an area across a river, if that area contains an unbesieged enemy corps. There is no extra cost to move across a river if there is no unbesieged enemy corps counter(s) in the area.

7.3.1.3.3 Sea Crossing Arrow Movement: It always costs an extra movement point to use a crossing arrow. Corps, freikorps and/or cossacks may not use a crossing arrow if an enemy fleet occupies the surrounding sea area.

7.3.1.3.4 Cumulative Costs: These costs are all cumulative. For example, movement across a river into a mountain area containing an enemy corps costs one movement point to cross the river, plus two more movement points since it is a mountain area, for a total of three movement points of the counter's movement allowance expended.
All of these rules refer to "areas" also - not cities. Note that the crossing-rivers rule says that if there is an "unbeseiged corps counter in the area" it costs extra to move in. So this would seem to suggest that the only way a corps could be in a city would be for it to be besieged - because they have not stated what happens to the extra movement cost if there is an unbesieged corps in the city.

Also, since they used the term "unbesieged corps in the area, and since if you're only beseiged when in a city, any corps which is unbesieged must be in the area, not the city.
7.3.3 MOVING INTO CITIES-DETACHING/ABSORBING FACTORS-GARRISONS: During a major power's Land Movement Step, any non-artillery, non-feudal or non-insurrection corps may detach factors as garrisons at, or absorb army factors from, depots and/or unbesieged friendly or vacant cities by reducing or increasing its strength, if the capacity is there. There is no movement point cost for doing this.
Note that this rule explicitly is referring to "moving into cities". Note that it DOES NOT talk about corps moving into the cities, but only talks about DROPPING FACTORS into cities.

If it was possible to move into a city, they would have said so right here - in the MOVING INTO CITIES rule!

But they didn't. So you mustn't be able to move into cities with a corps.
7.3.4 MOVEMENT FROM CITIES: If a phasing major power has corps, cossacks, freikorps and/or guerillas inside a city which is not being besieged, they may be moved directly out of that city into the area surrounding the city and/or continue normal movement into adjacent areas (if permissible). Moving from a city into its area (or vice-versa) expends no movement points.
So now they talk about "movement from cities" - not movement TO cities, which is prohibited. How can this be? There must be some way to get into cities which is not covered by movement!, which we shall see occurs later, in the combat step.

If you read "not being besieged" as meaning "no longer being besieged" then this also makes more sense.

Note: here's where you rules-lawyers say "vice-versa" means to and from cities. Had they wanted to be clear, they could have put that in the EXPRESS "MOVING INTO CITIES" section, and not as an afterthought in the MOVING FROM CITIES section.

now add that to this rule:
7.5.1.1 DEFENDER RETIREMENT INTO CITY: Any forces or portion o 1f forces upon whom an attack is declared may immediately retire into any friendly controlled or vacant, and unbesieged city in that area but not so as to exceed that city's garrison capacity
So here's where you can move a corps into a city! Aha! All is clear now - you can only move into a city if you get attacked and run like a scared chicken into the city.

but then note:
7.3.7.1 ENEMY CORPS OR CITY GARRISON IN AREA: If during movement a corps moves into an area containing enemy corps not in a city, the corps must cease movement and declare an attack. If enemy corps and/or garrison factors are in a city the phasing corps may continue movement or stop movement and besiege (see 7.5.4) or not, as the owning player desires.
Well, this is also "clear" - the only way for a corps to move into a city is to have been besieged, as we've previously read, so this must be for when you are in the middle of a seige (some other corps of yours is beseiging an enemy corps or garrison in a city) you don't have to stop in the area.

SO....

So all the rules are written such that the only time a corps may enter a city is when it has been attacked, or has been beseiged. Immediately after a siege is lifted *poof*, the corps is in the area, not the city.

So Snake, after all this yibber-yabber, I think I can make a pretty convincing case that a corps is NOT ALLOWED to move into a city unless as a result of being attacked.

Does this make sense? Reality-wise, probably not, thus Double-duty. Game-wise? Yes - you don't have to mark where your counters ARE.

I reinforce this interpretation with the COMPLETE lack of information on HOW to indicate one way or another where your corps are UNLESS there is another enemy corps in the area.

That's how I interpreted the rules for many years, but I also admit that it may be possible to interpret them differently, but it's a bit of a stretch. Why not put a CLEAR rule in the MOVING INTO CITIES section? Why put it in an afterthought in a MOVING OUT OF CITIES section?

Of course, these rules are not legislation, and SHOULD NOT be read in that fashion - the words are sometimes used carelessly, and occasionally contradict one another. When reading them, use common sense, if possible, to provide a "good" answer rather than a "textually correct" answer.

ZM

p.s. thanks Baboune for the link to the rules, although I'm missing s. 16 to be able to refute the "minors revert to neutrality" argument that Snake says happens if the capital is unoccupied.

this just in:
[ 7.7 ] THE CONQUEST STEP: This step is performed after all major power sequences are completed. It can be performed any convenient order. Control flags are changed to show the conquest of minor countries and their change of control. The control flags are changed only if the capital of the minor country was occupied during the previous Turn and the conqueror has maintained uninterrupted and unbesieged occupation for the entire current Turn. A newly conquered minor country is always marked with a conquered control flag.
So you have to re-besiege to change control - they do not revert to neutrality except when:
4.6.6 LAPSE OF WAR WITH MINOR COUNTRIES: If, during any Peace Step prior to the conquest of a minor country, any invading major power has no corps within that minor country, then that major power is considered to be no longer at war with the minor country and must be at war with the major power controlling it before he can attack it again. Any garrisons, cossacks and/or freikorps are repatriated as per 4.4.6.2. NOTE: For multi-districtminor countries (see 10.4), this applies if a secondary district has been conquered and there are no invading major power corps within the rest of that minor country.
That's the only time a minor becomes neutral except for the instability phase stuff.

ZM
gdpsnake
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Kempner, TX

Post by gdpsnake »

SOAPY SAYS:

"However you missed one imortant definition, and that is what a Major Power's territory consists of:

MAJOR POWER - Home nation plus controlled minor countries plus provinces ceded to that home nation.

This means that a previously conquered minor country is part of a Major Power's territory and therefore it's capital is controlled despite being vacant (see the definition for CONTROLLED (FRIENDLY) CITY/PORT)

I hope this presents a convincing argument for you..."

Yes it does, Well Done! I wish the definition said Major Power Territory so I would have seen it while looking for a definition of territory.
Set-ups for scenarios never required garrisons because of 13.1.3 but 14.0 only had 14.1.4.1.1 through 4 so I always put out garrisons in the minors. Guess I won't HAVE to now.

I shall adjust my game play accordingly. Thank You!

SNAKE
soapyfrog
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 3:28 am

Post by soapyfrog »

Originally posted by gdpsnake
Yes it does, Well Done! I wish the definition said Major Power Territory so I would have seen it while looking for a definition of territory.
The rules are sloppy especially WRT termiology (and this paritcular definition is often missed... it has come up before in our groups) which I suspect is why we are butting heads so hard on "double-duty".
Chiteng
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2001 10:00 am
Location: Raleigh,nc,usa

Post by Chiteng »

When will it end?
“It is clear that the individual who persecutes a man, his brother, because he is not of the same opinion, is a monster.”

Voltaire

'For those with faith, no proof is needed. For those without faith, no proof is enough'

French Priest

"Statistic
soapyfrog
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 3:28 am

Post by soapyfrog »

Originally posted by Chiteng
When will it end?
When they release this darn game! :D
Chiteng
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2001 10:00 am
Location: Raleigh,nc,usa

Post by Chiteng »

You two make the Bismark thread look good.
It is obvious that GDP has lots of bizzare rule interpetations that none of the rest of us either share or WANT to share.

Its like is said, What good is a corp if it doesnt protect the city
in the area its in?

What is its purpose?

At some point you must realize that he isnt going to change his opinion and you end the argument.
“It is clear that the individual who persecutes a man, his brother, because he is not of the same opinion, is a monster.”

Voltaire

'For those with faith, no proof is needed. For those without faith, no proof is enough'

French Priest

"Statistic
gdpsnake
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Kempner, TX

Post by gdpsnake »

ZEN,

Let's realize the rules are not well written, almost like the playtesters made a lot of assumptions about what they thought was obvious. We can at least agree on that.

So let's not get picky and just look at 7.3.4, the last sentence, and read what it says again.

"MOVING FROM A CITY INTO THE AREA (OR VICE VERSA) EXPENDS NO MOVEMENT POINTS"

IMHO, the authors were aware that units can move into cities, as we all are.

The argument is whether they move in during the movement phase, the combat phase or both phases.

I say yes for both phases because the rule is in the MOVEMENT PHASE section of the rules format not the combat phase. The combat phase also has rules "moving" units about so to speak.
I say Yes because why would the rules need to state a movement allowance cost if they didn't refer to the movement phase.
I say yes because if units can be in cities, (A fact not disputed) what in the world prevents them from doing so in the movement phase?
I say yes because of 7.3.3.4 and the note about leader movement, also in the movement phase.

You say no, because the movement rules only mention areas so this vice versa refers to ONLY combat moves.
Do you have other "NO's" I don't mean to slight you here.

Remember, we aren't talking exclusively about corps. The question was ANY UNITS! So the correct answer means that NO units can move into the cities in the movement phase OR all units can. (We all agree detach/absorb is not on the table here, only units with movement allowance.)

Your argument also ALMOST REQUIRES a double duty interpretation while mine does not.

In my mind, both issues are closely related and no one has found a "smoking gun" to definitively answer.

So we agree to disagree for the above reasons. I can't "prove I'm definitively correct" any more than you can. Saying something is doesn't make it so. Back to the rules being sloppy (Heck, Harry did start writing them at age 13! LOL!)

As I mentioned in another post, I tracked down Rowland and Pinder so maybe they can shed some light if they choose to answer my mail or even remember what they wrote in 1983 LOL!

SNAKE
gdpsnake
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Kempner, TX

Post by gdpsnake »

CHITENG,

"It is obvious that GDP has lots of bizzare rule interpetations that none of the rest of us either share or WANT to share."

Am I the only one? I dont think so.

As to the rest of your statement:

Maybe I'm bizzare or maybe not, I'm looking to be convinced beyond a reasonable doubt as SOAPY/ZEN have done on some issues. Nothing wrong with that in my mind. I'm just Zealous about playtesting this game THE BEST I CAN and I want to hear EVERYTHING so I'll understand if/when I see it. Learning and playing, learning and playing....

As I could say the same of you, why don't we just keep the forum focused on the discussions and leave out such statements. Such a comment is beneath you , my friend.

EDIT: I would like to add that all of us should be committed to producing the finest possible computer version of this game for the customer who buys it. All the Snakes, Chitengs, Soapys, Zens, Capitaines, Reknoys and Ragnars out there. If we don't put forward our best efforts as a team to make this goal a reality, then we are performing a disservice to Ross and the folks at Matrix.
If we don't try to pick every possible brain for their interpretations (and I've listened carefully every time, believe me) and hunt for every possible chink in the armor then we could let "bugs" filter into the process and everyone hates buggy games RIGHT!? We all have our horror stories. Do we want this one to be one as well?
Believe me, if mine is the ONLY bizzare interpretation, it won't make it out the door. It's a TEAM effort and we all play a part in moulding the product even if just a customer.
So I don't see anything wrong with being stubborn. The ultimate tests of any game success are 1. PLAYABILITY and 2. FUN!
We should therfore be openminded about everyone's definition of how the game CAN/MIGHT be played.
AFTER ALL, MY way or YOUR way may both work well OR neither might work in the computer game but how will you know My way does/does not work or if YOUR way does or does not unless you know about BOTH ways and the COMPLETE rational behind them.
Double duty may be great for a board game but does it fly in a computer version and vice versa (LOL! Soryy I had to say it!) I've NEVER played, ever heard of double duty before so I want to know all about it and how folks think it works in the rules down to the last dotted I so I play it/test it in every possible situation in the time alloted along with every other interpretation.
It should all come out in the wash as far as Playabilty and FUN, should it not?
Soapy's double duty, I don't "see it" but I'm willing to try it on for size.
The movement rules Capitaine mentioned? I'm willing to use them and see....
Zen's TU corps, and all the rest.
They wouldn't even be on my radar if we weren't discussing them.

How about you?

SNAKE
Chiteng
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2001 10:00 am
Location: Raleigh,nc,usa

Post by Chiteng »

Originally posted by gdpsnake
CHITENG,

"It is obvious that GDP has lots of bizzare rule interpetations that none of the rest of us either share or WANT to share."

Am I the only one? I dont think so.

As to the rest of your statement:

Maybe I'm bizzare or maybe not, I'm looking to be convinced beyond a reasonable doubt as SOAPY/ZEN have done on some issues. Nothing wrong with that in my mind. I'm just Zealous about playtesting this game THE BEST I CAN and I want to hear EVERYTHING so I'll understand if/when I see it. Learning and playing, learning and playing....

As I could say the same of you, why don't we just keep the forum focused on the discussions and leave out such statements. Such a comment is beneath you , my friend.

EDIT: I would like to add that all of us should be committed to producing the finest possible computer version of this game for the customer who buys it. All the Snakes, Chitengs, Soapys, Zens, Capitaines, Reknoys and Ragnars out there. If we don't put forward our best efforts as a team to make this goal a reality, then we are performing a disservice to Ross and the folks at Matrix.
If we don't try to pick every possible brain for their interpretations (and I've listened carefully every time, believe me) and hunt for every possible chink in the armor then we could let "bugs" filter into the process and everyone hates buggy games RIGHT!? We all have our horror stories. Do we want this one to be one as well?
Believe me, if mine is the ONLY bizzare interpretation, it won't make it out the door. It's a TEAM effort and we all play a part in moulding the product even if just a customer.
So I don't see anything wrong with being stubborn. The ultimate tests of any game success are 1. PLAYABILITY and 2. FUN!
We should therfore be openminded about everyone's definition of how the game CAN/MIGHT be played.
AFTER ALL, MY way or YOUR way may both work well OR neither might work in the computer game but how will you know My way does/does not work or if YOUR way does or does not unless you know about BOTH ways and the COMPLETE rational behind them.
Double duty may be great for a board game but does it fly in a computer version and vice versa (LOL! Soryy I had to say it!) I've NEVER played, ever heard of double duty before so I want to know all about it and how folks think it works in the rules down to the last dotted I so I play it/test it in every possible situation in the time alloted along with every other interpretation.
It should all come out in the wash as far as Playabilty and FUN, should it not?
Soapy's double duty, I don't "see it" but I'm willing to try it on for size.
The movement rules Capitaine mentioned? I'm willing to use them and see....
Zen's TU corps, and all the rest.
They wouldn't even be on my radar if we weren't discussing them.

How about you?

SNAKE


I have repeatedly asked the same basic question and gotten no responce.

What good is a corp if it doesnt defend the city in the area that
it is deployed in?

On the scale of this game, you are saying that Nappy could
have simply walked around the Prussian Army in 1806 and occupied Dresden. I mean lets get real, each turn is ONE MONTH.

Of course the Corp covers the city in its area.

What you keep calling 'double duty' is a logical abstraction of
the game reality. The enemy IS able to react to your moves.

Aside from which your interpetation only effects Russia and Prussia.

I have a freind that loves this game except.....he will only play
England. He will not play if you use the corp command limits
and not if you use the 'Fleet slow down' rule.

Obviously this hands the game to England. His position is...
'those rules are not realistic'

But he is more than happy to use the Nappy degrades with age rule.

You cant please some people. In this example, he wants none
of the things that limit England, and all the things that limit other players. This type of player will lock up a game in rules disputes.


See the games I have seen show me that France is dominant
ALREADY. We dont need to assist them.
“It is clear that the individual who persecutes a man, his brother, because he is not of the same opinion, is a monster.”

Voltaire

'For those with faith, no proof is needed. For those without faith, no proof is enough'

French Priest

"Statistic
User avatar
denisonh
Posts: 2080
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 10:00 am
Location: Upstate SC

Post by denisonh »

Originally posted by Chiteng
When will it end?


Good question.:p
Image
"Life is tough, it's even tougher when you're stupid" -SGT John M. Stryker, USMC
User avatar
pfnognoff
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 9:53 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Post by pfnognoff »

What my group used to interpret this is as follows:

Corps (if permited by its size) can move inside the city during movement. If it does so, it remains inside for the duration of the current turn, and it can't stop the enemy passing through the same area. If it stays outside of the city it can stop the enemy, and during combat it can withdraw inside. Of course if it stays out it can't fire harbour guns.

When you argue this you should remember that the area in EiA is quite large, and the best defensive positions for the field battle are probably not close to the city (especially if the city is harbour because one would not like to fight the battle with the sea at his back). If you want to fight the field battle, and at the same time shoot at the enemy ships trying to sneak in the harbour, you can detach 1 factor to garison the city itself, while the rest stay out.

Branko
gdpsnake
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Kempner, TX

Post by gdpsnake »

Bless you for chiming in Pfnognoff.

This is pretty much the way I believe the game is played. Others disagree so.......

You have just stepped into the Twilight Zone! LOL!

SNAKE
User avatar
pfnognoff
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 9:53 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Post by pfnognoff »

Well, I had to take a chance :D

This type of discussion is what use to drive my group of EiA fanatics crazy. Every single loophole has a long history of different interpretations. Even Michael's EiH had long nighmare threads on the yahoo forum on all sorts of things.
I guess for PC version with all the things they will modify (like naval interceptions, insurection corps...) for the PBEM we will just wait and see the final release...
Post Reply

Return to “Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815”