
Picture taken at the end of turn, July/August 41.
Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets
Warspite1ORIGINAL: Orm
Here is the Murmansk front at zoom level 7 (out of 8). Finland has made 2 assaults on Murmansk and failed both.
Picture taken at the end of turn, July/August 41.
ORIGINAL: brian brian
how many units were 'new' and how many were from 'shatters' ?
ORIGINAL: peskpesk
Finally a break for the Russians…[;)] From what I have seen so far it seams as the 2D10 CRT ,fine weather and the Barbarossa setup rules is a killer for the USSR, roughly how many of the 20 units that must be setup within 2 hexes of the border survived the first turn?
For those unfamiliar with the Barbarossa scenario, the USSR must set up 10 Corps within 2 hexes of Rumania and another 10 Corps within 2 hexes of East Prussia/western Poland. Those 20 corps get hammered when Germany launches its surprise attack.ORIGINAL: peskpesk
Finally a break for the Russians…[;)] From what I have seen so far it seams as the 2D10 CRT ,fine weather and the Barbarossa setup rules is a killer for the USSR, roughly how many of the 20 units that must be setup within 2 hexes of the border survived the first turn?
Ohh Duh...I have read that book a hundred times....and this is the first time i saw that emboldened word, me thinks..A hex a railway supply path enters, by moving along a railway or road, does not count against the 4 hex limit.
ORIGINAL: paulderynck
But if a German unit were up there on loan to the Finns, it would be OOS in Rain or Storm.
ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: paulderynck
But if a German unit were up there on loan to the Finns, it would be OOS in Rain or Storm.
If it was where? If it was with the other stacks, no OOS either, am I right?
ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
I see, then it is because the germans would have to bring the supply through sea to Helsinki and this makes one more point, no?
A railway supply path can have non rail hexes (maximum 4 in fine weather). So Mannerheim can trace a railway supply path from where it is, through the road, then the rail, then the Baltic, then to a German Primary supply source.ORIGINAL: Orm
ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
I see, then it is because the germans would have to bring the supply through sea to Helsinki and this makes one more point, no?
No. For Finland Helsinki is a primary supply source and therefore the supply route from Mannerheim (HQ-I) to Helsinki is a railway supply path when drawing supply to Finnish units.
But for Germany Helsinki is a secondary supply source and then Mannerheim is only allowed to draw a basic supply path to Helsinki, and Helsinki is obviously more than 4 hexes away (modified for weather). Mannerheim need to draw a railway supply path to a primary supply source for the German units as well and then the supply path must go overseas to a German city and then the German port that the overseas path enters counts as one hex.
ORIGINAL: Froonp
A railway supply path can have non rail hexes (maximum 4 in fine weather). So Mannerheim can trace a railway supply path from where it is, through the road, then the rail, then the Baltic, then to a German Primary supply source.
The only difference as to the railway supply path that he traces for a Finnish unit, is 1 'extra hex' to cross the Baltic.
On the screenshot of post #83, Mannerheim is 2 hexes from the road, so he can trace a railway supply path to a primary supply source in Germany. He'd have 3 non rail hexes in his path, 2 of them to reach the road, and a 3rd to cross the Baltic.