JTCS Unit Checker
Moderator: Jason Petho
JTCS Unit Checker
Hi,
I made a tool that should help developers keep integrity of game platoons.
It checks platoons OOB files and look if there is a proper syntax, then check unit description in unittext.txt and weapon values in weapon.pdt files.
Additionaly, there are two checks for unit's 3D icon file - if file exists and it is in proper (BMP) format
Finally there are two checks for unit's 3D icon outline file (.bit) - if file exists and for proper format again (files should be BMP files with different extension).
Download - http://arkady.cz/storage/JTCSUnitChecker.zip
It is command line utility. Results are stored in JTCSUnitCheck_report.txt file.
Without parameters it checks all nations in all three games.
UPDATE
You can specify following parameters:
-p <path> for path to game main directory
-n <number> nation number to check only this nation
-g EF,WF,RS switch to check only specified game(s)
-s skip check for unittext.txt entry
-? or -h for this help
Example:
JTCSUnitChecker.exe -p "d:\release candidate 1.04\JTCS"
- for specify different path to game direcotry, without parameter, program looks in registry for installation path
JTCSUnitChecker.exe -g WF,RS
- for check West Front and Rising Sun only
JTCSUnitChecker.exe -n 10 -g WF
- for check nation #10 (United States) in West Front
Please report any problems with utility or false positives.
For 1.04 bug free! ...platoons at least [:)]
Arkady
I made a tool that should help developers keep integrity of game platoons.
It checks platoons OOB files and look if there is a proper syntax, then check unit description in unittext.txt and weapon values in weapon.pdt files.
Additionaly, there are two checks for unit's 3D icon file - if file exists and it is in proper (BMP) format
Finally there are two checks for unit's 3D icon outline file (.bit) - if file exists and for proper format again (files should be BMP files with different extension).
Download - http://arkady.cz/storage/JTCSUnitChecker.zip
It is command line utility. Results are stored in JTCSUnitCheck_report.txt file.
Without parameters it checks all nations in all three games.
UPDATE
You can specify following parameters:
-p <path> for path to game main directory
-n <number> nation number to check only this nation
-g EF,WF,RS switch to check only specified game(s)
-s skip check for unittext.txt entry
-? or -h for this help
Example:
JTCSUnitChecker.exe -p "d:\release candidate 1.04\JTCS"
- for specify different path to game direcotry, without parameter, program looks in registry for installation path
JTCSUnitChecker.exe -g WF,RS
- for check West Front and Rising Sun only
JTCSUnitChecker.exe -n 10 -g WF
- for check nation #10 (United States) in West Front
Please report any problems with utility or false positives.
For 1.04 bug free! ...platoons at least [:)]
Arkady

- Jason Petho
- Posts: 17396
- Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:31 am
- Location: Terrace, BC, Canada
- Contact:
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
Fantastic
I will install this tonight when I get home from work!
Thank you!
Jason Petho
I will install this tonight when I get home from work!
Thank you!
Jason Petho
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
Arkady,
VERY NICE!! I ran it and the results are just phenomenal!! This makes checking the plt oob's a cinch, can't say enough, well done.[&o]
Mike
VERY NICE!! I ran it and the results are just phenomenal!! This makes checking the plt oob's a cinch, can't say enough, well done.[&o]
Mike
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
Wow great work,did you see all the mistakes unreal.
- Attachments
-
- JTCSUnitCheck_report.txt
- (59.6 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
- Jason Petho
- Posts: 17396
- Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:31 am
- Location: Terrace, BC, Canada
- Contact:
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
Considering there are thousands of units with duplicate entries for some of the errors, it's not that bad.
Jason Petho
Jason Petho
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
ORIGINAL: Jason Petho
Considering there are thousands of units with duplicate entries for some of the errors, it's not that bad.
Jason Petho


- Jason Petho
- Posts: 17396
- Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:31 am
- Location: Terrace, BC, Canada
- Contact:
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
R.E.LEE
Happy to hear they helped out.
I have been slowly putting together an additional strategy guide. Of course, with everything else on my plate, these things take time.
..........................
Arkady
What does this mean? I am having difficulty figuring out what the error is. I am looking at the lines (which are Talonsoft units) and can't seem to place the error.
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 372, position 124!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 373, position 123!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 374, position 130!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 375, position 132!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 376, position 132!
Jason Petho
Happy to hear they helped out.
I have been slowly putting together an additional strategy guide. Of course, with everything else on my plate, these things take time.
..........................
Arkady
What does this mean? I am having difficulty figuring out what the error is. I am looking at the lines (which are Talonsoft units) and can't seem to place the error.
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 372, position 124!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 373, position 123!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 374, position 130!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 375, position 132!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 376, position 132!
Jason Petho
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
Jason those must be the russian Gaurd sheep that took out my panzers.ORIGINAL: Jason Petho
R.E.LEE
Happy to hear they helped out.
I have been slowly putting together an additional strategy guide. Of course, with everything else on my plate, these things take time.
..........................
Arkady
What does this mean? I am having difficulty figuring out what the error is. I am looking at the lines (which are Talonsoft units) and can't seem to place the error.
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 372, position 124!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 373, position 123!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 374, position 130!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 375, position 132!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 376, position 132!
Jason Petho
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
ORIGINAL: R.E.LEE
Wow great work,did you see all the mistakes unreal.
Actually, the biggest majority of the error messages are the missing unit text descriptions. I would imagine those are a low priority, especially considering how much time each one would take and the fact that they really have no impact on the game. [:)] Personally I would rather see Jason & Co. working on things that DO effect gameplay, but maybe that's just me. [;)]
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
You mean like the Gaurds Sheep [:D]ORIGINAL: cw58
ORIGINAL: R.E.LEE
Wow great work,did you see all the mistakes unreal.
Actually, the biggest majority of the error messages are the missing unit text descriptions. I would imagine those are a low priority, especially considering how much time each one would take and the fact that they really have no impact on the game. [:)] Personally I would rather see Jason & Co. working on things that DO effect gameplay, but maybe that's just me. [;)]
- marcbarker
- Posts: 1213
- Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:58 pm
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
Baaaaaski Baaaaaaskiiii Baaaaaaaaaa
games:
1. AGEOD Blue and Gray
2. John Tiller's Battleground Series
3. Combat Mission: Beyond Overlord
4. Combat Mission: Barbarossa to Berlin
5. V for Victory Games
6. Silent Hunter III
7. Silent Hunter IV
8. Rise and Fall of the Third Re
1. AGEOD Blue and Gray
2. John Tiller's Battleground Series
3. Combat Mission: Beyond Overlord
4. Combat Mission: Barbarossa to Berlin
5. V for Victory Games
6. Silent Hunter III
7. Silent Hunter IV
8. Rise and Fall of the Third Re
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
ORIGINAL: R.E.LEE
You mean like the Gaurds Sheep [:D]
LOL... Exactly.
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
ORIGINAL: Jason Petho
R.E.LEE
Happy to hear they helped out.
I have been slowly putting together an additional strategy guide. Of course, with everything else on my plate, these things take time.
..........................
Arkady
What does this mean? I am having difficulty figuring out what the error is. I am looking at the lines (which are Talonsoft units) and can't seem to place the error.
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 372, position 124!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 373, position 123!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 374, position 130!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 375, position 132!
Error in file platoon00.oob on line 376, position 132!
Jason Petho
it was hard
platoon entry in OOB file is OK
I spent hour with debuging and I found the problem...on my side...
For graphic files I check if they exists, all errors outside this checks was assumed as problem with platoon file.
In this case,line in platoon file is read correctly (thus position on end of line) but problem occur when opening op00206.bit file.
This file exist...my safe check succeded, but file is Read-Only...I don't know if this is bug or work as designed in C# but when I read FileStream with FileMode.Open, fiel must not be read-only...
this .bit file is without read-only flag in East Front and Rising Sun
deselect read-only attribute from file and it is OK
I'll update my utility ASAP

RE: JTCS Unit Checker
Another class utility from House Of Arkady.
One small thing : How do I input paramaters ? When I start the app it automaticaly starts going through the process of checking the files. How can I stop this so I can enter paramaters e.g. JTCSUnitChecker.exe -n 10 -g WF
One small thing : How do I input paramaters ? When I start the app it automaticaly starts going through the process of checking the files. How can I stop this so I can enter paramaters e.g. JTCSUnitChecker.exe -n 10 -g WF
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
three options
brief explanations:
1. create shortcut on this utility, then in preferences you can add parameters
2. create batch file and put parameters there
3. run this utility in command line
-------
full explanation (writing this cause delay in fixing the utility...[;)] )
1. steps
- right-click JTCSUnitChecker.exe and select Create Shortcut
- right-click shortcut and select Properties
- edit Target textbox, put parameters behind quotes
- hit OK and run the shortcut
2. steps
- open notepad
- type JTCSUnitChecker.exe -n 10 -g WF (or paramaters of your choice)
- Save file, change file type (second row) to All Files, write some easy filename with .bat extension(!) - for example US_WF_Check.bat -> file must be saved in same direcotry as my utility, otherwise you need specify full path to exe file enclosed in quotes and put paramaters behind it
- run .bat file
3. steps
- click "Start" - "Run"
- type cmd and hit <enter>
- navigate with dos commands to utility's directory (basic commands are 'cd ..' - move to parent direcotry, 'cd \' - move to root directory of the disk, 'cd d:' - move to other disk, 'cd <directory name>' - move to specified directory, 'dir' - shows content of current directory, 'dir /A:D' - show only sub-folders in current directory, all command without quotes of course
- when you are in direcotry with utility, type JTCSUnitChecker.exe -n 10 -g WF and hit <enter>
brief explanations:
1. create shortcut on this utility, then in preferences you can add parameters
2. create batch file and put parameters there
3. run this utility in command line
-------
full explanation (writing this cause delay in fixing the utility...[;)] )
1. steps
- right-click JTCSUnitChecker.exe and select Create Shortcut
- right-click shortcut and select Properties
- edit Target textbox, put parameters behind quotes
- hit OK and run the shortcut
2. steps
- open notepad
- type JTCSUnitChecker.exe -n 10 -g WF (or paramaters of your choice)
- Save file, change file type (second row) to All Files, write some easy filename with .bat extension(!) - for example US_WF_Check.bat -> file must be saved in same direcotry as my utility, otherwise you need specify full path to exe file enclosed in quotes and put paramaters behind it
- run .bat file
3. steps
- click "Start" - "Run"
- type cmd and hit <enter>
- navigate with dos commands to utility's directory (basic commands are 'cd ..' - move to parent direcotry, 'cd \' - move to root directory of the disk, 'cd d:' - move to other disk, 'cd <directory name>' - move to specified directory, 'dir' - shows content of current directory, 'dir /A:D' - show only sub-folders in current directory, all command without quotes of course
- when you are in direcotry with utility, type JTCSUnitChecker.exe -n 10 -g WF and hit <enter>

RE: JTCS Unit Checker
Being allergic to Dos I tried the first method and it works a treat. Now, I want that fixed utility on my desk by ..... !!! [:D]
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
ok, utility fixed
as a bonus, new switch available
-s
skip all checks for unit description in unittext.txt
http://arkady.cz/storage/JTCSUnitChecker.zip
as a bonus, new switch available
-s
skip all checks for unit description in unittext.txt
http://arkady.cz/storage/JTCSUnitChecker.zip

RE: JTCS Unit Checker
Jason, I found that size of some platoon.oob and platoon.obx differ (and it should be same), after some investigation I found that some units stated in unencrypted OOB file are missing in encrypted OBX file that is used by the game...
Files should be checked before next patch release [:)]
Files should be checked before next patch release [:)]

- Jason Petho
- Posts: 17396
- Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:31 am
- Location: Terrace, BC, Canada
- Contact:
RE: JTCS Unit Checker
Will do.
Thanks muchly!!
Jason Petho
Thanks muchly!!
Jason Petho