Originally posted by gdpsnake
Soapy,
The rule 7.3.4, last line, clearly says "Movement from a city into its area (or vice-versa) costs no movement points. The units mentioned are CORPS, cossacks, friedcorps, and guerillas.
VICE-VERSA MEANS the opposite!!!! What other possible intrepretation could it mean!?
So it means movement from the area into its city!!!!!!!
MOVEMENT not COMBAT and it costs zero movement points. Movement points (even zero) are only expended in the movement phase - never combat! Plus the rule is a MOVEMENT RULE. Why would the writers put that here if they meant that corps could only enter a city as a result/during the combat phase?
It all makes sense and doesn't add any headache:
Zero movement is used for detaching/absorbing so whether the corps is in or out of the city makes no difference in game terms because the city would be friendly anyway to detach/absorb.
A city in an area containing only your corps is controlled in game terms because you moved into it without cost since no one else is there - visit the brothels perhaps?! (no need to state the fact of ownership, it's obvious in game terms. Also TU corps can control cities but can't drop off factors.)
Also, in game terms, no one can slip into your city by land or sea if you have a corps in the area regardless of any city garrison because they debark/move into the area and must cease all movement and declare an attack. If you only have units other than corps in the area and no garrison, then the attacker could move right into the city because they don't have to stop!
That's the whole point of garrisons - garrison wisely as was the case of the time period or lose your cities.
Ragnar, you are incorrect on the rule 7.3.3 section on detaching/absorbing. The rule DOES state it costs zero movement points to perform this action. Movement points are expended ONLY during the movement phase (even zero). In game terms, though, you are correct since it costs zero movement points you simply 'reapportion' your factors between units outside and inside DURING YOUR MOVEMENT PHASE of course.
Ragnar, I agree an ungarrison city belongs to whoever has the uncontested corps in the area.
As for your example (cossaks in spain!?) I assume the area was ceded and neither Spain, Russia or Austria had a land phase move since the ceding because if they did and any were at war with France then whoever moved last of the three (and who was at war) has control of the port/area now. (Corps don't stop movement for guerillas or cossacks and they don't stop for corps so anyone could enter the city for zero movement without having to decalre combat. If not and it's still a French ceded provence - this is the naval phase so the TU fleet only needs French permission. Although, the following land phase could change everything.
SO yes, of course, there are times when players must know who controls a city but it's always pretty easy to track in my opinion.
I think 7.3.4 is the smoking gun in my opinion on the issue of whether units, specifically corps, are IN or OUT of a city and not both. It never makes a difference unless there are opposing forces involved anyway.
Chiteng,
The original question basically concerned: "Are corps IN or OUT of cities at the end of one's move. Some believe they can do "double duty" and be both. Others, like me, say at the end of your move, your corps are either IN or OUT of the city (delineated by being in the area OR on top of the city picture[perhaps a problem for guys with thick fingers - main requirement to be a proctologist....]) and not both. After all, one mustn't stop if enemy corps are IN a city 7.3.7.1 and this movement rule says nothing about whether they are already besieged or not. In fact, it says the player could now beseige the corps in the city (implying it may not already be under seige) or move as the player chooses!
I believe this originated the discussion especially as it concerned being able to operate ones port defenses. Some say the corps in the area is sufficient while others, like me, say you either garrison the city or suffer the lack of guns - a corps in an area is not sufficient to "man the guns' so to speak. The discussion revolved around 7.3.3.3 and it's parts. I say that 7.3.3.3.2 simply says a corps can be all or part of a garrison if it's in the city so one need not detach factors. (A bad deal for TU feudal corps that would not be able to detach or corps with guards because guards would have to become regular infantry. This rule allows for those types of corps to garrison BUT they still have to be IN THE CITY! Otherwise, 7.3.3.3.1 would allow 'double duty' for cossacks, guerillas and friedcorps too! See the previous posts for the full accounts of both arguments.
But heck, it's still only opinion. We need more folks to chime in. See how many 'hanging chads' we get!
SNAKE
Seems to me the common usage is that a corp in the area protects the city. When an enemy corp moves into the area
you must decide at that time where you will be, either the city
or the area.
Of course that is FTF. I can see in a computer game that it isnt
quite so easily decided.