Replies to valid counterpoints
Reknoy says... The rule could read,
"During a major power's Land Movement Step, any non-artillery, non-feudal or non-insurrection corps may, during its respective movement, detach factors as garrisons at, or..."
But it doesn't say that.
I agree 100% that corps move individually. This doesn't equate to treating each corps as an island. They act in unison at times and conduct supply (such as forage rolls) in concert (at least, accounting for each other in the process).
Okay, once again, the
basic "Land Movement Procedures" (7.3.2 and all subsections thereof) state that "each counter is moved
individually" and also state explicitly
when each counter's movement is deemed to "end", as a matter of "land movement". "End" or "cease" refers to all actions deemed to be "land movement" under the rules. Matters NOT deemed "land movement" or carved out by special exception (retirement into city during enemy combat phase, e.g.) are different matters entirely. Land movement is land movement, not a "move option" that is part of combat or another phase of the game.
As for
not saying "during its respective movement", why should it be redundant? General "land movement" was set forth and described in 7.3.2, and as part of 7.3 ("Land Movement Step"), 7.3.3 ("Moving into Cities etc.") simply describes another activity which may be done during a counter's "land movement", consistently with the immediately preceding section 7.3.2.
Now, your foraging issue is simply off base on the movement issue. Foraging comes under section 7.4 "The Supply Step" and is not a part of the "Land Movement Step". Hence, whatever foraging is done is outside of the rules pertaining to "land movement"
per se (7.3 vs. 7.4; technically the supply step, but occurs after the end of the move of each individually moved corps).
In fact, 7.4.1 states that foraging may be elected "
when a corps (not two or more) ceases movement", clearly referencing the rule on "ceasing movement" in 7.3.2. Also, 7.4.1.1 states that the foraging roll is made
"for each foraging corps as it completes movement (clearly indicating that forage is done for each corps individually, per 7.3.2, after it concludes its move; NOT in conjunction with other corps. It is done sequentially. Please tell me what rule provides that multiple corps "act in unison" on their forage rolls?
Under the rules as set forth above, why can't you have five corps meeting in an area and shuffling their respective infantry around -- particularly if it's in the middle of the "Land Movement Step"?
Simply because that is NOT how the rules set forth the play of the game. That activity (shuffling factors among corps in the same area) may only be done in 5.0, "The Reinforcement Phase". See rule 5.2.3. If corps could do this any time in their land movement phase, rule 5.2.3 would be superfluous AND there would also be a need for a similar rule in 7.3 ("Land Movement Step") to make that a valid "movement option. You may not, however, transfer directly among corps in the same area in the movement phase. (N.B. however that you could accomplish that to a lesser degree through the aforesaid "detachment" rules, where one corps validly detaches factors to a city in the area, and another corps moving afterward absorbs them legally under the movement rules).
Ragnar says... However, I find it strange that you would not be able to detach under these circumstances while you _would_ be able to detach after you've defeated an enemy depot garrison in that area (7.5.1.3). I'm not saying this invalidates your interpretation, just that I'm a bit sceptical because of it.
Ragnar, like others, you're mixing up the "Land Movement Step" (7.3) with the "Land Combat Step" (7.5) which is faulty rules construction. Movement
qua movement is determined solely pursuant to 7.3. Other "moves" permitted in the game are special situations applicable to other game phases, such as the "retirement into city" rule (7.5.1.1). The moves into cities described in 7.5.1.3 are ordained
by virtue of that rule and
not by virtue of the land movement restraints imposed under 7.3. Without 7.5.1.3, you would NOT be able to make that "move" during the combat step. There is no need for consistency between 7.3 and 7.5 since they are unrelated conceptually.