My point exactly, 7.3.3.3.2 does not say any part of the corps is "split up", it merely states that the "army factors in such corps could also be a garrison"Originally posted by soapyfrog
What do you mean divisible? Do you mean in terms of my interpretation of 7.3.3.3.2? I mean 7.3.3.3.2 IS the rule that "allows" it, inasmuch as it is not a "division" of the corps more an explanation of it's capabilities.
IMO, since indeed 7.3.3.3.2 does not mention the location of the corps, you are able to argue that it might not need to be inside the city, but could be outside instead. However, I don't see any reference in 7.3.3.3.2 that would apply to only part of the corps. And I don't see any need for it either, since if any part of the corps can be both in and outside the city, all of it can. So IMO, your idea that a corps can be split up is *yet another* spin on 7.3.3.3.2 that you'll have to point me towards very clearly, for I don't see it.
Ok, fine. So now we'd need at least one additional statement or rather non-statement per corps in any city area. IMO this will not be on rare occasions, for it is quite common to have a corps outside a neutral-controlled city (which it could be garrisoning but might not be), but I don't think it affects our discussion.Originally posted by soapyfrog
Bad... so unless otherwise stated you give control of the city to the corps in the area in the absence of a specific garrison.
Incorrect. The forces in question are required to leave before a field conflict occurs. Please read 7.3.8.2-7.3.8.4 again. The declaration of a siege is NOT an attack by any stretch of the rules, so no forces would be required to leave.Originally posted by soapyfrog
Er... whatever, point being, the forces in question are required to leave before a conflict occurs.
And even if they where, rule 10.3.3. would still take effect on forces that are garrisoning the city. The surrender is upon announcement, which is made during movement, so by the time 7.3.8.4(leaving the area) comes along, any garrisoning forces have already been obliged to surrender per rule 10.3.3.
So you claim it is a garrison for all purposes that benefit you, but none of the purposes that inconvenience you? Please show where 7.3.3.3.2 states that such corps are a garrison only for certain purposes and not others. I don't see it.Originally posted by soapyfrog
The corps counter is by NO definition a "garrison" (and therefore a "field force"). It is only permitted to ACT AS a garrison by the provisions of 7.3.3.3.2.
Originally posted by soapyfrog
The ability of a corps to act as a garrison regardless of it's position in or out of the city inherently gives it the ability to do all the things a garrison can do and yet still be considered "outside" the city for all other purposes required by the rules. My holy grail is 7.3.3.3.2!! [/B]
Let me re-iterate your reading of 7.3.3.3.2 sofar:
Corps are considered garrions of a city in their area unless announced otherwise for any purpose, but not those of all kinds of nasty side-effects like getting besieged and blockaded and what not..
Now, what is to stop anyone from resoning the following:
Corps are considered garrions of a city in their area unless announced otherwise for the purpose of of gettting besieged and blockaded, but not for any other like controlling the city or firing the port guns and the like.
Please show me how 7.3.3.3.2 (or any other rule) makes your reading more "true" to the rules than the other I just gave. You don't have to quote me the entire rulebook, just give me the portion that makes up your mind about these specific matters.
If a corps pulling double duty is considered a garrison for some, but not for other purposes, you have to show me a rule that distinguishes these "considered garrisons" from "actual garrisons" in that respect. You can't create the difference by sheer force of will.
To me it's not a matter that 7.3.3.3.2 is open to interpretation (for I agree it is) it's that IMO your interpretation is internally inconsistent.