New to the game - Basic Questions

A sub-forum for players new to WIF, containing information on how to get started and become an experienced player.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30056
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Ok, appreciate it guys. I knew I came to the right place!
Ronnie
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31014
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

How does the Hungarian INF east of Stalino get supply? No HQ it can use is nearby, and I see no overseas supply route it may use.
1313.jpg
1313.jpg (1.12 MiB) Viewed 314 times
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8489
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

A supply route to primary can use RR supply. The unit is on a coast and the Black Sea has a CP. I think it can trace overseas to a port for 1 and then along a RR to Hungary or Germany, with two to spare to get around interrupted RR hexes if need be. (Looks like the unit is in a zone with snow.)
Paul
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3039
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

There is a small strip of coast. It can trace overseas.

Wait, it is Snow and the port is frozen...

But in the coast it gets supply always. The question would be why the 7-4 unit downstairs cant trace
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31014
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

The Hungarian unit is on a coast and it can use the CP in the Black Sea, but it can not use a railway path since it is not a secondary supply source. Thus it has three hexes to reach a supply source in winter. I see no supply source. As there are no HQ close it should be a city and I can think of no city within reach that would supply an Hungarian unit.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8489
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

paulderynck wrote: Wed Aug 20, 2025 6:55 pm A supply route to primary can use RR supply. The unit is on a coast and the Black Sea has a CP. I think it can trace overseas to a port for 1 and then along a RR to Hungary or Germany, with two to spare to get around interrupted RR hexes if need be. (Looks like the unit is in a zone with snow.)
On second thought, I was incorrect. RR paths must originate at a secondary source. Sorry about this brain fart.

Unless the unit can trace a basic path to an HQ that is not in the picture, say one hex to a port than two more hexes to a cooperating HQ, it should be OoS. So, yeah, the only way the Hungarian unit is in and the 7-4 (in rain) could be out would be a hypothetical, unseen HQ that is one hex away from a port on the Black Sea.
Paul
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3039
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Well I learnt a bit more with Orm today. Since most of these cases happen to me in the Med and there there is very frequently a friendly HQ seas away, they only need to trace till Italy, or Greece if conquered, etc..

Didnt know that in this case of Overseas needed to trace with a Basic Supply Path after the maritime part.

However, the 7-4 GE unit IMO should be able to trace, since they collaborate with Romania and Bucharest (secondary) is only 2 hexes away from the sea. Wouldnt it?
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31014
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

Joseignacio wrote: Wed Aug 20, 2025 11:16 pm
However, the 7-4 GE unit IMO should be able to trace, since they collaborate with Romania and Bucharest (secondary) is only 2 hexes away from the sea. Wouldnt it?
The 7-4 INF in Batum is able to trace supply to Bucharest in fine weather, or snow. In weather with only two hexes supply it is OOS. In the previous picture it was located in rain.

This because it is three hexes to Bucharest. The port Constanta is counted as the first hex.
1316.jpg
1316.jpg (1.31 MiB) Viewed 246 times
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3039
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Yes, thanks, due to the size of the image (zoom) I thought it was Snow as well.
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3039
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

My mate and I were playing Netplay, and I believe the calculations for the combat were not done correctly, I would like confirmation, in order to edit the results if I am right.

I got 10 points invading, and (I didnt realise the frigging rain) the notional was worth 3 instead of 1 because of this. He sent a naval with 1 factor of ground support, in a rain hex.

The program calculates 10:4 (6 for the invading units +4 from BBs) this is +5
IMO it would be 10:3.5, which would be + 5.71

With the modifyers it would be +3 , I say +3.71 and a roll for the .71

And so, the following totals would have been affected. The rounding is there, 3.5 to 4 or is it later?

I enclose the text of the rule
Option 41: (Fractional odds) Round to a whole number in favor of the defender, then work out how far to the next odds ratio you are. Round this in favor of the defender to the next 10%.
Roll a die just before rolling the combat die (you could roll it with the combat die if you want), to see if you find the result on the lower odds or the higher odds. If you roll the percentage or less, you resolve it on the next higher odds, otherwise on the lower odds
What is what you round up as the rule says: The ratio 10/3.5 or the defender value, so 10/4?

Captura de pantalla 2025-09-06 223004.png
Captura de pantalla 2025-09-06 223004.png (1.37 MiB) Viewed 147 times
Captura de pantalla 2025-09-06 211602.png
Captura de pantalla 2025-09-06 211602.png (991.61 KiB) Viewed 147 times
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8489
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

I think for RAW8 it was changed to say all fractions are retained but as this is written in RAW7 it looks like 10 vs 4
Paul
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31014
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

Joseignacio wrote: Sat Sep 06, 2025 8:37 pm
The program calculates 10:4 (6 for the invading units +4 from BBs) this is +5
IMO it would be 10:3.5, which would be + 5.71
The program is right. The odds is only calculated by rounded whole numbers. The fractional odds are then calculated from that (modified by rounding) odds. Cut in below is another rule that supports this.

2.6 Fractions
These rules frequently require a calculation that produces a fraction. When necessary, fractions are rounded
to the nearest whole number, by rounding halves up.

Example: Germany has 21 production points. Her production multiple is 1.25, so she has 26.25 build points.
This rounds to 26 points. Next year her production multiple increases to 1.5, so she has 31.5 build points. This
rounds to 32.
Rounding a negative number up moves you closer to zero. For example, if the fraction is -1.5, it rounds up to
-1.
Round off a number immediately before:
• calculating an odds ratio; or

• looking the number up in a table; or
• comparing it to a dice roll or to a fixed value; or
• spending oil (see 13.5.1) or build points.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3039
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Thank both. This was treated otherwise in WIFCE but not here. OK
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3039
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

In the basic rules it is stated that
If at least half of your attacking land units are MTN, ski troops (AsA option 65), Swedish, Finnish, Norwegian, or white print Soviet units, you may lessen the odds reduction in snow or blizzard by 2 (i.e. snow has no effect and blizzard becomes a -1 odds shift). If you use this power, your first loss must be from one of these units (exception: MiF
option 7 ~ engineers, see 22.4.1). These units provide no benefit in rain or storm.
I took it from RAW, I understand this is the same in RAC

You lessen the adverse effects of climate in Snow or Blizzard. But you dont get a bonus per unit.

However, in the 2d10 table included in the game it works differently, you just get a +1 per winterized unit in these climates.

There is no need that half of the units are winterized, nor it seems that the number of bonuses is limited by the climate penalty.

First I would like to confirm this.

Second, I dont understand the image below:
Captura de pantalla 2025-09-16 012101.png
Captura de pantalla 2025-09-16 012101.png (230.44 KiB) Viewed 31 times
I am using an O-Chit, to duplicate 6 units, including the ones at lake Ladoga (2 corps and one div), to reverse the effect of the lake hexside (halve, like a river).

So I guess I have 4 winter bonuses, 2 because of the corps attacking from Finland by land and 2 because of the ones attacking , plus 0.5/2 of the division crossing lake hexside for a total of 4.25. Or 4.5 if I duplicate the div as well.

Against me I have a -2 malus because of the USSR white print. So I have a net +2.25 which I do not see in the image. So I understand that it is deducted from the climate penalty, but there I only get a -1.5, from -4 to -2.5.

Assuming the winter bonus and malus of each side and climate compensate, I should have -1.75 or -1.5, not -2.5.

Dont understand why, can someone explain?

OTOH there is a -2.5 from the city, but I dont understand that either, because I am attacking with an HQ and that should mean the city is not counted, it should be just the factories, for a -2. The only reason that I can imagine is because the effect of the HQ is divided by 2, which doesnt happen with the HQ support bonus. And IIRW in my tests it wasnt affected anyway if I decided to duplicate the HQ with the OChit.

So I dont understand that either
Post Reply

Return to “WIF School”