New to the game - Basic Questions

A sub-forum for players new to WIF, containing information on how to get started and become an experienced player.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:

(1) Game #?

(2) Next Entry #?

FYI. Game # is almost 190 million & next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.

Image
Attachments
999Question.jpg
999Question.jpg (88.04 KiB) Viewed 553 times
Ronnie
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:

(1) Game #?

(2) Next Entry #?

FYI. Game # is almost 190 million & next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.

Image

One less digit. About 14,7 million [:'(]
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:

(1) Game #?

(2) Next Entry #?

FYI. Game # is almost 190 million & next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.

Image

One less digit. About 14,7 million [:'(]
Older eyes I'm afraid ... [8D]

Nice catch by the way. Shows you're paying attention. [&o]
Ronnie
Shannon V. OKeets
Posts: 22165
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Contact:

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Shannon V. OKeets »

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Does anyone know what the following numbers mean:

(1) Game #?

(2) Next Entry #?

FYI. Game # is almost 190 million & next entry # over 147 million. I'm just curious what these numbers mean.

Image
The program generates a random number at the start of every game. Hopefully with all the digits, it is a uniquely random number.

Every time the program does something that changes the "game state", it increments the Next Entry Number. Sometimes it is something that it is doing in the background, like moving units into the Force Pool, Future Force Pool, etc.

The background tasks are not sent to the other player in a NetPlay game. But all other changes generate a Game Record Log (GRL) which includes the Next Entry Number - before it is incremented. Those GRLs are sent over the internet by the program using the Private NetPlay Server.

When restoring a NetPlay game the program checks that both players are restoring the same game (the game numbers match) at the same place in the game (the Next Entry Numbers match).
Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

I need some help from you rules expert on understanding the ability to oil (i.e., reorg) the flipped Soviet CP in Sevastopol. In general, really, the ability to oil any Soviet unit in the Crimea including Kerch for example.

The situation:
(1) Use oil (reorg) phase.
(2) No saved (Soviet) oil in Sevastopol.
(3) Limited Oversea Supply optional rule in effect.
(4) No Soviet CP, TRS or Amph in the Black Sea.
(5) Unable to reorg Soviet CP in Sevastopol.
(6) Also, looked at an "alternate" situation when the flipped CP was in Kerch and still wasn't able to reorg it there either.
(7) So, I infer that oil for the purposes of reorganization cannot cross a "crossing arrow" regardless of the presence of a rail line that crosses the same straight.
(8) Though, I could ship an oil across and save it in Krech; but that oil wouldn't be available until next turn for reorg.

So, is MWiF coded correctly in that oil cannot cross a straight with a crossing arrow, even one with a rail line, for purposes of reorganization during the use oil phase?



Image
Attachments
999RulesQuestion.jpg
999RulesQuestion.jpg (629.21 KiB) Viewed 553 times
Ronnie
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9080
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
Peter
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
Thanks. Yes, that optional rule is also enable. So as I understand it tracing oil for reorg is equivalent to tracing supply but with an unlimited range?

Also, the reason that the Garr in Krech is in supply is because he can trace supply (not oil) to Sevastopol? What about the presence of the adjacent HQ on the other side of the crossing arrow. Does he affect supply?
Ronnie
User avatar
Courtenay
Posts: 4396
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:34 pm

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Courtenay »

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
Thanks. Yes, that optional rule is also enable. So as I understand it tracing oil for reorg is equivalent to tracing supply but with an unlimited range?

Also, the reason that the Garr in Krech is in supply is because he can trace supply (not oil) to Sevastopol? What about the presence of the adjacent HQ on the other side of the crossing arrow. Does he affect supply?
Yes, yes, and no. (The last no is for units in Crimea. Obviously an HQ might affect supply for units on its side of straights.)

P.S. How did a German stack get behind the Russian lines? Just curious.
I thought I knew how to play this game....
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

P.S. How did a German stack get behind the Russian lines? Just curious.
I'm about to report on this in gorey detail in our 6-player AAR. The short story is a breakthrough, exploration and overrun by the Germany player of the Soviets. Then a successful counterattack by the Soviets destroying the bridgehead and "trapping" the exploiting units. And then the turn ended.
Ronnie
Shannon V. OKeets
Posts: 22165
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Contact:

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Shannon V. OKeets »

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.
Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.

It would count for those purpose then, but would it count for transporting the Sardinian resource? I dont think so but if it did, there would be interesting consequences.
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9080
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.

It would count for those purpose then, but would it count for transporting the Sardinian resource? I dont think so but if it did, there would be interesting consequences.

Yes. Any Axis controlled convoy can transport any Axis resource.
Peter
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Thanks
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets

ORIGINAL: Centuur

RAW:

(limited access across straits) A unit can’t trace supply
across a straits hexside, if the presence of enemy units would
prevent you tracing an overseas supply path into that sea area.


If this optional rule is also used, this situation is correct.
This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.
A Vichy CP only helps if Vichy France has become active.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

ORIGINAL: Centuur

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets



This comes up rather frequently with Italian air units returning to base in Sicily (thus being disorganized) if the Allied player has naval combat factors in the Italian Coast and the Axis does not have a convoy or TRS or Amph in the Italian Coast. Note that a Vichy convoy unit in the Italian Coast will count as an Axis unit.

It would count for those purpose then, but would it count for transporting the Sardinian resource? I dont think so but if it did, there would be interesting consequences.

Yes. Any Axis controlled convoy can transport any Axis resource.
Indeed. As long as the MP is not neutral. And Vichy France is often neutral, and thus unavailable to transport Italian resources.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Thanks too
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?
Ronnie
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?
The answer is in the FAQ that I cut in below.

Q17.2-1
"Not currently in a Metropolitan French
port" does not include force pools, scrap
pile, repair pool, construction pool, and
production spiral correct?
A: Only original French home country ports
count. This does not include force pools,
scrap pile, repair pool, construction pool,
and production spiral, nor does it include
the port in the territory of Corsica. Date
19/01/2009
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?

If I am not wrong, in MWIF, which goes after WIF CE, Corsica is part of Metropolitan Vichy, so you dont get a minus 2
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9080
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?

If I am not wrong, in MWIF, which goes after WIF CE, Corsica is part of Metropolitan Vichy, so you dont get a minus 2

You are wrong. See the post just above yours. This has been answered in the FAQ of the board game.
Peter
Post Reply

Return to “WIF School”