ORIGINAL: jjdenver
**As a note CW didn't understand about not being able to lend to SU before options are played so declared 1 BP and 2 res lending to SU this turn which I think will be lost (although 1 oil can still go due to option being played this turn for "lending res to USSR).
There might be some misunderstandings here.
1) 1BP and 1 oil was listed as traded to USSR from CW. Maybe more was planned to be traded but didn't. Or the program prevented it since no more than 1 of each was allowed to be traded. Either way, it looks to me that no error was done and nothing lost.
2) Selecting "lending resources to USSR" now changes nothing. Selecting it changes things for
future turns.
3) CW was allowed to trade 1 BP and 1 resource before selecting the US entry choice. Now they may trade more to USSR. Before it was a maximum of 1 of each. What might cause this confusion is the wording of the option and that the other part of the rule is in another place. I'll cut it in below.
So in the end it seems like it all works out fine. [:)]
Oh. And what makes it so confusing is because entry option 19 talks about what is allowed after the option is played. 1 resource to USSR while neutral, and 5 after war with Germany. But it doesn't mention what is allowed before it is played. Rule 5 Lending handles what is allowed before option 19 is played, and that is after USSR is at war they may receive 1 BP and 1 resource..
Cut from RAC:
5. Lending Stage
You can only give resources (or build points) if you are an active major power
and you can only give them to
another active major power (exceptions: Trade agreements ~ see 5.1, US entry options
~ see 13.3.2 and lending to Vichy France ~ see 17.4). Vichy France must also be hostile to lend to other major
powers (see 17.4).
Some major powers need US entry options (see 13.3.2) to be chosen before resources can be given to them.
The USSR is further restricted in that (apart from Germany ~ see 5.1) she may only give and/or receive up to 1
resource (and/or build point) per turn unless US entry option 19 (and option 30 for build points) has been chosen.
13.3.2 US entry options
.....
19. Resources to USSR - The US, CW and/or France can give or receive 1 resource each per turn to or from the
USSR in future turns even if the USSR is neutral (5 each per turn while Germany and the USSR are at war and
unlimited while the US is also at war with Germany). US convoy points can’t be used to transport these resources
while the US is a neutral major power.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett
A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly