New to the game - Basic Questions
Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets
- Joseignacio
- Posts: 3041
- Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
- Location: Madrid, Spain
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Now, what do you think about this?
I was thinking in my current WIF game, I could maybe invade Belgium in a surprise impulse, if the British are not at sea in the British Channel (now they are not), and there is a good weather (very doubtful Jan/Feb) I could invade Belgium close to the French Border with a Corps and one div, using my AMPH and a cruiser.
Two questions:
1- The hex would be in a French unit ZOC, Would the French give the notional a +1 or no because the Belgians are surprised?
2- I understand that the very invasion is a combat, ¿so I couldn't join for the attack to Belgian units in the adjacent hex? ¿Or is it an overrun and I could join the attack?
I was thinking in my current WIF game, I could maybe invade Belgium in a surprise impulse, if the British are not at sea in the British Channel (now they are not), and there is a good weather (very doubtful Jan/Feb) I could invade Belgium close to the French Border with a Corps and one div, using my AMPH and a cruiser.
Two questions:
1- The hex would be in a French unit ZOC, Would the French give the notional a +1 or no because the Belgians are surprised?
2- I understand that the very invasion is a combat, ¿so I couldn't join for the attack to Belgian units in the adjacent hex? ¿Or is it an overrun and I could join the attack?
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
1. It gets already the +1 from the Belgian units they are adjacent too. However, if there were only French units adjacent, the notional would also get the +1, since those units are friendly. Calculation is therefore: 1 for the notional, +1 for the adjacent Corps (French, Belgian or CW, doesn't matter), -1 for the surprise makes it 1.
2. An invasion is an attack. So you can't join the attack in an adjacent hex.
2. An invasion is an attack. So you can't join the attack in an adjacent hex.
Peter
- paulderynck
- Posts: 8494
- Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
- Location: Canada
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Agree on 1, not sure I understand what the question is on 2. If the hex to be invaded can also be attacked overland, then it is the same attack. Is that pertinent?
Paul
- Joseignacio
- Posts: 3041
- Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
- Location: Madrid, Spain
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Centuur: We are playing that there is no ZOC for surprised minors, so it would be the French ZOC only. Ok, 1 point.
Paulderynck: The question in 2 is wether the invasion was an attack or a move, since the notional has a value 0. Or an overrun. The invaded hex wouldn't be the attacked one, I would invade an empty hex and attack the adjacent along with other units.
Anyway 2) is answered in the rules, I am afraid:
Paulderynck: The question in 2 is wether the invasion was an attack or a move, since the notional has a value 0. Or an overrun. The invaded hex wouldn't be the attacked one, I would invade an empty hex and attack the adjacent along with other units.
Anyway 2) is answered in the rules, I am afraid:
Each unit which invades counts as 1 land move. Each invasion counts as 1 land attack.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Does it matter where oil is saved? Specifically, can the CW save oil in India and use that saved oil to reorganize units in England?
Ronnie
- paulderynck
- Posts: 8494
- Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
- Location: Canada
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Yes as long as a basic supply path of any length can reach the oil from the unit to be re-orged.
You can save oil in any port or city you control, either directly, by aligning, or by conquest. That's what makes Iraq and Persia important for the CW and Russia. Whichever one is short of oil can ship to the other in large quantities without needing convoys.
You can save oil in any port or city you control, either directly, by aligning, or by conquest. That's what makes Iraq and Persia important for the CW and Russia. Whichever one is short of oil can ship to the other in large quantities without needing convoys.
Paul
- Mayhemizer_slith
- Posts: 9371
- Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:44 am
- Location: Finland
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Resources can be railed through neutral minor countries but units not, correct?
If Italy invades to Syria, can Germany rail units through Turkey to Syria (if Germany controls all Balkans)?
If Italy invades to Syria, can Germany rail units through Turkey to Syria (if Germany controls all Balkans)?
If your attack is going really well, it's an ambush.
-Murphy's war law
-Murphy's war law
- Joseignacio
- Posts: 3041
- Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
- Location: Madrid, Spain
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Resources can, units not. Correct.
Germany cannot rail units through neutral Turkey. But it could use the Italian transports.
Germany cannot rail units through neutral Turkey. But it could use the Italian transports.
-
- Posts: 22165
- Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:51 pm
- Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
- Contact:
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
There is a special rule for German units railing through a neutral Sweden. Several conditions need to be met first though.ORIGINAL: Mayhemizer
Resources can be railed through neutral minor countries but units not, correct?
If Italy invades to Syria, can Germany rail units through Turkey to Syria (if Germany controls all Balkans)?
Steve
Perfection is an elusive goal.
Perfection is an elusive goal.
- paulderynck
- Posts: 8494
- Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
- Location: Canada
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Thanks guys. Follow up on my oil (last) question. Is there any way to select which (saved) oil points get used for reorganization?
Ronnie
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Highlight the unit to reorganize in the left pane, then highlight the saved oil, or the resource itself, in the right pane.
- Joseignacio
- Posts: 3041
- Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
- Location: Madrid, Spain
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
ORIGINAL: paulderynck
But only Sweden.
And only germans.

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Do the limits (and counts) for activities differ depending on whether or not a country is at war or neutral?
Specifically, when I did a naval move of a single stack of several ships and transports for Japan, who's at war, that move counted as 1 naval activity. However, when I try to do that for a neutral Italy I get the message, "Exceeds naval move limits." The game will only let me move 1 ship or transport and that's it. Is that correct?

Specifically, when I did a naval move of a single stack of several ships and transports for Japan, who's at war, that move counted as 1 naval activity. However, when I try to do that for a neutral Italy I get the message, "Exceeds naval move limits." The game will only let me move 1 ship or transport and that's it. Is that correct?

- Attachments
-
- NeutralAct..tyLimits.jpg (451.61 KiB) Viewed 106 times
Ronnie
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Correct. A neutral countries limits are the same as their at war combined action limits, however, each ship that moves counts as a naval move. so no stacks.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Thanks!ORIGINAL: Braig
Correct. A neutral countries limits are the same as their at war combined action limits, however, each ship that moves counts as a naval move. so no stacks.
Ronnie
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
I'm in the 7 impulse of the first turn of a Global war scenario. It just occurred to me that I haven't called out the reserves for the CW. Whatever I did, I didn't mean to. I thought last allied impulse the game would ask me if I wanted to call out the reserves for the CW, but it didn't. What do I need to do to get them?
P.S. The game just flew by the "Call Out Reserves" for the CW in this impulse without giving me a chance to call them out. Is this a bug or have I done something to disable this for the CW?
P.S. The game just flew by the "Call Out Reserves" for the CW in this impulse without giving me a chance to call them out. Is this a bug or have I done something to disable this for the CW?
Ronnie
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
I had my game saved at the very start and I went through the first axis impulse again and I did NOT get a chance to call the reserves for the CW. So either I did something during the setup for the CW to disable this for the CW or this is a bug?ORIGINAL: rkr1958
I'm in the 7 impulse of the first turn of a Global war scenario. It just occurred to me that I haven't called out the reserves for the CW. Whatever I did, I didn't mean to. I thought last allied impulse the game would ask me if I wanted to call out the reserves for the CW, but it didn't. What do I need to do to get them?
P.S. The game just flew by the "Call Out Reserves" for the CW in this impulse without giving me a chance to call them out. Is this a bug or have I done something to disable this for the CW?
I'm going to go ahead and post this (with a saved game) in the tech support forum.
Ronnie
-
- Posts: 22165
- Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:51 pm
- Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
- Contact:
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
What version of MWIF are you running? There was a problem like this quite a while ago, but no one has reported this for at least several months now (or longer).ORIGINAL: rkr1958
I had my game saved at the very start and I went through the first axis impulse again and I did NOT get a chance to call the reserves for the CW. So either I did something during the setup for the CW to disable this for the CW or this is a bug?ORIGINAL: rkr1958
I'm in the 7 impulse of the first turn of a Global war scenario. It just occurred to me that I haven't called out the reserves for the CW. Whatever I did, I didn't mean to. I thought last allied impulse the game would ask me if I wanted to call out the reserves for the CW, but it didn't. What do I need to do to get them?
P.S. The game just flew by the "Call Out Reserves" for the CW in this impulse without giving me a chance to call them out. Is this a bug or have I done something to disable this for the CW?
I'm going to go ahead and post this (with a saved game) in the tech support forum.
Steve
Perfection is an elusive goal.
Perfection is an elusive goal.
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
1.2.0.7ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
What version of MWIF are you running? There was a problem like this quite a while ago, but no one has reported this for at least several months now (or longer).ORIGINAL: rkr1958
I had my game saved at the very start and I went through the first axis impulse again and I did NOT get a chance to call the reserves for the CW. So either I did something during the setup for the CW to disable this for the CW or this is a bug?ORIGINAL: rkr1958
I'm in the 7 impulse of the first turn of a Global war scenario. It just occurred to me that I haven't called out the reserves for the CW. Whatever I did, I didn't mean to. I thought last allied impulse the game would ask me if I wanted to call out the reserves for the CW, but it didn't. What do I need to do to get them?
P.S. The game just flew by the "Call Out Reserves" for the CW in this impulse without giving me a chance to call them out. Is this a bug or have I done something to disable this for the CW?
I'm going to go ahead and post this (with a saved game) in the tech support forum.
Ronnie