ORIGINAL: Tater
The difference in the boardgame was that the conquest step and the lapse of war steps were in the same phase (diplomacy), in different steps of that phase:
No they weren't..."minor country control" is not the same as "conquest".
I don't have the rules in front of me but I am prety sure the "conquest" step was at the end of the turn...after all land movement and combat.
You are correct. I stand corrected on this point.
[ 7.7 ] THE CONQUEST STEP: This step is performed after all major power sequences are completed. It can be performed any convenient order. Control flags are changed to show the conquest of minor countries and their change of control. The control flags are changed only if the capital of the minor country was occupied during the previous Turn and the conqueror has maintained uninterrupted and unbesieged occupation for the entire current Turn. A newly conquered minor country is always marked with a conquered control flag. (old rules, from
http://eia.xnetz.com/rules/eiarules-with-errata.html)
4.4 is the "Peace Step", during which a lapse of war can occur.
So, ultimately, it's very close in the current iteration to what it was in the boardgame.
Note that corps counters are not required for conquest to occur (an issue that came up earlier).
At LAST! The greatest campaign board game of all time is finally available for the PC. Can my old heart stand the strain?