Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland

World in Flames is the computer version of Australian Design Group classic board game. World In Flames is a highly detailed game covering the both Europe and Pacific Theaters of Operations during World War II. If you want grand strategy this game is for you.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8477
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland

Post by paulderynck »

Face it. There's nothing in RAW7 that is definitive.
Paul
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9066
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland

Post by Centuur »

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Face it. There's nothing in RAW7 that is definitive.

Or in RAW8, I believe... [:-]
Peter
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8477
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland

Post by paulderynck »

ORIGINAL: Centuur

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Face it. There's nothing in RAW7 that is definitive.

Or in RAW8, I believe... [:-]
Au Contraire.
Whenever a hex changing control leaves a unit illegally stacked (see 9.2, 13.3.2 US entry options 7, 18 & 44; 3.7.1, 13.7.3, 13.7.5, 17.4.5, 19.5.1 & 20), it (PiF option 46: and its pilot, if any) is removed from the
map and placed on the production circle (see turn record chart) to arrive as a reinforcement (see 4) in 2 turns.

Paul
Shannon V. OKeets
Posts: 22165
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Contact:

RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland

Post by Shannon V. OKeets »

My take on this thread is that there is a bug as reported in the first post in this thread.

===

Unless I am mistaken, the MWIF code handles naval units in hexes that become neutral as having to rebase. The only difference in processing the same units in hexes that become enemy controlled, is that in the former case they do not roll for captured/destroyed/escape, while in the latter case they do.

Whether that is the 'correct' interpretation of the WIFFE rules is open to debate. But I see no compelling reason to rewrite the code.

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8477
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland

Post by paulderynck »

If located there when conquest happens, MWiF's rebase and disorganize (since it happens after the re-org phase) amounts to almost exactly the same as the rule in RAW8.
Paul
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8477
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: Question re US Option Occupy Greenland & Iceland

Post by paulderynck »

About the bug - the US can still declare and occupy them unless the axis still has a unit there, so the axis conquest is ineffectual unless they maintain a garrison.
Paul
Post Reply

Return to “World in Flames”