New to the game - Basic Questions

A sub-forum for players new to WIF, containing information on how to get started and become an experienced player.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30055
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

I am NOT playing with the limited oversea supply optional rule.

Italian land, air and naval forces except for territorials are out of supply in Libya, Egypt and the Middle East. Last turn the axis had only air units in the East Med, like this turn, but the all forces were in supply. What changed? Is it because there's no Italian ships or convoys left off the Italian coast?

This question was taken from post 802 of my on-going AAR. tm.asp?m=4024746&mpage=27&key=&#

Image
Attachments
07ALCW_EasternMed.jpg
07ALCW_EasternMed.jpg (926.65 KiB) Viewed 276 times
Ronnie
Shannon V. OKeets
Posts: 22165
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Contact:

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Shannon V. OKeets »

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

I am NOT playing with the limited oversea supply optional rule.

Italian land, air and naval forces except for territorials are out of supply in Libya, Egypt and the Middle East. Last turn the axis had only air units in the East Med, like this turn, but the all forces were in supply. What changed? Is it because there's no Italian ships or convoys left off the Italian coast?

This question was taken from post 802 of my on-going AAR. tm.asp?m=4024746&mpage=27&key=&#

Image
Yes. But it is naval combat capable units Italy needs in the Italian Coast.

The territorials can trace to a primary supply source - Tripoli. But the regular Italians units have to trace to a city in Italy (or Germany). If you use the Supply Form, you can see how the territorial units trace supply.
Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30055
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

I am NOT playing with the limited oversea supply optional rule.

Italian land, air and naval forces except for territorials are out of supply in Libya, Egypt and the Middle East. Last turn the axis had only air units in the East Med, like this turn, but the all forces were in supply. What changed? Is it because there's no Italian ships or convoys left off the Italian coast?

This question was taken from post 802 of my on-going AAR. tm.asp?m=4024746&mpage=27&key=&#
Yes. But it is naval combat capable units Italy needs in the Italian Coast.

The territorials can trace to a primary supply source - Tripoli. But the regular Italians units have to trace to a city in Italy (or Germany). If you use the Supply Form, you can see how the territorial units trace supply.
So, if I'm understanding the situation correctly, it's not any air unit that can provide supply but only those air units with air to sea factor(s)?
Ronnie
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8486
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

Yes you need a non-sub naval unit or an air unit with air-to-sea factors (and the air unit is no good in Blizzard and Storm).
Paul
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30055
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Yes you need a non-sub naval unit or an air unit with air-to-sea factors (and the air unit is no good in Blizzard and Storm).
Thanks. That clears things up immensely.
Ronnie
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30055
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

I'm playing with the optional rule, "in the presence of the enemy" where by a naval unit moving into or through a sea zone without a friendly unit already there from a previous impulse encounters a +1 MP penalty. My question is does this penalty apply during a surprise impulse?
Ronnie
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9074
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

I'm playing with the optional rule, "in the presence of the enemy" where by a naval unit moving into or through a sea zone without a friendly unit already there from a previous impulse encounters a +1 MP penalty. My question is does this penalty apply during a surprise impulse?

Yes.
Peter
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8486
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

In the Presence of the Enemy does not apply if that enemy is surprised.
It costs a surface naval unit 2 points of its movement allowance (not range) to enter a sea area that contains a CV (with a carrier plane), SCS or aircraft unit controlled by an unsurprised (see 15.) major power it is at war with.
Paul
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30055
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

My understanding is that even if adjacent the 4-2 Canadian Terr could NOT join in the land combat attack with the Ethiopians attacking Djibouti. Is that correct?

Image
Attachments
04ALCWLCDjibouti.jpg
04ALCWLCDjibouti.jpg (312.41 KiB) Viewed 276 times
Ronnie
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8486
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

Assuming Ethiopia is aligned with the CW, Territorials from the countries making up the CW should be able to, because they are major power units of the major power that controls Ethiopia.

So there are two "classes" of Territorials for the CW - those that are units of the CW major power and those that are units of minor powers that are aligned with the CW. The first of those classes can cooperate with the Ethiopian units and with each other and with all the CW minors; the second cannot.
Paul
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30055
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Assuming Ethiopia is aligned with the CW, Territorials from the countries making up the CW should be able to, because they are major power units of the major power that controls Ethiopia.

So there are two "classes" of Territorials for the CW - those that are units of the CW major power and those that are units of minor powers that are aligned with the CW. The first of those classes can cooperate with the Ethiopian units and with each other and with all the CW minors; the second cannot.
Thanks. Ethiopia is so I took an unnecessary risk by not waiting until the 4-2 Canadian Terr could be added to the attack.

So, CW units from Britain, Canada, India, Australia and New Zealand can mix and match anyway the wish, subject to FTC limits, with CW aligned and allied countries? Did I leave anyone out?
Ronnie
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8486
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

Yeah - also South Africa.
Paul
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30055
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

misfire ...
Ronnie
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30055
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

I'm invading an island hex in fine weather. I'm invading from the 3 box in a sea area in rain. Does the defender get the benefit of an "additional" notional unit since the invaders are invading from a sea area in rain or do they not because the target hex is in fine weather?

What about if it's storm in the sea area with the invaders but fine in the island hex. Can the invaders still land?
Ronnie
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8486
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

It should be determined by the weather in the hex that is to be invaded.
Paul
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30055
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

It should be determined by the weather in the hex that is to be invaded.
Thanks and it is determined as you said it should be by the weather in the hex invaded. I invaded Chichijima Retto, Bonin Islands, which was in fine weather, from the 3 box of the Marianas which was in storm. The number of notionals and the odds that I got were consistent with fine weather.
Ronnie
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30055
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Here's the situation. Italy took a combine, Germany a land and Japan a land. No axis air or naval units were added or removed from the South China Sea. Why is the RN given the opportunity as the non-phasing player to initiate combat in the South China Sea?

EDIT: Never mind ... I was wrong, the Japanese did add the bomber unit to the 3-box during the naval air phase, so that's the answer.

Image
Attachments
01AXRNS..hinaSea.jpg
01AXRNS..hinaSea.jpg (306.96 KiB) Viewed 276 times
Ronnie
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 30926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

Edit: Never mind.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30055
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Does a TRS have the ability to sink or force a CP to abort? In the Arabian Sea, as the CW player, I'm given the chance to try to initiate a naval combat. Would I ever want to do that just with a TRS?

Image
Attachments
05ALRNA..NoInit.jpg
05ALRNA..NoInit.jpg (338.7 KiB) Viewed 276 times
Ronnie
User avatar
juntoalmar
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:08 pm
Location: Valencia
Contact:

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by juntoalmar »

Without combat factor I doubt. Probably you have the chance of starting a combat with a TRS in order not to disorganise a combat unit. But if there is no ship to attack the convoy, there is no point (I guess).
(my humble blog about wargames, in spanish) http://cabezadepuente.blogspot.com.es/
Post Reply

Return to “WIF School”