New to the game - Basic Questions

A sub-forum for players new to WIF, containing information on how to get started and become an experienced player.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

Post Reply
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29655
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

It appears I misquoted the rules to you.

From RAW, section 11.14

Resolve the combat normally. Any combat result (other than ‘-’) destroys the notional defending unit. It doesn’t count as a loss towards satisfying the combat result.


That does indeed make the blitz table the better choice. Sorry for misleading you, looks like I've been doing something wrong for a long while.
No problem. :) I can't image trying to learn and correctly interpret all the rules associated with WiF. I just don't think I'd have the time and patience to do this at my stage in life without the aid of MWiF taking care of rules interpretation and managing the gameboad and all the units for me. This alone, makes MWiF worth ever dollar they're asking for it!
Ronnie
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8468
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

The assault is still the better choice because although both give a 30% chance for the Japanese to succeed, the Assault table yields the higher chance for Japanese casualties.

In WiF always take the long term view.

BTW a 2/1 result is a US victory because even though the notional is destroyed, there are no attackers that can advance and take the hex. And if there's no advance, then the notional "regenerates" for the next attack!
Paul
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29655
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Is a port attack against a port with transports only a legal move? The reason I ask is because MWIF did not give me the option to conduct a port attack. In prior impulses it did when there were other (combat) ships in port with the two transports. So am I correct in inferring that port attack is only a legal move when there are enemy combat ships in port?

Image
Attachments
32.jpg
32.jpg (365.84 KiB) Viewed 295 times
Ronnie
User avatar
AxelNL
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:43 pm
Location: The Netherlands

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by AxelNL »

You should be able to port attack TRS only. Did you have any organised ships left to do this?
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 30392
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

From the perspective of someone new to WiF and MWiF I have a request of one or more of the experienced players. Well really two requests; but not both would have to be filled by the same experienced player. I know that I'm asking a lot and if these requests are ignored, I understand 100%! However; if I don't ask they would be "ignored" with certainty.

So, "Dear Santa", what I would like for Spring is, for an experience player, or players, to do AARs on the two introduction scenarios (Barbarossa and Guadalcanal) using the default setups and rules. I would find such AARs as invaluable tools to learning and understanding how to play WiF / MWiF.
I played a Barbarossa game by email against Red Prince and we reported the result in this thread.

tm.asp?m=2874906

We didn't use the default setups and rules but I thought you might find it fun to see me getting a real thrashing. [:)]
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 30392
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

Got a few mistakes in there.


From what I can deduce from the game (MWIF) and the RAC is that for each invading unit +2 is added to the defense if that unit invades from Sea Box 1 or 2 and +1 if it invades from Sea Box 3. Is that correct? What about if it invades from Sea Box 4? The closest explanation for this rule that I found in the RAC was in the example given on page 73.


Not quite. See the little number next to the sea box? At the 1 box it's 2*, 2 box its 1*, 3 box 0*, 4 box it's just 0. That's how much you subtract from each ships shore bombardment and add to the notional if you invade from there. The asterisk means it's +1 in weather other than fine. So if it had been raining in your example, each invading unit makes the notional +3.
The allied player is given the choice of which CRT to use (Blitzkrieg or Assault). From what I can tell the best choice for the allies is the 1D10 Blitzkrieg Table. This gives the Japanese only a 30% chance (9, 10 or 11) of capturing Midway. Even though a result of 5-8 would outright destroy only 1 of the 2 invading units, since the notional unit isn't destroyed then the "surviving" invading unit would be?

Notionals aren't units. They can't take losses, and if the notional is "left alive" at the end of the combat, he doesn't wipe out the invaders the way a real unit would if one were present.

Ergo, the assault table is the one to pick, you want to make sure you get kills if you want to hold the island.

If the notional land unit is left alive at the end of the combat is does wipe out the attackers since they have then failed to capture the hex.


RAC: 11.14 Invasions
....
If you retreat, shatter or destroy all defending land units, the invasion is successful. Otherwise, the invading
units are destroyed.
....
Each hex defends against an invasion with a notional land unit, in addition to any actual land unit in the hex.
....
Resolve the combat normally. Any combat result (other than ‘-’) destroys the notional defending unit. It
doesn’t count as a loss towards satisfying the combat result.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 30392
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

ORIGINAL: AxelNL

You should be able to port attack TRS only. Did you have any organised ships left to do this?
The weather might also forbid the port strike. Or action limits.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29655
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: Orm

ORIGINAL: AxelNL

You should be able to port attack TRS only. Did you have any organised ships left to do this?
The weather might also forbid the port strike. Or action limits.
O.K. I'll reload the prior turn and methodological document the situation assuming I don't get the option for a port attack. I'll let you know what I find in a bit.

SORRY -- it must have been the weather. In replaying the turn I get fair weather and now have the option for a port attack.
Ronnie
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29655
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: Orm

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

From the perspective of someone new to WiF and MWiF I have a request of one or more of the experienced players. Well really two requests; but not both would have to be filled by the same experienced player. I know that I'm asking a lot and if these requests are ignored, I understand 100%! However; if I don't ask they would be "ignored" with certainty.

So, "Dear Santa", what I would like for Spring is, for an experience player, or players, to do AARs on the two introduction scenarios (Barbarossa and Guadalcanal) using the default setups and rules. I would find such AARs as invaluable tools to learning and understanding how to play WiF / MWiF.
I played a Barbarossa game by email against Red Prince and we reported the result in this thread.

tm.asp?m=2874906

We didn't use the default setups and rules but I thought you might find it fun to see me getting a real thrashing. [:)]
I will absolutely pour over this AAR! Thanks!
Ronnie
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29655
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Both Nimitz and MacArthur in the default setup for the Guadalcanal scenario start at Pearl Harbor. I'm now at the start of turn 2 and both seem to be stuck there providing supply. The problem is that I can't rebase any ground units there because of stacking limitations. And, I can't move either of these HQ units out to support units elsewhere. I'm not sure what I did to get myself in this situation or what I need to do to get myself out?

Image
Attachments
HQsAtPearl.jpg
HQsAtPearl.jpg (226.01 KiB) Viewed 295 times
Ronnie
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8468
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Both Nimitz and MacArthur in the default setup for the Guadalcanal scenario start at Pearl Harbor. I'm now at the start of turn 2 and both seem to be stuck there providing supply. The problem is that I can't rebase any ground units there because of stacking limitations. And, I can't move either of these HQ units out to support units elsewhere. I'm not sure what I did to get myself in this situation or what I need to do to get myself out?

Image
I don't see any transports around. You'll need a transport to move them out.
Paul
User avatar
Courtenay
Posts: 4396
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:34 pm

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Courtenay »

A HQ's ability to move is not affected by whether it is being used for supply.

The units are described as "Done moving". What step of the sequence of play are you in? I am suspicious of that "Done Moving"; sometimes MWiF gives error messages that are misleading. If a unit can't move because it is can't move during that particular step of the sequence of play, it may say "Done moving". For example, in my current game, during the end of turn phase, every organized land unit on the map is "Done moving".

Have you tried loading one of these HQs on to a transport? What happens when you try to do so? I would ignore that done moving, and see if the HQs will load onto a transport.
I thought I knew how to play this game....
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29655
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

A HQ's ability to move is not affected by whether it is being used for supply.

The units are described as "Done moving". What step of the sequence of play are you in? I am suspicious of that "Done Moving"; sometimes MWiF gives error messages that are misleading. If a unit can't move because it is can't move during that particular step of the sequence of play, it may say "Done moving". For example, in my current game, during the end of turn phase, every organized land unit on the map is "Done moving".

Have you tried loading one of these HQs on to a transport? What happens when you try to do so? I would ignore that done moving, and see if the HQs will load onto a transport.
Thanks! I verified I was able to load the HQs on to a transport and disembark them at Midway. What was confusing me then was that I wasn't able to move either HQ from Oahu (Pearl) to either Kauai or Maul during the unit movement phase. In fact, I wasn't even able to "pick up" (i.e., select) either unit during that phase. Is a move from Pearl to either Kauai or Maui legal?


Image
Attachments
FollowUp_HQsAtPearl.jpg
FollowUp_HQsAtPearl.jpg (254.22 KiB) Viewed 299 times
Ronnie
Ur_Vile_WEdge
Posts: 585
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 4:10 pm

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Ur_Vile_WEdge »

By land? Not even if you're a marine. There's that hexdot you can't swim over these days.


Actually, I guess a marine could go to Maui. But no other type of unit, and there are no HQ-Marine types.
"When beset by danger,
When in deadly doubt,
Run in little circles,
Wave your arms and shout."
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8468
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

You can only embark units during the naval movement step and they can then be transported into a port and will debark automatically, or if the TRS stays at sea, they can land in a port during the land movement step. Only marines can cross all-sea hexsides from a land hex to another (or an island to another). Straits (indicated by the red arrows like in the Philippines) can be crossed by land units for an additional movement point.
Paul
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 2982
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

By land? Not even if you're a marine. There's that hexdot you can't swim over these days.


Actually, I guess a marine could go to Maui. But no other type of unit, and there are no HQ-Marine types.

A marine could. Marines can walk through shallow waters.

You can only move that HQ to the other island (without a port, like it is) disembarking it from the ship. And only Divisions, HQs and IIRW infantry can load (the latter in certain circumstances)/unload (not so sure even if posssible at all for inf)at sea.

Anyway I would not recommend moving the HQ to other islands without a port. Many times HQs need to be in position to be easily movable, and if there is not a port in the island, the only option would be to move a trs or amph to that sea, board (free land move) the HQ and leave it at that sea.. (dangerous sometimes) ,and then the only thing you can do before turn end is abort the ship in another impulse to a port, but the HQ will arrive disorganized in this case, not like when they set from a port, and reach another port without aborting at sea.
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 2982
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

You can only embark units during the naval movement step and they can then be transported into a port and will debark automatically, or if the TRS stays at sea, they can land in a port during the land movement step. Only marines can cross all-sea hexsides from a land hex to another (or an island to another). Straits (indicated by the red arrows like in the Philippines) can be crossed by land units for an additional movement point.

True but divs (I guess art brigades too but don't know...) can disembark in the coast as HQs do too.
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29655
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Thanks guys! I think I finally understand. My point of confusion was from the fact that I could move the Japanese unit form Henderson Field to Russell island and back. But, as I understand it now, the reason I could do that is because the unit is a marine unit. If it was a normal infantry unit, or a HQ unit, I wouldn't be able to make that move.

Image
Attachments
FollowUp2_HQsAtPearl.jpg
FollowUp2_HQsAtPearl.jpg (106.94 KiB) Viewed 299 times
Ronnie
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 2982
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

A question for my current game of WIF. I prefer to ask here because if I ask in the wifdiscussion thread, my mates could see what I intend to do through my questions... [:)]

In my current game, France has aligned Yugoslavia, the British is sending peacekeepers. France and CW don't cooperate, Can he without an HQ and the Foreing Troop Commitment limits?

Or it doesn't matter because it's a minor?
User avatar
Courtenay
Posts: 4396
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:34 pm

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Courtenay »

It doesn't matter, because it is a minor. Major powers can freely enter into any minor at war. Other Allied minors can't enter the country, not even French aligned minors, unless they have an HQ of their own, which is not very likely.

Thus, when Germany declares war on Belgium and the CW aligns it, French troops can rush in, up to stacking limits.
I thought I knew how to play this game....
Post Reply

Return to “WIF School”