Search found 36 matches

by Ragnar
Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:01 pm
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Right, can we get down to business again?

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by soapyfrog <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
<B><s>[B]</s>As for the rest... if you feel I've made enough "assumptions" that I am using a houserule, then fine. The more complex way, IMHO, requires a number of equivalent assumptions... so it's all one to me ...
by Ragnar
Tue Jun 10, 2003 5:50 pm
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by Capitaine <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
<B><s>[B]</s>And someone please add an explanation for why, pursuant to 7.3.4, they provide for all units IN cities to "move" from them, AND use the term "vice versa" when referring to "movement cost". <e>[/B ...
by Ragnar
Tue Jun 10, 2003 3:54 am
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by Capitaine <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
<B><s>[B]</s> It becomes part of the game to be thorough. That is a boon to all players, and adds a bit of Napoleon's own skill to the mix: Being sharper than his sloppy adversaries! <E>:D</E> <e>[/B]</e></B><e ...
by Ragnar
Tue Jun 10, 2003 3:42 am
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Right, can we get down to business again?

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by soapyfrog <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
Ah. I see where you are coming form now. <B><s>[B]</s>10.3.3<e>[/B]</e></B> still presents no problem IMHO since the corps itself is not in garrison, as we have already discussed.
<e>[/QUOTE]</e></QUOTE>

Hmm ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:12 pm
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

Re: The Chink in the Armor

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by Capitaine <e>[/i]</e></I> After that, the counter cannot take any further action not permitted under the subsequent nonmovement phases of the game, as each counter must still be moved sequentially AND individually (7.3.2).<br/>
<br/>
So ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 3:59 pm
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

Re: An attempt to reply to Snake

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by Zen Mechanic <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
I therefore say that double-duty makes the most sense, especially dealing with month-long turns and a strategic game like EiA. The non-double-duty makes less sense, imo.<br/>
<br/>
Phew, that was long. I hope ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 3:31 pm
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

Re: An attempt to reply to Snake

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by Zen Mechanic <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
<B><s>[B]</s>Firstly, anyone know of an online source of the rules? I won't be able to check a rulebook until either I get home or Wednesday, when I play Turkey again (thus the feudal references)</B>
<e ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 3:27 pm
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Right, can we get down to business again?

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by soapyfrog <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
What do you mean divisible? Do you mean in terms of my interpretation of <B><s>[B]</s>7.3.3.3.2<e>[/B]</e></B>? I mean <B><s>[B]</s>7.3.3.3.2<e>[/B]</e></B> IS the rule that "allows" it, inasmuch as it is not a ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:20 am
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

<t>Soapy, <br/>
<br/>
Please take the time to reply to my post on page 10 (and ignore Snake for now because you've both been repeating arguments for some time -no offense intended Snake). I'm only trying to confront you with the consequences of the choices of your interpretation, thus trying to show ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 3:59 am
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by gdpsnake <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
<B><s>[B]</s>Ragnar,<br/>
<br/>
"So the Feudal corps can detach to take the city."<br/>
<br/>
Is this a mistatement? 10.1.3.4 does not allow this.<br/>
<e>[/B]</e></B><e>[/QUOTE]</e></QUOTE> <br/>
<br/>
Well ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 3:51 am
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

<r><B><s>[B]</s>Capitaine, mon Capitaine ...<e>[/B]</e></B>
<QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by Capitaine <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
Not "a presumption" my friend, but a hard and fast RULE of the GAME. See 7.4.1.1 "FORAGING PROCEDURE: A die is rolled for <I><s>[I]</s>each<e>[/I]</e></I ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 3:32 am
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by Capitaine <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
<B><s>[B]</s>Ragnar, you are patently WRONG about 7.3.8, "one of the most common misconceptions of the game" I have seen. The fact that nonbelligerent forces may have to vacate the pertinent forage area (7.3.8.4 ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 3:13 am
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s>As we know, 7.3.3 only concerns detachment in the LMS, not the post combat segement. Your reference to the detachment rules for the LMS are patently off base.<e>[/QUOTE]</e></QUOTE> <br/>
<br/>
Capitaine, <br/>
<br/>
Ok, to be <I><s>[I]</s>exact <e>[/I]</e></I> one could say ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 3:01 am
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

Re: Re: Re: Right, can we get down to business again?

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by soapyfrog <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
The corps is a collection of factors, not a single indivisible entity, so the wording does not exclude the possibility that part of the corps could be in garrison for any purpose required by the rules.
<e ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 2:04 am
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by Capitaine <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
In fact, 7.4.1 states that foraging may be elected "when a corps (not two or more) ceases movement", clearly referencing the rule on "ceasing movement" in 7.3.2. Also, 7.4.1.1 states that the foraging roll is ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 1:00 am
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

Re: The ad hominem attacks!

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by Zen Mechanic <e>[/i]</e></I>So this leads to an absurdity - Feudals can seige a city, kill troops IN the city, but can't control it (and capture the province) because they can't drop a factor into it.<e>[/QUOTE]</e></QUOTE> <br/>
<br/>
This ...
by Ragnar
Mon Jun 09, 2003 12:41 am
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

Re: Right, can we get down to business again?

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by soapyfrog <e>[/i]</e></I> A Garrison is as defined in the glossary, with rules 7.3.3.3.1 and 7.3.3.3.2 allowing corps/cossacks/freikorps/guerrillas to form all or part of a garrison with any of their factors at their discretion (i.e. when it ...
by Ragnar
Sun Jun 08, 2003 4:59 pm
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

Right, can we get dowj to business again?

<t>I still feel more of a need to get to the bottom of the "double duty" issue. I believe that the belief in double duty is inherently inconsistent, so it should not be a problem to show this to its followers.<br/>
<br/>
I believe that the point that there is no "double duty" has sufficiently been ...
by Ragnar
Sun Jun 08, 2003 4:44 pm
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by Reknoy <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
<B><s>[B]</s>The rule could read,<br/>
<br/>
"During a major power's Land Movement Step, any non-artillery, non-feudal or non-insurrection corps may, <B><s>[B]</s>during its respective movement<e>[/B]</e></B ...
by Ragnar
Sun Jun 08, 2003 4:24 pm
Forum: Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815
Topic: Rules interpretations
Replies: 227
Views: 1843

<r><QUOTE><s>[QUOTE]</s><I><s>[i]</s>Originally posted by Chiteng <e>[/i]</e></I><br/>
<B><s>[B]</s>I will however take exception to ANY player that thinks they have a 'lock' on determining who has 'been playing right' <e>[/B]</e></B><e>[/QUOTE]</e></QUOTE> <br/>
<br/>
I agree to that..<br/>
<br ...

Go to advanced search