Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Gary Grigsby’s World at War is back with a whole new set of features. World at War: A World Divided still gives complete control over the production, research and military strategy for your side, but in this new updated version you’ll also be able to bring spies into the mix as well as neutral country diplomacy, variable political events and much more. Perhaps the largest item is the ability to play a special Soviet vs. Allies scenario that occurs after the end of World War II.

Moderator: MOD_GGWaW_2

Post Reply
User avatar
coralsaw
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2000 9:00 am
Location: Zürich, CH

Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by coralsaw »

Hello all,

I seem to recall that an attacker suffers amphibious penalties of -1 attack dice for each region over 2 of the amphibious chain. I can't find this in the rules though. Can anyone help tell me where in the rules this is mentioned, or at least verify that it's true.

Many thx
A soldier will fight long and hard for a bit of colored ribbon. - Napoleon Bonaparte, 15 July 1815, to the captain of HMS Bellerophon.
User avatar
GKar
Posts: 617
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 8:39 pm

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by GKar »

I can't find anything about it in the manual either. Not sure if this is true or not.
User avatar
coralsaw
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2000 9:00 am
Location: Zürich, CH

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by coralsaw »

Thx for the reply. One thing I can tell you for sure, I've seen -5 dice for amphibious attacks, so there must be a dice modifier somewhere.

Also, something that came up today, is there a special rule that forbids invading Japan? I have infantry at Bonin islands, and 3x transports (amphib 15) both in front of Japan and in Bonin island area, but I can't invade. What gives?

TiA
A soldier will fight long and hard for a bit of colored ribbon. - Napoleon Bonaparte, 15 July 1815, to the captain of HMS Bellerophon.
User avatar
christian brown
Posts: 533
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Vista, CA
Contact:

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by christian brown »

Is it winter? Is the invading unit really starting from an island (you did not move it onto a TF fort for example, if you did, you need to put it back onto the island)? Do the invading ground units have supply?

Check these......good luck!
"Those who would give up a little liberty for a little security deserve neither and will lose both."
~ Thomas Jefferson
Tom Grosv
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 8:56 pm

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by Tom Grosv »

ORIGINAL: coralsaw

Hello all,

I seem to recall that an attacker suffers amphibious penalties of -2 attack dice for each region over 2 of the amphibious chain. I can't find this in the rules though. Can anyone help tell me where in the rules this is mentioned, or at least verify that it's true.

Many thx

Wasn't this a rule from WAW? I imagine AWD doesn't have it because of all the new difficulties involved in amphibious invasions.
User avatar
coralsaw
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2000 9:00 am
Location: Zürich, CH

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by coralsaw »

@christian: yes, it's winter. duh. Image

@tom: not sure about WAW, but the penalties sure stand now and I haven't seen anything in the rules.
A soldier will fight long and hard for a bit of colored ribbon. - Napoleon Bonaparte, 15 July 1815, to the captain of HMS Bellerophon.
Forwarn45
Posts: 718
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:53 am

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by Forwarn45 »

I couldn't find it in the rules either, but the penalty is still there. From a quick test, it seems to be -1 attack die for each region more than 2. There is no additional evasion penalty, however, based on distance. It's important to be aware of this if you are using units from far away for an invasion, such as in the Pacific - as your units can still do it, but they may not hit anything. Anyway, a good rule to have - but maybe the manual needs a correction?
Forwarn45
Posts: 718
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:53 am

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by Forwarn45 »

Rule 8.5.4 from the original WAW =

"Penalty during amphibious invasion: Whenever a land unit conducts an amphibious invasion, for every region
moved over 2, the unit subtracts one die from the total attack dice it rolls (i.e. 1 or 2 regions moved no penalty, 3
regions -1 attack die, 4 regions -2 attack dice, etc.)."

I don't see this rule in the AWD manual, however?
User avatar
coralsaw
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2000 9:00 am
Location: Zürich, CH

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by coralsaw »

Nope, it's not in there. Can we have it amended to the manual/README please guys?

TiA
A soldier will fight long and hard for a bit of colored ribbon. - Napoleon Bonaparte, 15 July 1815, to the captain of HMS Bellerophon.
User avatar
Joel Billings
Posts: 33500
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Contact:

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by Joel Billings »

Added to the rule Clarifications/changes/omissions thread.
All understanding comes after the fact.
-- Soren Kierkegaard
Bubble
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:01 am

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by Bubble »

Does the region count include the region from which the unit starts, and/or in which it finishes? E.g., invading from W Germany into Scotland involves two North Sea zones, but is the count 2, 3 or 4?
User avatar
Joel Billings
Posts: 33500
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Contact:

RE: Amphibious penalties: where in the rules?

Post by Joel Billings »

ORIGINAL: Bubble

Does the region count include the region from which the unit starts, and/or in which it finishes? E.g., invading from W Germany into Scotland involves two North Sea zones, but is the count 2, 3 or 4?

In this case it would be 3.
All understanding comes after the fact.
-- Soren Kierkegaard
Post Reply

Return to “Gary Grigsby's World at War: A World Divided”