My HQ has been in the church for about 4 or 5 turns now and it has had contact with arty for 2 of those turns and both times I could not order artillery.
The first time, they were suppressed, so I guessed that might have an effect.
The second time, however, they ARE NOT suppressed, the arty contact icon is green and, as you can see from the screen shot, I cannot order artillery.
From the manual...
It may well be that they have not cooled down (3 turns?) from the smoke barrage...but I am pretty certain they did...I am, after all, on turn 9. I ordered smoke on Turn 2 and it carries on for 3 turns? (I did only give the one order for smoke on turn 2), then that would take it to turn 8 for cool downAll artillery purchased is considered to be off board; i.e. they have no representation on the map. Although there are on-map mortars and infantry guns, the rules for these are different than for “artillery”. To use artillery, any Command unit of a platoon that is in radio contact for the turn can spot and call in fire support. This does not necessarily represent the commander having a radio, though in some cases that may be true. In general, it represents an abstracted forward observer and his contact with the various battle elements.
