Turn 1. Sep/Oct 1939. Axis #5.
Japan. Southern China. Pacific ZOC's. This optional rule states that only stacks containing 2 (non-partisan) corps or an HQ exert a ZOC on the Pacific (and Asia) scale. The implication for the Japanese in southern China is that they don't have the necessary ZOC on both rail lines (NE yes, SE no) running form the resource SE of Kweiyang. And, Japan won't be able to get both lines covered by ZOC's this turn, which means that this resource will reach a Chinese factory (this turn).
Japan. Southern China. Supply. So the Japanese units sitting on the coast are in supply back to (city in) Japan from the CP chain running through the South China Sea and/or China Sea. The stack NW of Canton, who isn't sitting on the coast, has to trace back to a secondary supply source, which is Yamamoto in this case. It's 3-hexes if Yamamoto is to trace supply through Canton (i.e., 2 hexes to Canton + 1 hex from the port to a city in Japan). When Yamamoto can trace supply through Canton he serve as a secondary supply source for a unlimited number of units. However, in rain, supply can only be traced 2-hexes, which means Yamamoto can't use Canton during rain. In CE, if an HQ is tracing supply overseas but not through a port it can only serve as a secondary supply source for a number of units equal to its reorg value. Again, Yamamoto himself and all other Japanese units sitting on the coast track supply via the CP-China and don't count again the number of units that can be supplied through Yamamoto. Fortunately for the Japanese air and land armies in the South, Yamamoto reorg value is just big enough to keep the stack NE of himself, NW of Canton, in supply.
As it sits now, Yamamoto can only trace supply through Canton during fine and snow. Also, note that Canton no longer borders both the South China and China Seas. In CE in now sits exclusively on the South China Sea.
