New to the game - Basic Questions

A sub-forum for players new to WIF, containing information on how to get started and become an experienced player.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

ORIGINAL: Centuur

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Germany declares Vichy. There's a French BB in Ajaccio, Corsica. Should Germany get the -2 DRM when determining the status (i.e., Vichy or Free) of the French colonies/admin groups?

If I am not wrong, in MWIF, which goes after WIF CE, Corsica is part of Metropolitan Vichy, so you dont get a minus 2

You are wrong. See the post just above yours. This has been answered in the FAQ of the board game.

Precisely I thought we agreed. The answer tells us where you get a -2
A: Only original French home country ports
count.
This does not include force pools,
scrap pile, repair pool, construction pool,
and production spiral, nor does it include
the port in the territory of Corsica
.

So Corsica doesnt count for that penalty.

Maybe you are referring to Corsica not being part of Metropolitan Vichy, but again I am right:
17. Vichy France

(...)
17.1 Creation

(...)
If you install a Vichy government, Metropolitan France itself is divided into 2 countries - Metropolitan Vichy France (including Corsica if still French controlled) and Occupied France.

User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8503
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

This is one of a very few FAQ replies from Harry that actually does not align with what the WiF-RaW-7-aug-04 rules say.

IMO he changed this rule rather than clarified it. At least that ruling was carried forward into the Collectors Edition, by clearly defining Corsica as a territory and dispensing with the term "Metropolitan France".

Unfortunately there are a number of other FAQ rulings that did align with WiF-RaW-7-aug-04, but got reversed in CE anyway.
Paul
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Are airborne units that are dropped at night flipped after combat even if the result doesn't call for it?
Ronnie
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

rkr1958 wrote: Mon Apr 18, 2022 11:04 pm Are airborne units that are dropped at night flipped after combat even if the result doesn't call for it?
Yes.

Cut from RAC 14.2.3 Night missions:
....
After it lands, any land unit you air transported, or paradropped, at night becomes disorganized.

Paradropping units must still fight any required combat normally (see - 11.15).
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

paulderynck wrote: Wed Feb 09, 2022 5:11 pm This is one of a very few FAQ replies from Harry that actually does not align with what the WiF-RaW-7-aug-04 rules say.

IMO he changed this rule rather than clarified it. At least that ruling was carried forward into the Collectors Edition, by clearly defining Corsica as a territory and dispensing with the term "Metropolitan France".

Unfortunately there are a number of other FAQ rulings that did align with WiF-RaW-7-aug-04, but got reversed in CE anyway.
That is sadly true for many "clarifications " on that document.
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Orm wrote: Tue Apr 19, 2022 12:33 am
rkr1958 wrote: Mon Apr 18, 2022 11:04 pm Are airborne units that are dropped at night flipped after combat even if the result doesn't call for it?
Yes.

Cut from RAC 14.2.3 Night missions:
....
After it lands, any land unit you air transported, or paradropped, at night becomes disorganized.

Paradropping units must still fight any required combat normally (see - 11.15).
Thanks! Makes sense.
Ronnie
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Here's the situation. Japan finds in the Coral Sea on rolls of 1/8. They decide to fight a sub combat against the USA in the 0-box, which gives them 10 surprise points. They use 4 SPs to reduce their risk from D, A to none.

The initial risk for the USA is 2D, A. Japan's goal is to sink both USA CPs so using any of the remaining SPs to shift USA risk to the right from 8 sub factors vs 2 CPs (1 SCS)=2D,A to X (1 col w/4 SPs left), X,D(2 cols w/2 SPs left) or X,D,2A(3 cols w/0 SPs left) doesn't improve Japan's situation; that is sinking both CPs and having enough SPs left to put risk on the lone CL.

So Japan keeps their 6 remaining SPs at USN risk of 2D, A. They allow the 2D to sink the CPs. Now, here's my question. We thought after that that Japan could use 3 of the 6 remaining SPs to put the remaining A on the USN CL. However, they weren't allowed by MWiF to do this. Is this correct?
Attachments
03-AX-Pacific-Coral-Sea.jpg
03-AX-Pacific-Coral-Sea.jpg (871.74 KiB) Viewed 835 times
Ronnie
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

rkr1958 wrote: Fri Apr 29, 2022 8:32 pm We thought after that that Japan could use 3 of the 6 remaining SPs to put the remaining A on the USN CL. However, they weren't allowed by MWiF to do this. Is this correct?
I think the rule is to allow the use of SPs to put the final A on the CL. And I think this should be posted as a bug.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9080
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

It's a bug...
Peter
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Orm wrote: Sat Apr 30, 2022 7:36 am
rkr1958 wrote: Fri Apr 29, 2022 8:32 pm We thought after that that Japan could use 3 of the 6 remaining SPs to put the remaining A on the USN CL. However, they weren't allowed by MWiF to do this. Is this correct?
I think the rule is to allow the use of SPs to put the final A on the CL. And I think this should be posted as a bug.
Centuur wrote: Sat Apr 30, 2022 12:30 pm It's a bug...
Thanks guys. I'll post it in the tech section along with another bug I think I've encountered. But first I need to run both through the latest version to see if they haven't been corrected. We playing with version 3.2.
Ronnie
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

I (we) need some rules expertise here ...

Playing with limited oversea supply, which requires CP/TRS/AMPH (chain) to flow supplies through sea area(s). Also, Germany installed Vichy.

Under what conditions could a(an):

(1) Italian CP be used to supply Vichy units?
(2) Italian CP be used to transport a Vichy RP to a Vichy factory?
(3) Vichy CP be used to supply Germany units?
(4) Vichy CP be used to supply Italian units?
(5) Vichy CP be used to transport a German RP to a German factory?
(6) Vichy CP be used to transport an Italian RP to an Italian factory?
Ronnie
User avatar
Dabrion
Posts: 740
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:26 am
Location: Northpole

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Dabrion »

The answer to all these is never/none. Supply depends on cooperation, resource transport depends on being on the same side.
"If we come to a minefield, our infantry attacks exactly as it were not there." ~ Georgy Zhukov
User avatar
craigbear
Posts: 769
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 2:30 am
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by craigbear »

Also, though, is Vichy hostile or at war with any ally, that may matter.
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9080
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

craigbear wrote: Fri May 27, 2022 7:25 pm Also, though, is Vichy hostile or at war with any ally, that may matter.
That's it. The FAQ of the game answer the question about supply:

Playing with Limited Overseas Supply, can
a neutral CP / TRS / AMPH provide supply
to friendly units of other major powers?
No.


A neutral Vichy cannot provide supply for Axis units. However, when Vichy is active (hostile or at war), they can provide supply to all Axis units and vice versa.

The same applies for transporting resources. A neutral Vichy can only transport it's own resources. If Vichy is active, it can transport all Axis resources.
Peter
User avatar
Dabrion
Posts: 740
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:26 am
Location: Northpole

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Dabrion »

In RAW7 that is possible, since LOS only requires friendly (e.g. same side) CP.
"If we come to a minefield, our infantry attacks exactly as it were not there." ~ Georgy Zhukov
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Dabrion wrote: Fri May 27, 2022 6:53 pm The answer to all these is never/none. Supply depends on cooperation, resource transport depends on being on the same side.
Same side yes, cooperation not sure, regarding convs. It is true that friendly (like you said in the following post) conv can carry supply to a secondary even if it does not cooperate.

However, can a not at war Vichy be "friendly"? Dunno.
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9080
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

Joseignacio wrote: Sat May 28, 2022 10:09 am
Dabrion wrote: Fri May 27, 2022 6:53 pm The answer to all these is never/none. Supply depends on cooperation, resource transport depends on being on the same side.
Same side yes, cooperation not sure, regarding convs. It is true that friendly (like you said in the following post) conv can carry supply to a secondary even if it does not cooperate.

However, can a not at war Vichy be "friendly"? Dunno.
Yes, they are friendly, because they are at the same side (in this case Axis). The same is true for the Italians if they are neutral. But only if a major power is active (at war), than it can transport resources and be part of a supply chain for units controlled by other major powers on it's side.
Peter
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

You are right about resources. I was just addressing the supply matter.

And I guess you are right in the interpretation of Friendly.
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30598
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Centuur wrote: Fri May 27, 2022 9:26 pm
craigbear wrote: Fri May 27, 2022 7:25 pm Also, though, is Vichy hostile or at war with any ally, that may matter.
That's it. The FAQ of the game answer the question about supply:

Playing with Limited Overseas Supply, can
a neutral CP / TRS / AMPH provide supply
to friendly units of other major powers?
No.


A neutral Vichy cannot provide supply for Axis units. However, when Vichy is active (hostile or at war), they can provide supply to all Axis units and vice versa.

The same applies for transporting resources. A neutral Vichy can only transport it's own resources. If Vichy is active, it can transport all Axis resources.
Thanks guys! If you please I'd like to ask some follow-up with specifics in one of my current games. Specifically, let me tell you what MWIF is doing and I'll like your expert opinion(s) if you agree with it or not. Thanks in advance!

General situation: (1) Germany declared Vichy. (2) Vichy is inactive. (3) All colonies and territories went Vichy (ouch!). (4) Both Germany & Italy are at war with the CW. (5) USSR is at war with Japan (not relevant I assumed). (6) Playing with limited oversea supply. (7) NOT playing with limited supply across straights. (8) Vichy has 1 saved oil whom that got from Germany LAST turn.

Specific follow up questions:
(1) The axis player was able to get supply to the Vichy BB Strasbourg in Ajaccio, Corsica through the Italian CP in the West Med this turn. Prior to this turn and with no CP in the West Med the Vichy BB was out of supply.

(2) The axis player was able to oil the BB Strasbourg, assuming by use of the Italian CP in the West Med.

(3) However; the axis player was NOT able to use the Italian CP to transport the Bechar, Algerian RP to a Vichy factory.
Attachments
Italian-CP-and-Vichy-Supply-Transport.jpg
Italian-CP-and-Vichy-Supply-Transport.jpg (1.42 MiB) Viewed 662 times
Ronnie
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9080
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

Playing with Limited Overseas Supply, can
a neutral CP / TRS / AMPH provide supply
to friendly units of other major powers?
No.



If Italy is active, it can provide supply to friendly units. And Vichy is friendly to Italy. No bug. If there is no Italian convoy point in the Western Med, the BB is correctly stated to be out of supply, since an inactive major power cannot trace supply through friendly hexes it doesn't control.

RAW:

Active major powers may contribute to the convoy chain of any other
major power on the same side.


So if Italy is active, it can transport the Vichy resource according to the rules. This therefore is a bug, if the Italian convoy isn't transporting another Axis controlled resource.
Peter
Post Reply

Return to “WIF School”