New to the game - Basic Questions

A sub-forum for players new to WIF, containing information on how to get started and become an experienced player.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

User avatar
Orm
Posts: 30876
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

It remains OOS if the game is restarted.
MECHinKolaSupplyBug.zip
(1.59 MiB) Downloaded 5 times
MECHinKolaSupplyBug
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9070
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

Orm wrote: Thu Jul 03, 2025 3:04 pm It remains OOS if the game is restarted.

MECHinKolaSupplyBug.zip
MECHinKolaSupplyBug
Bug. That Mech should be in supply.
Peter
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3027
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

It has happened to me several times, I recall one in Irak, however, another hex with the same distance for supply let the unit be in supply. So I suggest that you try with some other hexes aroud that may be valid for your plans , check if they get supply and use them.

It happened in the Caucasus as well.
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29992
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Orm wrote: Thu Jul 03, 2025 3:04 pm It remains OOS if the game is restarted.

MECHinKolaSupplyBug.zip
MECHinKolaSupplyBug
I loaded this file in 3.2.0 and it still shows the UK mech corps out of supply.
Ronnie
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29992
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

If you elect NOT to install Vichy when first asked, can you then install it on a later turn?
Ronnie
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3027
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

rkr1958 wrote: Sat Jul 12, 2025 1:08 pm If you elect NOT to install Vichy when first asked, can you then install it on a later turn?
According to the rules, IMO, you should be able to. In the board game we considered it that way. I cannot see any compulsion to do it the first turn it is taken or any forbidding to do it later.
7.4.23. VICHY DECLARATION (RAC 17.1)
If an Axis major power controls Paris and France is not conquered, that Axis major power is asked if it wants to install a Vichy Government (see RAC 17.1 for more restrictions on when Vichy France can be declared).
17.1. CREATION
An Axis major power can choose to install a Vichy Government if one of its in-supply land units occupies Paris in a peace step and France is not conquered (Clarification: And the U.S.A. and Germany are not at war). If more than one Axis major power occupies Paris, then Germany has first choice as to whether it wishes to establish a Vichy government.
Just remember that, If both european Axis MP have units in Paris, and you want it to be controlled by IT, you need to say NO the first time you are offered, so that you can say YES right afterwards, with IT. The only clue that you are being offered exclusively as GE is the grey colour of the background that most of the times players will not pay attention to.

A good improvement would be to get a question "Do you want to declare Vichy as Germany (note that you'll be able to do so with Italy)?" instead of just "Do you want to declare Vichy?"
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29992
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Jose,

As always, thanks!
Ronnie
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3027
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Cheers!

A question:

In RAW IIRW you can destroy a Supply unit (e.g. if it can be captured easily by the enemy). Cannot see in the manuals or the RAC this possibility. Is it absent or it can be done? If so, how and when?

Edit: Actually, it may not be so in RAW, I couldnt find it either, what do you think?
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29992
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Joseignacio wrote: Fri Jul 25, 2025 10:13 pm Cheers!

A question:

In RAW IIRW you can destroy a Supply unit (e.g. if it can be captured easily by the enemy). Cannot see in the manuals or the RAC this possibility. Is it absent or it can be done? If so, how and when?

Edit: Actually, it may not be so in RAW, I couldnt find it either, what do you think?
In CE (22.3), "if you overrun a supply unit with a partisan the supply unit is destroyed. If any other land unit overruns it, you may either destroy it or replace it with one of your own (choose randomly)."

In MWIF (RAC 22.4.10), "Your land units can enter a hex containing only an enemy supply unit without having to overrun it. You can then either destroy the supply unit or replace it with one of your own (chosen randomly)."

So, according the RAC, if you overrun a supply unit in MWIF you should either be able to capture or destroy it. Not sure if that's not working properly, if you need to "right click" or do something else to destroy it.
Ronnie
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29992
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

I have one for you guys.

(1) Spain & Spanish Morocco are neutral.

(2) Ge He 100 is based as shown in Morocco (assume basing on top of either a HQ or eng).

(3) What is the air range to Gibraltar?

(4) Is it 4 (red line) or is it 5 (black line)?
999-Air-Range.png
999-Air-Range.png (1.47 MiB) Viewed 1552 times
Ronnie
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8485
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

You cannot fly over neutral territory so it is 5.
Paul
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29992
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

paulderynck wrote: Sat Jul 26, 2025 4:01 am You cannot fly over neutral territory so it is 5.
As always, thanks!
Ronnie
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3027
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

rkr1958 wrote: Sat Jul 26, 2025 1:04 am
Joseignacio wrote: Fri Jul 25, 2025 10:13 pm Cheers!

A question:

In RAW IIRW you can destroy a Supply unit (e.g. if it can be captured easily by the enemy). Cannot see in the manuals or the RAC this possibility. Is it absent or it can be done? If so, how and when?

Edit: Actually, it may not be so in RAW, I couldnt find it either, what do you think?
In CE (22.3), "if you overrun a supply unit with a partisan the supply unit is destroyed. If any other land unit overruns it, you may either destroy it or replace it with one of your own (choose randomly)."

In MWIF (RAC 22.4.10), "Your land units can enter a hex containing only an enemy supply unit without having to overrun it. You can then either destroy the supply unit or replace it with one of your own (chosen randomly)."

So, according the RAC, if you overrun a supply unit in MWIF you should either be able to capture or destroy it. Not sure if that's not working properly, if you need to "right click" or do something else to destroy it.
Yes, thanks, although that was not exactly what I was asking. I meant destroy it yourself before it is captured by the enemy, for example it is with a DIV and next impulse several Corps will attack. But I must have remembered wrong, and this is only for oil and others, because I found no trace of this in RAW or RAC.

I kept the question in case someone found a chapter of the rules addressing this that I might not have seen.

I think I captured one in a previous game and somehow the game must have offered me to destroy or kill it, because I remember having it. So that works as intended.
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3027
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Captura de pantalla 2025-07-31 125206.png
Captura de pantalla 2025-07-31 125206.png (223.38 KiB) Viewed 1473 times
How about this plane? What is it supposed to do for me with it's white print?

It is clear it cannot paradrop, but I have tried to do something else, cant recall if Ground Strile, Reorg a unit, or Air Transport, and it didnt let me.

I guess it may be due to the unit being on mountain land, or maybe due to the plane being a Flying Boat and not being able to resupply other units on land?

I am a bit puzzled, went through the descriptions of these units but still...
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9070
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

It can air transport infantry divisions (not motorized ones) and PARA or MTN corps. And it can also be used for air supply missions.
Peter
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 30876
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

Joseignacio wrote: Thu Jul 31, 2025 11:04 am Captura de pantalla 2025-07-31 125206.pngHow about this plane? What is it supposed to do for me with it's white print?

It is clear it cannot paradrop, but I have tried to do something else, cant recall if Ground Strile, Reorg a unit, or Air Transport, and it didnt let me.

I guess it may be due to the unit being on mountain land, or maybe due to the plane being a Flying Boat and not being able to resupply other units on land?

I am a bit puzzled, went through the descriptions of these units but still...
When using it for air transportation all the hexes it lands in (hex it transports a unit to) must be coastal hexes since it is a sea-plane. This makes it less useful inland (in China or Manchuria for example), but in the Pacific it can do much with its great range and many islands available.

Note that when re-supplying a unit (organize) the target hex does not need to be landed in.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3027
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Thanks, that is what I was supposing.
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 29992
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Land Combat Calculation?

(1) Hey guys help me with this calculation please.

(2) FYI - this land combat is a NO GO! - but I can't resolve my LC calculation vs MWIF.

(3) MWIF gives +1.167 and I calculate +1.214 as follows ...

(4) Attacker -> 18 LCF & +1.5 HQ support.

(5) Defender -> 9 LCF + 9 Shore Bombardment + 3 Ground Support = 21 DF.

(6) No flips and it's raining (-2)

(7) Calculated Odds = (18/21) x 2 + 1.5 HQ Support - 2 Rain = 1.714 - 0.5 = +1.214.

(8) MWIF shows +1.167?
999-LC-Calculation.png
999-LC-Calculation.png (229.2 KiB) Viewed 50 times
Ronnie
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 30876
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

Your discrepancy is because the odds is lower than 1:1, and the Calculated Odds does not follow the formula (AF/DF) x 2 then. The attacking odds 2:3 is +1 but with the formula used above it would be +1,33. This affects the fractional odds as well. Thus the error. To tired now to explain it better.
0000.jpg
0000.jpg (351.75 KiB) Viewed 47 times
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3027
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

It is as Orm says,

You have an initial ratio of 18/21.

With 14/21 you get 2/3 so a +1

Then you would have needed 7/21 more (14/21+7/21) to reach a +2 (21/21) aaaaand there is a rule that I cant recall, that calculates the extra decimals on these data.

I never fully cared to understand this ruling, which was seldom used because of the strange case...

In fact, with my weak knowledge I think I would say you should get 2/3 ---> +1 , then 4/7 to reach another +1 (to +2), so this is a 0.571428 extra. 1+0,571428 -0.5: 1.0071428

But in this I am just speculating according to this. MWIF uses a system that is more similar to :
Odds ratios
Compare the attacker’s total to the defender’s total and work out the basic ratio between them. Round the ratio to a whole number. Always round in favour of the defender. For example, 19:5 rounds to 3:1, not 4:1.
(...)
Option 41: (Fractional odds) Round to a whole number in favour of the defender, then work out how far to the next odds ratio you are.

Round this in favour of the defender to the next 10%. Roll a die just before rolling the combat die (you could roll it with the combat die if you want), to see if you find the result on the lower odds or the higher odds. If you roll the percentage or less, you resolve it on the next higher odds, otherwise on the lower odds.

Example 1: 12:7 rounds to 3:2. But you have a spare 1.5 factors. This is 42.9% of the way to 2:1 (i.e. 1.5/3.5). So you get a 40% chance (i.e. a roll of 1-4) of resolving the combat at 2:1. Example 2: 35:6 is 5.83:1 which rounds down to 5:1 but with an 80% chance of resolving the combat at 6:1.
I believe MWIF uses some other calculation but that it mainly follows the ratio between the extra factors left after reaching a proportion (e.g. 14/21=2/3 ---> +1, 4/21 left) , 4 being the numerator, and what you would need to have to reach the next proportion , i.e. 7/21 more. So you get 4/7 of the next rise, so 0,571428 of the next 1 point gap.

Of course it is not working like this (although it should unless Steven has made a not warned deviation, I checked RAC as well, but it does not, so there is something I must have wrong. Or it might be a bug.
Post Reply

Return to “WIF School”