Does the game do the Overruns right? What about this one

Post bug reports and ask for game support here.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

Post Reply
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3042
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Does the game do the Overruns right? What about this one

Post by Joseignacio »

Captura de pantalla 2025-08-02 213325.png
Captura de pantalla 2025-08-02 213325.png (1.19 MiB) Viewed 173 times
The unit's ratio is 18:3, a +12 plus 2.5 from armor, plus 2 for flipped, totalling 16,5, 16 is needed. Weather is fine, of course.

The game allows me to move them and overrun these units but then they get stucked.

I had previously moved units in the south so that they were not OOS (Even though if overrunning while being in supply and then getting OOS, they should still be able to move - and flip at the end, obviously).

Note: The Armor stack overran the art and the plane but the supply line stayed.

I enclose another image, after the move, and with the overrunning units stacked. the units in the initial hex (headed by a 2-4 inf div) were added after the overrun was done and the units stacked.

Edit: after moving units but before doing the problematic overrun, under the 7 factors bomber there was a flipped AA holding the line, so that the line was 6-4-5 HQ, AA, 1-4, 5-3, 8-6 stack. The 2-4 was not there yet.
Captura de pantalla 2025-08-02 213325.png
Captura de pantalla 2025-08-02 213325.png (1.19 MiB) Viewed 173 times
I want to know if I am right that I should be able to move them (even individually) up to the limit of their move capacity (taking into account that the overrun madr that hex cost 2, not one).
Attachments
Captura de pantalla 2025-08-02 214741.png
Captura de pantalla 2025-08-02 214741.png (1.55 MiB) Viewed 173 times
Last edited by Joseignacio on Sat Aug 02, 2025 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3042
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Does the game do the Overruns right? What about thiis one

Post by Joseignacio »

BTW, is one of these wrong? They are possible to have a 7:1 but reach a +16 but it is odd that the conditions are different in RAC and table:
Captura de pantalla 2025-08-02 233458.png
Captura de pantalla 2025-08-02 233458.png (154.36 KiB) Viewed 161 times
Attachments
Captura de pantalla 2025-08-02 233615.png
Captura de pantalla 2025-08-02 233615.png (310.83 KiB) Viewed 161 times
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8494
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Does the game do the Overruns right? What about this one

Post by paulderynck »

Looks right to me. Under Overruns it states: "You can continue moving the units after they overrun but, if they are in an enemy ZOC, they can only do so by further overrunning."

Overrun at 7-1 is for 1D10. Overrun at +16 is for 2D10 in RAW7.

Notably, in CE the 2D10 +16 was removed and no matter which combat table you use, you need odds of 7-1 (not to be confused with +14) or better to overrun. In other words, in CE, there is no such thing as 2D10 overrun.
Paul
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3042
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Does the game do the Overruns right? What about this one

Post by Joseignacio »

Thanks, Paul. I was equating 7:1 to +14, because in 2d10, which is commonly used, that is what it is.

I guess it may make sense if that is for 1d10.

I understand that it looks as if the letter of the rule (which is what we usually agree upon) says "if you are IN a ZOC you cannot move anymore unless you are overunning some other unit" or something like this.

However, in the general rules of the game you are only stopped by a ZOC when you ENTER it, not when you LEAVE it. So, in our board games we always allowed the overunning unit to move further as long as they didnt ENTER any more ZOCs with the previous mentioned exception.

From RAC:
A unit must always end its move when it enters an enemy ZOC (exception: it can continue moving if it then overruns a land unit in the next hex; see 11.11.6). You can move a unit which starts its move in an enemy ZOC directly into another enemy ZOC (even a ZOC of the same unit).
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3042
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Does the game do the Overruns right? What about this one

Post by Joseignacio »

Forget it, I believe I had it wrong from our board games.
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”