Blitzkriegsupply question

War in Russia is a free update of the old classic, available in our Downloads section.
Post Reply
Leman
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2001 8:00 am
Location: The Netherlands

Blitzkriegsupply question

Post by Leman »

Hi everybody,

Newbie asking help. Note: I don't have the PDF-manual. My current Blitzkrieg-supplypath from friendly railroad is:
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 1 1 1 1

is this correct?

Or should it be:
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0

Thanks,
heiks
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 10:00 am
Location: Athens of Finland
Contact:

Post by heiks »

Originally posted by Leman:
Hi everybody,

Newbie asking help. Note: I don't have the PDF-manual. My current Blitzkrieg-supplypath from friendly railroad is:
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 1 1 1 1

is this correct?

Or should it be:
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0

Thanks,

The way it works IMO is that if there are several railroads through which the supply line can be drawn, the highest supply level for the nex is used.

So the latter case is correct, if there are no other railroads that could improve the supply level of the hexes farther away from the railroad.
In reality however you'll probably notice that there are other railroads that carry the supply to those hexes with supply level 1.
"Bingeley bingeley beep!"
- Terry Pratchett, Feet of Clay
Popov
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 10:00 am
Location: France

Post by Popov »

No, it is not a question of railroads. The problem I have is that when Andi penetrates my territory with Pz Korps he never runs out of supply, there is always I supply of 1.

Railroads come later when conquered and fixed.

Is that a possible cause ? - I use Richie's improved unit graphics files.
Leman
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2001 8:00 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Leman »

Hi,

I'm playing a PBEM-game with Popov. I think the problem is my supplylines show up during his turn as:
4 3 2 1 1 1 1

During my turn those level 1 supply hexes convert back to level 0:

4 3 2 1 0 0 0
RickyB
Posts: 1151
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Denver, CO USA

Post by RickyB »

I believe units carry at least the SL 1 with them when they move into enemy territory. Then, as Leman says, the SL 1 will convert the next turn to the appropriate level from the railhead. Is there a real issue during the opponent turn in between that is being raised here?
Rick Bancroft
Semper Fi


Image

Leman
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2001 8:00 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Leman »

To RickyB,

No real issue, my opponent just thought my Panzers never ran out of supply. Thought it was a bug.

Leman
RickyB
Posts: 1151
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Denver, CO USA

Post by RickyB »

Hi Leman,

I wasn't sure if having these SL 1 hexes had a game affect that I couldn't think of. There could be an impact on retreats if the lead unit is attacked, but I am not sure - I always try to cut it off anyway, but I guess if they were SL 0 already you wouldn't have to as I think that leads to a shatter. Anyway, that is what I am wondering about, as if there is no gameplay affect, it is probably working as designed, but if there is an impact on gameplay, then depending on what it is the issue should be looked at. Anybody have any thoughts on this?
Rick Bancroft
Semper Fi


Image

Ed Cogburn
Posts: 1641
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Greeneville, Tennessee - GO VOLS!
Contact:

Post by Ed Cogburn »

Originally posted by RickyB:
Hi Leman,

I wasn't sure if having these SL 1 hexes had a game affect that I couldn't think of. There could be an impact on retreats if the lead unit is attacked, but I am not sure - I always try to cut it off anyway, but I guess if they were SL 0 already you wouldn't have to as I think that leads to a shatter. Anyway, that is what I am wondering about, as if there is no gameplay affect, it is probably working as designed, but if there is an impact on gameplay, then depending on what it is the issue should be looked at. Anybody have any thoughts on this?


I think this needs to stay as it is now, with the SL1 trailing the armored corps, but converting on the next turn to whatever it should be. If we forced the armored corps to move from SL0 to SL0 hexes on the turn of penetration, this would lead to severe damage to the corps including equipment losses, depending on whatever current rules are in effect for movement while out-of-supply. I don't think Gary would want that, and I would say the corps, knowing its about to make a deep penetration, is carrying extra supplies with it to represent those SL1 hexes instead of SL0 hexes at the end of its move. On the turn of penetration the armored corps should have the initiative and advantage I think, but the danger should rightfully come if the penetration is too deep and the corps is left at SL0 on the following turn.
RickyB
Posts: 1151
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Denver, CO USA

Post by RickyB »

I agree completely with what you are saying, Ed. I have never seen a problem with this part, but it does come up fairly often and I am not sure if there is an actual problem here or not. The only possible change I would consider would be to have the hexes convert at the start of the opponent turn, but only if there is a problem having them stay in place. I don't see one, but I wonder if anybody does?
Rick Bancroft
Semper Fi


Image

Post Reply

Return to “War In Russia: The Matrix Edition”