So, I am confused about when a Carrier can attack a Sub. The rule book says that can attack if the Carrier is on the convoy lane. I can see his American subs getting attacked by Japanese Carriers.
Yet, when he takes the CVL Hermes to attack a Japanese sub on the Indian Ocean lane he cannot attack it.
From another post gwgardner said:
The manual needs to be changed. Carriers can no longer directly attack subs, unless in shallow water. Carriers add a bonus to convoy escorts if placed on a convoy lane - ie an indirect attack on subs.
Sousa seems to back this up that the manual is wrong.
Then why are the American subs getting into combat with the Japanese CV's. Is this just how the game shows the CVs helping out the escorts?