Rule 9.7 says that each minor only gives up half it resources rounded down.
Case:
1) Play all 6 sides (without supplies for ease)
2) Conquer Netherlands, France and Yugoslavia + Garrison Eastern France.
3) Roll forward a turn till the summer 40 German production phase.
Now, it would seem reasonable for the Germans to get 3 resources from Free Trade (1 from Sweden, 1 from Spain and 1 from Turkey) - but the actual number is no less than 8.
If you dont trust the F7 screen you can do the following to truly verify this number.
4) Build factories and whatever untill at some turn in 42 you have spent every single resource you have.
5) Roll forward to the next German Production phase.
Then count the actual resources you have to spent. Notice how this is 8 more than you should have if you dont count in free trade but do count in the 3 from Russia.
Puzzled yet? There is still more to come.
6) Move transporters to the Western Med, Central Med, the Baltic Sea and the Gulf of Finland.
Now you are getting 12 resources from Free Trades.
As far as I can see the following is happening.
8 = 3 Spain, 1 Portugal, 2 Turkey and 2 Persia
12 = those 8 + Sweden 3 + Norway 1
So, not only is Germany getting ALL the resources from the minors as opposed to half rounded down - but its also getting resources from countries that trace a path through other neutral minors. My guess is that the first part is because the minor is giving half its accumulated resource pool rather than half its printed resources. The second half might be intended and might just be a bug.
Edit: re-reading the rule again I figure this might be half ways indended anyway and just me that read it wrong (even if it is still oddly written to me).
rule 9.7 reads
Neutral Nationalities send a portion of their Resource Points to World Powers (called ‘Free Trade’) as long as a path of friendly land regions or Transport Fleets from the
Neutral region to a region controlled by the World Power exists. Each player gets 1/2 of
the Neutral’s Resource Pool (rounded down, i.e. one Resource Point yields none, two
Resource Points yield one, five Resource Points yields two, etc.). This Free Trade is
distributed on a first-come, first-served basis during any turn. Thus, Germany will always
get first crack at a Neutral’s Resource Points each turn.
It does read "Resource Pool" but it also talks about 1 Resource Point (which seems rather odd as the pool for a Neutral would always seem to hold an even number). It also talks about "friendly land regions" which to me would imply that the path cannot include other neutrals but the game does indicate otherwise.
As always - opinions are most welcome. Maybe someone can come up with a scenario where the "rounded down" actually applies so it can make a bit more sense.
Another edit: Seeing I forgot to include Greece I simply dont get it. Not one bit.