OT - rules questions

World in Flames is the computer version of Australian Design Group classic board game. World In Flames is a highly detailed game covering the both Europe and Pacific Theaters of Operations during World War II. If you want grand strategy this game is for you.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

User avatar
michaelbaldur
Posts: 4805
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 6:28 pm
Location: denmark

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by michaelbaldur »

Denmark have 5 naval units.

and you need at least half at home

so it is 2 heavy cruisers and 2CP
the wif rulebook is my bible

I work hard, not smart.

beta tester and Mwif expert

if you have questions or issues with the game, just contact me on Michaelbaldur1@gmail.com
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 30943
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by Orm »

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Can you set up the 2 heavy cruisers and 1CP (or tanker) in Denmark to achieve the minor country set up requirements?

This would leave 5CP (or tankers) for set up outside of Denmark.
This is the way MWIF count units for minor country set up.
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
Extraneous
Posts: 1810
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:58 am

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by Extraneous »

Thank you michaelbaldur and Orm.

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)
Extraneous
Posts: 1810
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:58 am

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by Extraneous »

I have two questions on China.

1) Just for clarification is China the home country to both the Nationalists Chinese and the Communists Chinese? Or do the Communists Chinese have to meet "Foreign troop commitments" in China.
2.5 Control
Entities
There are 2 geographical entities in the game ~ home countries and territories. Home countries have capital cities, territories do not. A home country consists of every hex that a MAR could reach from the capital of that home country without crossing a red political boundary or entering a hex containing the name of another major power (e.g. all of mainland China including Japanese occupied China is part of the Chinese home nation, but Hainan and Formosa are not).


2) Does the USA player have to select US entry options "Chinese build aircraft" and "Start strategic bomber production" before they can build the LND4: TB-3 (1,1,2,5,11)
13.6.5 Building units
Limitations
You may only build some Chinese and US units after you have chosen US entry options that let you build those units (see 13.3.2 US entry options, entry options 1 Chinese build aircraft and 28 Start strategic bomber production).

13.3.2 US entry options
1. Chinese build aircraft (Ja) (There is a 30% chance a USA (Ja) entry pool chit will be moved to the USA (Ja) tension pool)
You must choose this entry option before China can build any aircraft unit.

28. Start strategic bomber production (either) the USA plays this against either (Ge/It) entry pool and tension pool or (Ja) entry pool and tension pool
(There is a 50% chance that a USA entry pool chit will be moved to the USA tension pool)
The US can’t produce 4-turn LNDs until this entry option is chosen.


University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)
oscar72se
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: Gothenburg Sweden

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by oscar72se »

Hi,
Found the following in RAW:
ORIGINAL: Extraneous

I have two questions on China.

1) Just for clarification is China the home country to both the Nationalists Chinese and the Communists Chinese? Or do the Communists Chinese have to meet "Foreign troop commitments" in China.

If I understand things correctly, "Foreign troop commitments" does not apply in this case:
20. Chinese communists
...
However, nationalist and communist Chinese units go into the same force pools. They are built by the nationalist player but he or she has no choice whether to produce nationalist or communist units.
Apart from the above (and the placement of reinforcements ~ see 4.2), Communist and Nationalist Chinese count as one major power for all purposes (e.g. they can't be conquered separately, declaring war on them is only one US entry effect, etc.)
...

IMHO, RAW is pretty straightforward in this particular case:
ORIGINAL: Extraneous

2) Does the USA player have to select US entry options "Chinese build aircraft" and "Start strategic bomber production" before they can build the LND4: TB-3 (1,1,2,5,11)
1. Chinese build aircraft - You must choose this entry option before China can build any aircraft unit
28. Start strategic bomber production - The US can’t produce 4-turn LNDs until this entry option is chosen.
So, if China wishes to build an aircraft, any aircraft, choose option 1. If the US wishes to build 4-engine aircraft, she should choose option 28.

Regards,
Oscar

Extraneous
Posts: 1810
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:58 am

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by Extraneous »

Excellent I knew I was missing something on the Chinese home country.

13.6.5 Building units
Limitations
You may only build some Chinese and US units after you have chosen US entry options that let you build those units (see 13.3.2 US entry options, entry options 1 Chinese build aircraft and 28 Start strategic bomber production).

So your saying that it should be read:

You may only build some units after you have chosen the US entry options that lets you build those units (for the Chinese: US entry option 1 Chinese build aircraft) (for the USA: US entry option 28 Start strategic bomber production).


University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)
Shannon V. OKeets
Posts: 22165
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Contact:

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by Shannon V. OKeets »

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Excellent I knew I was missing something on the Chinese home country.

13.6.5 Building units
Limitations
You may only build some Chinese and US units after you have chosen US entry options that let you build those units (see 13.3.2 US entry options, entry options 1 Chinese build aircraft and 28 Start strategic bomber production).

So your saying that it should be read:

You may only build some units after you have chosen the US entry options that lets you build those units (for the Chinese: US entry option 1 Chinese build aircraft) (for the USA: US entry option 28 Start strategic bomber production).


The rules concerning Nationalist and Communist China have been a nightmare to code. NC controls all the non-city hexes in China controlled by any Chinese unit. CC and NC both control cities (separately). This makes the CC Chinese cities their primary supply sources; and the same for the NC held Chinese cities. Units from either group can traverse the hexes in China held by NC without changing who controls them. But if they enter a city held by the other, then control of the city hex changes.

And here is another exception to the general rules on supply. As soon as the hex changes control, it can be used by the new owner (and is no longer available to the previous owner as a primary supply source). That is different from control of any other primary supply source. For instance, if NC occupies a Chinese city previously held by Japan, then it doesn't become a primary supply source until the next turn. That's the standard rule for retaking city hexes in a unit's home country.

Another recent clarification concerning CC and NC is that the Activity Limits for CC are the intersection of the activity limits of China and the USSR. So if China takes a Land action, while the USSR takes a Combined (this happens all the time in early in the war), then CC is restricted in how many land moves & land attacks it can make - with all of the CC land moves and attacks counting against the USSR limits.
Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.
oscar72se
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: Gothenburg Sweden

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by oscar72se »

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

So your saying that it should be read:

You may only build some units after you have chosen the US entry options that lets you build those units (for the Chinese: US entry option 1 Chinese build aircraft) (for the USA: US entry option 28 Start strategic bomber production).
Yepp, China can't build anything that flies before option 1. After that, they can build any aircraft. USA can build 1-engine and 2-engine aircraft from start, but they can't build any LND 4 before option 28 is chosen.
[:)]

Regards,
Oscar
Extraneous
Posts: 1810
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:58 am

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by Extraneous »

Just to clarify some things.
Note 1: #/# = Nationalist/Communist (Communists can only set up within 3 hexes of Si-An or Lan-Chow but not in Nationalist cities)

1) When playing the "24.4.7 The Global war: Sep/Oct 1939 ~ Jul/Aug 1945" does this rule apply?

2) "Set up within 3 hexes of Si-An or Lan-Chow but not in Nationalist cities" are these European or Asian scale hexes?

3) West of the scenario start line or anywhere in China "within 3 hexes of Si-An or Lan-Chow"?


University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)
Shannon V. OKeets
Posts: 22165
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Contact:

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by Shannon V. OKeets »

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Just to clarify some things.
Note 1: #/# = Nationalist/Communist (Communists can only set up within 3 hexes of Si-An or Lan-Chow but not in Nationalist cities)

1) When playing the "24.4.7 The Global war: Sep/Oct 1939 ~ Jul/Aug 1945" does this rule apply?

2) "Set up within 3 hexes of Si-An or Lan-Chow but not in Nationalist cities" are these European or Asian scale hexes?

3) West of the scenario start line or anywhere in China "within 3 hexes of Si-An or Lan-Chow"?


For MWIF, the limit is 9 hexes, from any Communist controlled city. The flags in the screenshot that Orm provided in another thread can be used to determine the other Communist held cities (if the optional rule for additional Chinese cities is ON).

Warlords have to set up within 6 hexes of their home city - and cannot move any farther away from it than that.
Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.
oscar72se
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: Gothenburg Sweden

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by oscar72se »

I haven't looked in the rule book for this one, but this is how our gaming group always played it:
1) Yes
2) Asian
3) For Nationalists the scenario start line, for the Communists within 3 hexes from Si-An or Lan-Chow

I think it is according to RAW [;)]

Regards,
Oscar
Extraneous
Posts: 1810
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:58 am

RE: OT - rules questions

Post by Extraneous »

ORIGINAL: oscar72se

I haven't looked in the rule book for this one, but this is how our gaming group always played it:
1) Yes
2) Asian
3) For Nationalists the scenario start line, for the Communists within 3 hexes from Si-An or Lan-Chow

I think it is according to RAW [;)]

Regards,
Oscar

Yes, in WiF (the board game) your right but CWiF (ADG) MWiF (Matrix) changed all map hexes to the same scale.

That's why I asked about the number of hexes in China.

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)
Post Reply

Return to “World in Flames”