New to the game - Basic Questions

A sub-forum for players new to WIF, containing information on how to get started and become an experienced player.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3041
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

Two questions:

- Multiple states of war: A Finnish (for example) unit can embark and invade from a GE TRS/AMPH?

- In the 3D10 (if someone is using it), a notional dies with 1 hit? (Just not to make a mess to those not familized with the newer versions of RAW, those born after RAW7 which is used for MWIF, this latter question does not apply to MWIF).
User avatar
Orm
Posts: 31114
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Orm »

- A Finnish (for example) unit can embark and invade from a GE TRS/AMPH?
Yes. (If Finland is controlled by Germany)
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
User avatar
Joseignacio
Posts: 3041
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Joseignacio »

ok, thx..
User avatar
Mayhemizer_slith
Posts: 9371
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:44 am
Location: Finland

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Mayhemizer_slith »

Question about blitz:

1 pink AA gun is defending and 1 ARM corps is attacking. Does AA gun count as AT? Does AT (or AA gun) count as full unit or half unit like ARM div? Who decides the table used?

Thanks again in advance...
If your attack is going really well, it's an ambush.

-Murphy's war law
User avatar
composer99
Posts: 2931
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:00 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by composer99 »

Any artillery unit with pink combat factors doubles its combat factors when defending in land combat against ARM or MECH units.

Defending AT guns (including AA guns with pink or red factors) count as 1 ARM corps for the purpose of determining who chooses the combat table (blitz vs. assault).
Who decides the table used?

I'm not sure if this was an independent question from the others, but I will treat it as such and respond accordingly.

The defender chooses the combat table most of the time. The attacker can choose the combat table as long as all of the following are true:
- the hex being attacked is clear, desert, or forest terrain
- the hex being attacked does not contain a city
- no attacking unit is crossing a fort hexside
- the attacker has blitz advantage

Blitz advantage means the attacker has:
- any amount of ARM, HQ-A or MECH, as long as the defender has no ARM, MECH, HQ-A or aa/at guns
- if the defender has MECH, more MECH than the defender or any amount of ARM or HQ-A
- if the defender has ARM, HQ-A, or aa/at guns, more ARM and/or HQ-A than the defender
~ Composer99
User avatar
Mayhemizer_slith
Posts: 9371
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:44 am
Location: Finland

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Mayhemizer_slith »

Thank you, I got all the answers I needed.

I should have specified the last question: who decides the table used in this case (1 pink AA gun is defending and 1 ARM corps is attacking)?

If your attack is going really well, it's an ambush.

-Murphy's war law
User avatar
composer99
Posts: 2931
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:00 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by composer99 »

Defender, because the attacker doesn't have enough ARM to call it in that scenario.
~ Composer99
User avatar
Finarfïn
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 11:03 pm

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Finarfïn »

hello,

just a small question is it possible for the US player to trade the philippines's ressource to Japan in order to coply the trade aggrement between them?

Fin
User avatar
Courtenay
Posts: 4396
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:34 pm

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Courtenay »

ORIGINAL: Finarfïn

hello,

just a small question is it possible for the US player to trade the philippines's ressource to Japan in order to coply the trade aggrement between them?

Fin
No. The rule makes it clear that the resources must come from the US, through specific sea areas, with Japan and the US responsible for specific convoy points.
I thought I knew how to play this game....
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8494
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

I say Yes. The rule states: "The USA must supply Japan with 4 resources each turn." and "To avoid US entry penalties, the USA must have enough convoy points in the West Coast, Mendocino, Hawaiian Islands and Central Pacific ocean sea areas to transport the resources to Japan."

There's nothing written preventing the US from sourcing one resource from the Philippines by placing a CP in the Bismarck Sea and another in the Marianas and then have it transported onward into the Central Pacific by the CPs there.
Paul
User avatar
composer99
Posts: 2931
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:00 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by composer99 »

The WiF:FE rule clarification document that you can download from ADG's website explicitly allows this. To whit:
Q.5.1-2 (for rule ?§5.1): For at-start Trade Agreements, must the RP and BPs provided by JA, US, GE, and RU come from their respective home countries?

Answer: No, but they must satisfy rule 5., that is they must be delivered if possible.

Since the resources provided by US are not required to come from the US home country, the Philippines resource can be delivered to Japan.

(Keep in mind that if the US designates the Philippines resource as one of the resources it is sending to Japan, it will lose US entry markers if it can't deliver that resource to Japan.)
~ Composer99
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8494
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

No, it would not lose US entry providing it could send a resource from the US to make up the difference. You never designate specific resources, you only announce quantities and types of lends and to whom they will go (and this is already in place for trade agreements existing at the start of the game).

Which is why the "must be delivered" clause is so important. Because if the primary CP route for the lend is messed up, you still have to potentially tie your CP chain in knots if an alternate route to fulfill the lending requirement exists (or use the gamey solution: RTB some more CPs to then make it impossible prior to production).
Paul
User avatar
analog_relic
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 11:01 pm

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by analog_relic »

When using the quick setup for any scenario involving the US, why does it place 5 CPs in each sea area when the US has to supply only 4 resources to Japan?
User avatar
paulderynck
Posts: 8494
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by paulderynck »

So they can take home the BP that Japan lends them. Theoretically, they only have to place 4 but the extra BP a turn adds up.
Paul
User avatar
analog_relic
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 11:01 pm

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by analog_relic »

Thanks Paul. I thought it was for the BP from Japan, but wasn't sure. AR
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30164
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

Can the Italians and Germans coordinate an attack? For example, in the attack below against the partisan in Yugoslavia, could I have selected the Hungarian corps and SS division during the German phase and then added in the Italians during their phase?

Image
Attachments
1941JulAug..sAttacks.jpg
1941JulAug..sAttacks.jpg (220.56 KiB) Viewed 158 times
Ronnie
User avatar
composer99
Posts: 2931
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:00 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by composer99 »

German and Italian units cooperate, once both major powers are active, so they can attack together. So the general answer to your question is yes.

However, unless the Hungarians in this specific case are aligned to Italy, they do not cooperate, and so may not attack together.

See rule section §18 on Cooperation.
~ Composer99
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30164
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: composer99

German and Italian units cooperate, once both major powers are active, so they can attack together. So the general answer to your question is yes.

However, unless the Hungarians in this specific case are aligned to Italy, they do not cooperate, and so may not attack together.

See rule section §18 on Cooperation.
Hungary is aligned to Germany. So, I could have only added in the 1-3 SS division to the Italians? If I had first selected the 3-3 Hungarian corps to attack during the German phase then I wouldn't have been able to select the Italians during their attack phase?
Ronnie
User avatar
Centuur
Posts: 9077
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Hoorn (NED).

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by Centuur »

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

ORIGINAL: composer99

German and Italian units cooperate, once both major powers are active, so they can attack together. So the general answer to your question is yes.

However, unless the Hungarians in this specific case are aligned to Italy, they do not cooperate, and so may not attack together.

See rule section §18 on Cooperation.
Hungary is aligned to Germany. So, I could have only added in the 1-3 SS division to the Italians? If I had first selected the 3-3 Hungarian corps to attack during the German phase then I wouldn't have been able to select the Italians during their attack phase?

Yes and yes.
Peter
User avatar
rkr1958
Posts: 30164
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 10:23 am

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

Post by rkr1958 »

ORIGINAL: Centuur
ORIGINAL: rkr1958

ORIGINAL: composer99

German and Italian units cooperate, once both major powers are active, so they can attack together. So the general answer to your question is yes.

However, unless the Hungarians in this specific case are aligned to Italy, they do not cooperate, and so may not attack together.

See rule section §18 on Cooperation.
Hungary is aligned to Germany. So, I could have only added in the 1-3 SS division to the Italians? If I had first selected the 3-3 Hungarian corps to attack during the German phase then I wouldn't have been able to select the Italians during their attack phase?

Yes and yes.
Thanks! I think I'm starting to get the hang of this game!

Changing the subject (or question), I'm playing with the latest public beta patch (1.2.1.5). I've look through the extensive change list and may have just missed it. Does this latest patch fix the bug(s) where a country couldn't save more than 1 oil or 1 BP per hex?
Ronnie
Post Reply

Return to “WIF School”