New to the game - Basic Questions
Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets
- Joseignacio
- Posts: 3041
- Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
- Location: Madrid, Spain
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Two questions:
- Multiple states of war: A Finnish (for example) unit can embark and invade from a GE TRS/AMPH?
- In the 3D10 (if someone is using it), a notional dies with 1 hit? (Just not to make a mess to those not familized with the newer versions of RAW, those born after RAW7 which is used for MWIF, this latter question does not apply to MWIF).
- Multiple states of war: A Finnish (for example) unit can embark and invade from a GE TRS/AMPH?
- In the 3D10 (if someone is using it), a notional dies with 1 hit? (Just not to make a mess to those not familized with the newer versions of RAW, those born after RAW7 which is used for MWIF, this latter question does not apply to MWIF).
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Yes. (If Finland is controlled by Germany)- A Finnish (for example) unit can embark and invade from a GE TRS/AMPH?
Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett
A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
A government is a body of people; usually, notably, ungoverned. - Quote from Firefly
- Joseignacio
- Posts: 3041
- Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 11:25 am
- Location: Madrid, Spain
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
ok, thx..
- Mayhemizer_slith
- Posts: 9371
- Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:44 am
- Location: Finland
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Question about blitz:
1 pink AA gun is defending and 1 ARM corps is attacking. Does AA gun count as AT? Does AT (or AA gun) count as full unit or half unit like ARM div? Who decides the table used?
Thanks again in advance...
1 pink AA gun is defending and 1 ARM corps is attacking. Does AA gun count as AT? Does AT (or AA gun) count as full unit or half unit like ARM div? Who decides the table used?
Thanks again in advance...
If your attack is going really well, it's an ambush.
-Murphy's war law
-Murphy's war law
- composer99
- Posts: 2931
- Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:00 am
- Location: Ottawa, Canada
- Contact:
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Any artillery unit with pink combat factors doubles its combat factors when defending in land combat against ARM or MECH units.
Defending AT guns (including AA guns with pink or red factors) count as 1 ARM corps for the purpose of determining who chooses the combat table (blitz vs. assault).
I'm not sure if this was an independent question from the others, but I will treat it as such and respond accordingly.
The defender chooses the combat table most of the time. The attacker can choose the combat table as long as all of the following are true:
- the hex being attacked is clear, desert, or forest terrain
- the hex being attacked does not contain a city
- no attacking unit is crossing a fort hexside
- the attacker has blitz advantage
Blitz advantage means the attacker has:
- any amount of ARM, HQ-A or MECH, as long as the defender has no ARM, MECH, HQ-A or aa/at guns
- if the defender has MECH, more MECH than the defender or any amount of ARM or HQ-A
- if the defender has ARM, HQ-A, or aa/at guns, more ARM and/or HQ-A than the defender
Defending AT guns (including AA guns with pink or red factors) count as 1 ARM corps for the purpose of determining who chooses the combat table (blitz vs. assault).
Who decides the table used?
I'm not sure if this was an independent question from the others, but I will treat it as such and respond accordingly.
The defender chooses the combat table most of the time. The attacker can choose the combat table as long as all of the following are true:
- the hex being attacked is clear, desert, or forest terrain
- the hex being attacked does not contain a city
- no attacking unit is crossing a fort hexside
- the attacker has blitz advantage
Blitz advantage means the attacker has:
- any amount of ARM, HQ-A or MECH, as long as the defender has no ARM, MECH, HQ-A or aa/at guns
- if the defender has MECH, more MECH than the defender or any amount of ARM or HQ-A
- if the defender has ARM, HQ-A, or aa/at guns, more ARM and/or HQ-A than the defender
~ Composer99
- Mayhemizer_slith
- Posts: 9371
- Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:44 am
- Location: Finland
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Thank you, I got all the answers I needed.
I should have specified the last question: who decides the table used in this case (1 pink AA gun is defending and 1 ARM corps is attacking)?
I should have specified the last question: who decides the table used in this case (1 pink AA gun is defending and 1 ARM corps is attacking)?
If your attack is going really well, it's an ambush.
-Murphy's war law
-Murphy's war law
- composer99
- Posts: 2931
- Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:00 am
- Location: Ottawa, Canada
- Contact:
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Defender, because the attacker doesn't have enough ARM to call it in that scenario.
~ Composer99
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
hello,
just a small question is it possible for the US player to trade the philippines's ressource to Japan in order to coply the trade aggrement between them?
Fin
just a small question is it possible for the US player to trade the philippines's ressource to Japan in order to coply the trade aggrement between them?
Fin
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
No. The rule makes it clear that the resources must come from the US, through specific sea areas, with Japan and the US responsible for specific convoy points.ORIGINAL: Finarfïn
hello,
just a small question is it possible for the US player to trade the philippines's ressource to Japan in order to coply the trade aggrement between them?
Fin
I thought I knew how to play this game....
- paulderynck
- Posts: 8494
- Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
- Location: Canada
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
I say Yes. The rule states: "The USA must supply Japan with 4 resources each turn." and "To avoid US entry penalties, the USA must have enough convoy points in the West Coast, Mendocino, Hawaiian Islands and Central Pacific ocean sea areas to transport the resources to Japan."
There's nothing written preventing the US from sourcing one resource from the Philippines by placing a CP in the Bismarck Sea and another in the Marianas and then have it transported onward into the Central Pacific by the CPs there.
There's nothing written preventing the US from sourcing one resource from the Philippines by placing a CP in the Bismarck Sea and another in the Marianas and then have it transported onward into the Central Pacific by the CPs there.
Paul
- composer99
- Posts: 2931
- Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:00 am
- Location: Ottawa, Canada
- Contact:
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
The WiF:FE rule clarification document that you can download from ADG's website explicitly allows this. To whit:
Since the resources provided by US are not required to come from the US home country, the Philippines resource can be delivered to Japan.
(Keep in mind that if the US designates the Philippines resource as one of the resources it is sending to Japan, it will lose US entry markers if it can't deliver that resource to Japan.)
Q.5.1-2 (for rule ?§5.1): For at-start Trade Agreements, must the RP and BPs provided by JA, US, GE, and RU come from their respective home countries?
Answer: No, but they must satisfy rule 5., that is they must be delivered if possible.
Since the resources provided by US are not required to come from the US home country, the Philippines resource can be delivered to Japan.
(Keep in mind that if the US designates the Philippines resource as one of the resources it is sending to Japan, it will lose US entry markers if it can't deliver that resource to Japan.)
~ Composer99
- paulderynck
- Posts: 8494
- Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
- Location: Canada
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
No, it would not lose US entry providing it could send a resource from the US to make up the difference. You never designate specific resources, you only announce quantities and types of lends and to whom they will go (and this is already in place for trade agreements existing at the start of the game).
Which is why the "must be delivered" clause is so important. Because if the primary CP route for the lend is messed up, you still have to potentially tie your CP chain in knots if an alternate route to fulfill the lending requirement exists (or use the gamey solution: RTB some more CPs to then make it impossible prior to production).
Which is why the "must be delivered" clause is so important. Because if the primary CP route for the lend is messed up, you still have to potentially tie your CP chain in knots if an alternate route to fulfill the lending requirement exists (or use the gamey solution: RTB some more CPs to then make it impossible prior to production).
Paul
- analog_relic
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 11:01 pm
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
When using the quick setup for any scenario involving the US, why does it place 5 CPs in each sea area when the US has to supply only 4 resources to Japan?
- paulderynck
- Posts: 8494
- Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:27 pm
- Location: Canada
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
So they can take home the BP that Japan lends them. Theoretically, they only have to place 4 but the extra BP a turn adds up.
Paul
- analog_relic
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 11:01 pm
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Thanks Paul. I thought it was for the BP from Japan, but wasn't sure. AR
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Can the Italians and Germans coordinate an attack? For example, in the attack below against the partisan in Yugoslavia, could I have selected the Hungarian corps and SS division during the German phase and then added in the Italians during their phase?


- Attachments
-
- 1941JulAug..sAttacks.jpg (220.56 KiB) Viewed 156 times
Ronnie
- composer99
- Posts: 2931
- Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:00 am
- Location: Ottawa, Canada
- Contact:
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
German and Italian units cooperate, once both major powers are active, so they can attack together. So the general answer to your question is yes.
However, unless the Hungarians in this specific case are aligned to Italy, they do not cooperate, and so may not attack together.
See rule section §18 on Cooperation.
However, unless the Hungarians in this specific case are aligned to Italy, they do not cooperate, and so may not attack together.
See rule section §18 on Cooperation.
~ Composer99
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Hungary is aligned to Germany. So, I could have only added in the 1-3 SS division to the Italians? If I had first selected the 3-3 Hungarian corps to attack during the German phase then I wouldn't have been able to select the Italians during their attack phase?ORIGINAL: composer99
German and Italian units cooperate, once both major powers are active, so they can attack together. So the general answer to your question is yes.
However, unless the Hungarians in this specific case are aligned to Italy, they do not cooperate, and so may not attack together.
See rule section §18 on Cooperation.
Ronnie
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
ORIGINAL: rkr1958
Hungary is aligned to Germany. So, I could have only added in the 1-3 SS division to the Italians? If I had first selected the 3-3 Hungarian corps to attack during the German phase then I wouldn't have been able to select the Italians during their attack phase?ORIGINAL: composer99
German and Italian units cooperate, once both major powers are active, so they can attack together. So the general answer to your question is yes.
However, unless the Hungarians in this specific case are aligned to Italy, they do not cooperate, and so may not attack together.
See rule section §18 on Cooperation.
Yes and yes.
Peter
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions
Thanks! I think I'm starting to get the hang of this game!ORIGINAL: Centuur
ORIGINAL: rkr1958
Hungary is aligned to Germany. So, I could have only added in the 1-3 SS division to the Italians? If I had first selected the 3-3 Hungarian corps to attack during the German phase then I wouldn't have been able to select the Italians during their attack phase?ORIGINAL: composer99
German and Italian units cooperate, once both major powers are active, so they can attack together. So the general answer to your question is yes.
However, unless the Hungarians in this specific case are aligned to Italy, they do not cooperate, and so may not attack together.
See rule section §18 on Cooperation.
Yes and yes.
Changing the subject (or question), I'm playing with the latest public beta patch (1.2.1.5). I've look through the extensive change list and may have just missed it. Does this latest patch fix the bug(s) where a country couldn't save more than 1 oil or 1 BP per hex?
Ronnie