That might have been the rule several rules versions ago, although I expect Gibraltar was not part of it. As an optional it probably represented the price paid to Franco to allow German units to transit Spain and to become an axis ally.ORIGINAL: Joseignacio
ORIGINAL: tom730
Sorry! I meant to say "has conquered France" not "Spain" - my chemo brain at work I'm afraid! BTW, I'd especially love to hear responses from players in Spain! One Spanish player mentioned he has used a house rule where Germany has to pay 15 BPs to activate Spain, so I'd love to get feedback from members that have read the most current writings on war-time Spain!
ORIGINAL: juntoalmar
I don't understand this. If the Axis has conquered Spain, how can Spain enter as an Axis ally? After Spain is conquered, does it have any units left?
It was me, I was told it was an optional, and I just checked with the friend who knows more about rules in the group and he says it was an optional form one annual. Edit: ¿POLIF?
The rule was:
- You need to have "Vichyed" France,
- take Gibraltar
- and then you can pay 2 Chits (=30 BP) IIRW, and cede Gibraltar to Spain.
Then Spanish allies and the Med is a nazi-fascist lake.
My suspicion is based on the present rule in RAW7 (which is what MWiF is coded to). It reads: "An Axis major power can declare that Spain is aligning with it during any Axis declaration of war step if Spain is neutral and a unit from that Axis major power occupies Gibraltar. Once aligned, Gibraltar becomes part of the Spanish home country."
So why pay the high price to get at Gibraltar when you already control it and can align Spain anyway?